Lipstick Voodoo by Kristi Charish

January 7th, 2019 Kimberly Review 33 Comments

7th Jan
Lipstick Voodoo by Kristi Charish
Lipstick Voodoo
by Kristi Charish
Series: Kincaid Strange #2
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon | Audible
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Kincaid Strange, not your average voodoo practitioner, is back in the freshly imagined and hugely entertaining second installment of Kristi Charish's urban fantasy series.

Kincaid Strange cannot catch a break. After dealing with a spate of paranormal murders, there's barely time to recuperate--let alone sleep in--before there's a new problem in Kincaid's world of paranormal activity. When her roommate, Nathan Cade--the ghost of a grunge-rocker with a pathological lack of self-control--comes home bound to a dead body, it's up to Kincaid to figure out how to free him. Ideally before her new mentor, Gideon, a powerful sorcerer's ghost, discovers that Nate is trapped in the body he'd coveted for himself.

When Aaron, a Seattle cop on the afterlife beat--and Kincaid's ex--calls her in to help out with a cold case, she takes the chance to mend fences with the police department. The problem: they want to interview Nate's ghost, which she can't produce. Then people from Nate's past start showing up dead, and what's killing them doesn't seem to be human. And the way it's killing them is especially brutal.

Nate's hiding something, but he's Kincaid's friend and she wants to help him. But she also wants to stay alive....

magical MURDERMYSTERY SUSPENSE urban

Kristi Charish has become a go-to author for me for urban fantasy and quirky female protagonists. Lipstick Voodoo is the second novel in the Kincaid Strange series. The story takes place in Seattle and features a Voodoo practitioner with a ghostly sidekick.

Lipstick Voodoo was an addictive, snarky, whodunit filled with paranormal woo-woo and characters you’ll want more of.  Charish does urban fantasy just right. Fans of Richelle Mead, Jim Butcher and Dannika Dark will want to explore Kristi Charish  worlds and characters. 

I listened to the first novel, The Voodoo Killings but scheduling had me reading this time around. Because this is urban fantasy and a lot of what happens in Lipstick Voodoo results from what occurred in book one.

I love this series from Nate, her ghostly friend to the scary and intriguing Gideon. I have to confess Gideon has me perplexed, but page time with him was one of my favorite things in this story. For those who don’t know Gideon is a powerful dead sorcerer. Kincaid find herself indebted to him, and it appears she will work as his apprentice.

Kincaid is a powerful and skilled practitioner who seems to fly by the seat of her pants. She is smart, but not well-rounded in her knowledge. She tends to learn as she goes. Nate is in serious trouble and hiding things from Kincaid.

Despite her relationship ending with Seattle PD, Kincaid’s ex, Aaron a paranormal detective calls her in when a cold case has possible ties to Nate, her ghost. Before you know it Kincaid is secretly helping him with a strange murder that also leads back to Nate and his singing career.

The author mixes in humor and snark as Kincaid gets herself out of predicaments and works to solve the case. After, the events in the previous book she needs a win. Some training scenes with ghouls, a ghost and time spent with Lee and her partner offered some interesting history on supernatural creatures from Wraiths to zombies.

I loved the twisted Otherside, the undead city below Seattle and watching Kincaid investigate. I have a feeling we are just witnessing the beginnings of what Strange is capable of and the ending set up the next book leaving me longing for its release.

Lipstick Voodoo by Kristi Charish brought deals with demons and a bizarre murder-mystery that somehow involves Nate. All of this provided an addictive installment that I devoured. #NewRelease #MustRead Click To Tweet

About Kristi Charish

Author of OWL AND THE JAPANESE CIRCUS, an urban fantasy about Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief, Alix— better known now as Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. She write what she loves; adventure heavy stories featuring strong, savvy female protagonists, pop culture, and the occasional RPG fantasy game thrown in the mix. The second instalment, OWL AND THE CITY OF ANGELS, is scheduled for release Jan 2016. Her second series, KINCAID STRANGE about a Seattle voodoo practitioner who rooms with the ghost of late grunge rockstar, Nathan Cade, will be out May 2016.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat...Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

33 Responses to “Lipstick Voodoo by Kristi Charish”

  1. Annie

    This sounds like a fantastic urban fantasy series. I’ve not heard of this author before! I really love stories with strong female protagonists and especially ghost stories. My favourite urban fantasy all of that at the moment is JR Ward, but she sounds a little darker than this.

  2. Olivia Roach

    Wow, I love that colourful cover! Also, I love that she has a ghostly friend. That sounds fun to me and I don’t read enough ghosts stories although I did read a very good one last year. I like that there is so much humor included in the story too. Great review x

    Olivia Roach recently posted: December Wrap Up! [2018]