Engaging the Earl by Diana Quincy

June 17th, 2014 Kimberly Review 53 Comments

17th Jun
Engaging the Earl by Diana Quincy
Engaging the Earl
by Diana Quincy
Series: Accidental Peers #4
Published by: Entangled
Genres: Historical Romance
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

England, 1819 Vivacious Lady Katherine Granville is the toast of the ton, but society's most eligible miss secretly yearns for her childhood love, an untitled loner who vanished long ago after her father forbade their marriage. After years abroad, the dark and brooding Edward Stanhope returns to England a changed man. No longer a second son with no prospects, his battlefield strategies have won him an earldom. His return should be a victorious one, but the new Earl of Randolph is battling secret demons that no one can discover. Least of all, Kat. When the man she can't forget reappears at her betrothal ball, Kat's perfectly arranged future is thrown into tumult. Edward remains cold and distant, hoping she'll marry a man worthy of her. But nothing is settled when Kat sets out to win back her first love. Can the new Earl of Randolph resist the woman he's loved for so many years?

I have thoroughly enjoyed the Accidental Peers series by Diana Quincy, so when an opportunity presented itself to review the newest novel, Engaging the Earl I jumped at the chance. While this was not my favorite of the series, Quincy once again gave me a feisty heroine to make me laugh and a hero who I felt for even as I wanted to slap him in the back of the head.

Engaging the Earl is a second chance romance. Lady Katherine Granville fell in love with Edward Stanhope, a second son without a title and when her father refused him, he enlisted to earn the man’s respect and win the girl. Kat was young and impulsive, she wanted to dash away to Gretna Green and when he refused she told him never to come back. He broke her heart. Five years have passed, and despite being the toast of the ton, she has put off becoming engaged until now. Aaaand of course this is when Edward makes his return. A war hero and newly titled Earl. Kat of course wants to break of her engagement and marry her true love. But alas, Edward is damaged. Today we would say he suffers from PTSD, but back then, they had no idea. He thinks to be noble, to deny his feelings and refuses her. Which creates sexual tension, arguments and heated moments.

The tale that unfolds offered up some hilarious moments, stolen kisses and even the fiancé’ is up to no good! Things go back and forth between Kat and Edward. There is no denying the attraction these two have for one another and the trip to our HEA was a fun one. I did not particularly care for some shenanigans, and secondary characters. Edward was at times forgive my French an utter ass, and I thought Kat forgave too easily. Quincy tells a well-rounded tale, adds a little heat. Despite being predictable she keeps you guessing as to how things will work out.

Fans of second chance romances with feisty heroines will enjoy Kat and Edwards’s tale in Engaging the Earl.

About Diana Quincy

Diana Quincy

Diana Quincy is an award-winning former television journalist who decided she’d rather make up stories where a happy ending is always guaranteed. Fans of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas and Sabrina Jeffries will love Diana’s Regency world of dashing dukes, irresistible rogues and the headstrong, determined women who capture their hearts. New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes says SEDUCING CHARLOTTE is “Sweet, steamy, and thoroughly enjoyable…Equal parts action, passion and fun.” Growing up as a foreign service brat, Diana lived in many countries and is now settled in Virginia with her husband and two sons. When not bent over her laptop or trying to keep up with laundry, she enjoys reading, spending time with her family and dreams of traveling much more than her current schedule (and budget) allows.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly

Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She’s a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat…Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

53 Responses to “Engaging the Earl by Diana Quincy”

    • kimbacaffeinate

      She writes great tales and her characters are always fresh

  1. kindlemom1

    I agree with Christy, even if this wasn’t a favorite but you still liked it and would recommend it, it does say a lot about the author’s writing ability and the series it’s self, plus, who can resist a feisty heroine?

    kindlemom1 recently posted: Tell Me Something Tuesday!
  2. Siiri

    “and a hero who I felt for even as I wanted to slap him in the back of the head.” HAHAHA. Ok, Kim. That I’d like to see lol. I love second chance romances, but um.. historicals aren’t exactly my cup of teas per se. Would love to try some, so perhaps I’ll get hooked and read this series too one day. I feel for Edward already since PTSD. I’m glad you enjoyed this as a whole, Kimba 🙂

    Siiri recently posted: Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR
    • kimbacaffeinate

      I get frustrated when characters try to act noble and give up the girl because they will be better off..LOL Yes, we need to get you to try some Regency romances.

  3. Rashika

    Second chance romance you say?? *scratches fake beard* You have my attention.

    I am a little worried about how I’ll take to the hero though because the whole denial thing does have a way of grating on me from time to time.

    I am glad you enjoyed this as a whole though! 🙂

    Lovely review, Kimba!!! 😀

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes, I hate that denial thing too, but I did close this smiling.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      LOL, sometimes and then they turn around and do something sweet. 🙂

  4. Nick

    You know I enjoy second chance romances, Kim, but I don’t know if I would appreciate Edward being an ass. It also sounds like Kat is ready to jump into a relationship with him despite him having hurt her all those years ago.
    I’m glad you enjoyed this despite it not being your favorite of the series, Kim.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      He is an ass but he is so because he thinks he is doing what is right for her..it just made me crazy.

  5. Sam

    I like second chance romances, especially with humour and a splash of heat and fun. Even if Edward is a bit of an arse, this sounds like a solid read. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it Kimba!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Thanks Sam I enjoy her writing style and despite driving me nuts I closed this one with a smile 🙂

  6. Cyn

    That’s too bad that this one didn’t end up being a favourite, but I’m glad you still enjoyed it! It sounds like a really good series that I need to check out soon! Thanks for the review, Kim!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Thanks Cyn, I think my favorite was book two, but she writes wonderful stories.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Hmm, I didn’t know it was a genre now, but it is one of my favorite tropes.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      LOL, this was fun and I closed the book with a smile. I enjoyed this series.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Try Regency Romances, other periods can be a tad stuffy, but this period is a lot of fun to read.

  7. Lily

    I love how while this one wasn’t your favourite the herione seems to have made up for that fact!

  8. Franny

    Oh, this sounds like my favourite read! You know how much I love HR, and this seems totally swoon worthy! Awesome review, Kimberly!

    Franny recently posted: Teaser Tuesday #28
    • kimbacaffeinate

      I think you would enjoy this series Franny 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes, totally smacking Gibbs style! It was fun, I think book two was my favorite

  9. Maida

    This sounds absolutely adorable! 😀 I like second chance romances and I love it when a heroine can make you laugh. Plus, lets be honest sexual tension, heated moments and stolen kisses always adds flavour to a book! Why wouldn’t someone want to read that!? LOL ;p I’ll definitely check this series out! Glad you enjoyed this, despite some of your concerns, Kim! Fabulous review! 😀

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair 

    Maida recently posted: Review: Chameleon by Kelly Oram
    • kimbacaffeinate

      I did end up liking it, despite my violent thoughts 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      He wasn’t that kind of ass, more the “I will be noble and fight my feelings because she is better off without me ass”

  10. Stephanie

    I do enjoy a good second chance romance. I love them even more when the author gives us glimpses into the past to better understand the story.

    I’ll need to give the first in the series a try to see if this author is for me. Thanks for your review!

    Stephanie recently posted: Discussion: My Dirty Little Secret
    • kimbacaffeinate

      I really enjoyed this series, it made me laugh, and swoon 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I enjoyed this series. Her heroines are strong and the humor makes me giggle.