Owl and the Tiger Thieves by Kristi Charish

May 7th, 2018 Kimberly Review 55 Comments

7th May
Owl and the Tiger Thieves by Kristi Charish
Owl and the Tiger Thieves
by Kristi Charish
Series: The Adventures of Owl #4
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In this fourth Owl novel, Kristi Charish (The Voodoo Killings) melds sparkling fantasy with the grit of urban underbelly—with a detour through the world’s most spectacular cities. This is perfect for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

Through no fault of her own, Alix has found herself essential to the fate of the world as we know it. She didn’t mean for this to happen—she was quite happy being merely the notorious antiquities thief, and ex-archeologist, known as Owl.

However, years ago, Owl reluctantly entered the secret world of the supernatural. Her goals: complete one job, escape one bounty on her head, continue her thieving in peace.

Fast forward to today. Now, she has become a key player in a brutal paranormal civil war that is rapidly getting out of hand. The leader of one of these factions—a lethal opponent called the Electric Samurai—grows more powerful by the second. To stop him, Owl sets out to find the long-lost, legendary group known as the Tiger Thieves.

But will it be too little too late? One thing Owl misses about “normal” archaeology: there are few emergencies with thousand-year-old relics.

Book Series Monsters SUSPENSE urban

Owl and the Tiger Thieves by Kristi Charish is the fourth book in the Adventures of Owl featuring an antiquities thief and her Mau cat.  In this installment, Owl and her friends are in a race to stop the Electric Samurai while saving her incubus boyfriend and the world. Monsters, twists and a little history made Owl and the Tiger Thieves a non-stop action page-turner.

When our story opens, Owl is imprisoned in a haunted pirate prison. Since her boyfriend became trapped in the armor known as the Electric Samurai, she has been on a quest to hunt down the legendary group known as the Tiger Thieves. This group might have the power to save Ryann and stop the Samurai. Gathering ancient relics with clues to their whereabouts brings plenty of action and pushes our protagonist. Everything is going according to plans, well sort of, until Artemis, Rynn’s cousin shows up to save her.

As the Electric Samurai becomes more powerful, Owl’s hunt for the Tiger Thieves intensifies, and readers are in for an action-packed ride. Owl ends up having Artemis tag along as they jump the globe bringing us such delightful encounters as a rather unpleasant visit with Leonardo da Vinci, yes that DaVinci, a pissed off Gorgon and more. We get updates on principal characters as the author fleshed them out and delivered insight. I enjoyed getting some of Artemis’s backstory. Dare I say I am starting to like him? *Gasps* I don’t trust him, but yes there is a chink in my armor.

While the rest of the motley crew only had a few scenes together, communications kept us appraised and added suspenseful twists. We encountered some creeptastic supernatural creatures and experienced some terrifying moments thanks to the suits manipulation of the supernatural. I will say, Owl has a knack for pissing them off.  Captain was a bit of a star and scenes had me giggling. He is such a cool cat. Our dragon and snake added demands, but as usual, Owl avoids them.

We see a lot of growth in Owl and most of it was painful. I hated seeing the optimism snuffed from her, but our girl is not a fighter and her “save the world” attitude needed to be balanced with reality. Now that I am listening to the Dresden Files, I think fans of Harry will love our girl Owl.

While I thought the final battle was a little anticlimactic the outcome and an epilogue had my jaw dropping. I am curious to see where this will lead. It was unexpected and certainly has me excited for the next book.

Fans of urban fantasy, snarky heroines, quests and supernatural upheaval will want to dive into the Adventures of Owl.

Monsters, twists, and a little history made Owl and the Tiger Thieves by Kristi Charish, a non-stop action page-turner. #NewRelease #Urban #mustread Click To Tweet

 

About Kristi Charish

Author of OWL AND THE JAPANESE CIRCUS, an urban fantasy about Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief, Alix— better known now as Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. She write what she loves; adventure heavy stories featuring strong, savvy female protagonists, pop culture, and the occasional RPG fantasy game thrown in the mix. The second instalment, OWL AND THE CITY OF ANGELS, is scheduled for release Jan 2016. Her second series, KINCAID STRANGE about a Seattle voodoo practitioner who rooms with the ghost of late grunge rockstar, Nathan Cade, will be out May 2016.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat...Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

55 Responses to “Owl and the Tiger Thieves by Kristi Charish”

  1. kindlemom1

    There was a lot of growth in this and even though it was painful at times, it was definitely good growth. I do wonder where the series will go from here with the way it ended not only job wise for her but relationship wise with all her friends and interests.

  2. Ailyn Koay

    why wouldn’t you piss off a Gorgon because you can? well, it sounds like an intense thrill ride to save a boyfriend

  3. Debbie Haupt

    I’ve seen her reviewed around Kim maybe even by you and it does look like a series I’d love and I just may have some extra time coming up so on the list it goes.

    BTW thanks for stopping by Romance University and saying hi!! xoxo

  4. Sophia Rose

    Ha! That’s funny how Artemis is growing on you a little as the series progresses. I’ve liked the sound of this series since your first review. Eventually!

  5. Lily B

    this series looks like a lot of fun, I want to start it, but after that ending maybe I should wait for the next book to come out heh

    • Kimberly

      Haha, well it did wrap up the case of the Tiger Thieves but what will happen next has me anxious for the next one.

  6. Heidi

    I am glad that Owl is maturing. She is a character that I have struggled with throughout the series, but I am liking her more and more. Hope to start this soon.

  7. Ethan

    I know how much you love fantasy, so I’m glad to hear you enjoyed this one too. I feel like a lot of authors fall into the trap of having to write an epic climax, and the stories can suffer from that. Luckily this one is part of a larger series, so hopefully the author can remedy your disappointment in the conclusion.

    • Kimberly

      It is one of the things I like about urban fantasy, there are overall series arcs and current threads giving me the best of both.

  8. Greg

    I’m glad this series is humming along. I’ve only read the first book but I enjoyed it, and it seems different than a lot of the urban fantasy out there. Not that I’m an expert ha ha but from what I’ve read. and ooh a gorgon in this one? fun!

    • Kimberly

      One was a little rough, but some of the things that bothered me like the cat carrier were corrected in book two. Her Voodoo series is really good too Greg.

  9. Jennifer

    Four books in and you’re still enjoying. That’s a good sign. I have book 1 on audio. I need to get to it already.

    • Kimberly

      Yeah, the audios didn’t come out until later and once I start with a format I hate to switch since I have established the characters voices.

  10. Bookworm Brandee

    This is a series I keep meaning to pick up but… I love to see character growth but it makes me sad that Owl’s is all done painfully. I think it’s interesting she’s not a fighter. Makes me all the more curious about her. Someday, Kimba, someday I’ll pick up this series. 🙂

    • Kimberly

      She is very good at slipping in and out undetected and piecing together clues to find ancient artifacts.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)