Her Night with the Duke by Diana Quincy

September 29th, 2020 Kimberly Review 20 Comments

29th Sep
Her Night with the Duke by Diana Quincy
Her Night with the Duke
by Diana Quincy
Series: Clandestine Affairs #1
Genres: Historical Romance
Source: Publisher
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Heat Level: One FlameOne FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Desire knows no reason...

When Lady Delilah Chambers finds herself stranded at a country inn on a rain-swept evening, she's forced to fend off a group of ruffians with the help of a handsome gentleman. Irresistibly drawn to each other, Leela and the stranger spend one reckless night in each others' arms—and then go their separate ways. But, the very next day, Leela receives the shock of her life when she meets the duke who is set on wedding her beloved stepdaughter.

When it finds two destined hearts...

One night isn't enough with a woman as fierce, fiery, and brilliant as Leela. Elliot Townsend, Duke of Huntington, cannot believe his good fortune when their chance encounter leads to an unforgettable evening of passion. Yet Hunt's luck runs out when he is introduced to his prospective mother-in-law. Dowagers aren't supposed to look like this...

Leela and Hunt are determined to keep each other at arm's length, which should be easy enough for two intelligent adults with reputations to uphold. The problem is, all logic is lost when it comes to a passion that refuses to be ignored

historical must-read ROMANCE well written

Her Night with the Duke by Diana Quincy is the first in the Clandestine Affairs series. An exotic, headstrong female and an uptight Duke share an encounter that changes all the rules.

I have enjoyed previous historical romances by Diana Quincy and delighted in discovering a new series with Avon Romance. Passion, twists and a forbidden romance swept me away.

Lady Delilah Chambers is forced to seek shelter at a country inn during a rainstorm. When there are no rooms left, Elliot Townsend, Duke of Huntington gives up his suite. Leela (Delilah) offers to let him dine with her. This results in a night of passion.

Hunt (Duke Huntington) is traveling to meet the young woman he intends to marry to fulfill his ducal duties. Leela is returning to the homestead of her late husband after travels. Things take a twist when the intended young bride turns out to be her stepdaughter.

I loved Lady Delilah. She is the daughter of the Mad Marquess. They considered him mad for marrying Delilah’s mother, the Arab woman of a shopkeeper. Delilah embraced her father’s traditions and married an Earl. Only after she became the dowager did she find happiness. She has spent her time traveling and writing. She is feisty, loves her step-daughter and has a plan, or at least she thought she did.

The Duke or Hunt walks the straight and narrow, avoiding scandal and trying to be proper before the ton. All to repair the damage to the family name wrought by his older brother.

I was a little concerned about the forbidden romance, particularly because it involved Delilah’s family. However, Quincy developed an addictive storyline with passion, intrigue and a touch of suspense. There were characters I loathed and others I adored, including Victoria, Delilah’s stepdaughter, who appeared meek and ended up surprising me.

Headstrong, passionate characters, and a feisty heroine who isn’t intimated kept me up into reading into the wee hours. I love that Delilah didn’t settle and spoke her mind. We saw tremendous growth in Hunt, and his actions made my heart burst.

Fans of unique, headstrong female characters will delight in this forbidden romance. I am excited to see what the next book in the Clandestine Affairs series brings!

An exotic, headstrong female and an uptight Duke share an encounter that changes all the rules in Her Night with the Duke by Diana Quincy. #NewRelease #AvonRomance #ClandestineAffairs Click To Tweet

About Diana Quincy

Diana Quincy

Diana Quincy is an award-winning former television journalist who decided she’d rather make up stories where a happy ending is always guaranteed. Fans of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas and Sabrina Jeffries will love Diana’s Regency world of dashing dukes, irresistible rogues and the headstrong, determined women who capture their hearts. New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes says SEDUCING CHARLOTTE is “Sweet, steamy, and thoroughly enjoyable…Equal parts action, passion and fun.” Growing up as a foreign service brat, Diana lived in many countries and is now settled in Virginia with her husband and two sons. When not bent over her laptop or trying to keep up with laundry, she enjoys reading, spending time with her family and dreams of traveling much more than her current schedule (and budget) allows.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw and Howler. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Find @kimbacaffeinate on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

20 Responses to “Her Night with the Duke by Diana Quincy”

  1. Rachel

    What an awkward situation to land in! Glad to hear you liked how it all worked out. I love historical romance, as you know, so I’ll have to check this author out.

  2. Katherine

    This sounds good and a bit of a different premise! I haven’t read this author but I love the sound of this one and will be picking it up.