Dead Beat by Jim Butcher

January 25th, 2019 Kimberly Review 35 Comments

25th Jan
Dead Beat by Jim Butcher
Dead Beat
by Jim Butcher
Series: The Dresden Files #7
Narrator: James Marsters
Length: 15 hours and 7 minutes
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchase
Purchase: Amazon | Audible
Goodreads
Rating:One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Narration: 5 cups

There's an entire world that exists alongside the everyday life of mankind. There are powers, nations, monsters, wars, feuds, alliances - everything. Wizards are part of it. So are a lot of other things you've heard about in stories, and even more you've never heard of...Vampires. Werewolves. Faeries. Demons. Monsters. It's all real.

Harry Dresden knows full well that such creatures exist. Paranormal investigations are his stock-in-trade, and Chicago is his beat as he tries to bring law and order to a world that exists on the edges of imagination. Luckily Harry's not alone in this struggle. And though most inhabitants of the Windy City don't believe in magic, there's a department that's been set up within the Chicago PD to deal with "strange" cases: the Special Investigations department.

Karrin Murphy is the head of SI and a good friend of Harry's. So when a deadly vampire threatens to destroy Murphy's reputation unless Harry helps her, he has no choice. The vampire wants the Word of Kemmler and all the power that comes with it - but first Harry has to determine what the Word of Kemmler is. Now Harry is in a race against time - and six necromancers - to find the Word before Chicago experiences a Halloween night to wake the dead.

Humor magical snarky urban

I love Necromancers..creepy right? Well, I love stories involving them.  In Dead Beat, Harry Dresden battles them. He even raises some trouble of his own!  I devoured this on audio and loved everything from the characters to the intense plot.

When Marva threatens to release information that would destroy Harry’s good friend and head of SI, Karrin Murphy, Harry has no choice but to find the Word of Kemmler and bring it to her. Doesn’t mean he can’t read it first.

Mouse, his brother, Butters and others will add him. This was a crazy episode with necromancers, a T-Rex and moments with the council that were pivotal as Harry gets a promotion. Seriously, this book had it all from Morgan losing his wizarding mind, to Butters making me hoot with laughter.

“We are not going to die.”
Butters stared up at me, pale, his eyes terrified. “We’re not?”
“No. And do you know why?” He shook his head.
“Because Thomas is too pretty to die. And because I’m too stubborn to die.”
I hauled on his shirt even harder. “And most of all because tomorrow is Oktoberfest, Butters, and polka will never die.”

I loved the little tidbits about the Wild Hunt and the wars, not to mention understanding what makes Harry tick. While character growth is slow especially when it comes to Harry, I love him a little more with each book, or at least I understand him. In this we see a little romance. If you call it a romance. It was strange and I will leave it for you to discover.

If you haven’t tried Harry, I encourage you to do so. For fans of Jim Butcher, I am so glad I finally dove in. I recommend listening as James Marsters rocks as Harry Dresden. I picked most of the book up on Kindle when they put them on sale for $1.99, then upgraded to audio. Watch for deals!

Necromancers, danger and laughter await you in Dead Beat by Jim Butcher! #iloveaudiobooks #urbanfantasy #HarryDresden Click To Tweet

About Jim Butcher

Jim Butcher

Jim Butcher is the author of the Dresden Files, the Codex Alera, and a new steampunk series, the Cinder Spires. His resume includes a laundry list of skills which were useful a couple of centuries ago, and he plays guitar quite badly. An avid gamer, he plays tabletop games in varying systems, a variety of video games on PC and console, and LARPs whenever he can make time for it. Jim currently resides mostly inside his own head, but his head can generally be found in his home town of Independence, Missouri. Jim goes by the moniker Longshot in a number of online locales. He came by this name in the early 1990′s when he decided he would become a published author. Usually only 3 in 1000 who make such an attempt actually manage to become published; of those, only 1 in 10 make enough money to call it a living. The sale of a second series was the breakthrough that let him beat the long odds against attaining a career as a novelist.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat...Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

35 Responses to “Dead Beat by Jim Butcher”

    • Kimberly

      Hehe right…be mindful of spoilers though. I am hoping to be caught up before for the newest releases. I just finished book 10.

  1. Stephanie Jane (Literary Flits)

    Getting more books in this series is probably the best reason for restarting my Audible membership! I’m going to listen again to the first before taking the plunge.
    Talking of necromancers, have you read Shadows Of Asphodel by Karen Kincy? I got quite the book crush on Wendel!

    Stephanie Jane (Literary Flits) recently posted: Pocket Poets: Rupert Brooke
  2. Anne

    I love love love this series. I did the same thing and bought some Kindle deals and added Whispersync. But I also didn’t hesitate to buy them with credits. They do have these at my library but I had to own them. Had to. Excellent review. You are making me nostalgic just reading little aspects you mention. And James Marsters! Anne – Books of My Heart

  3. Annie

    This sounds fantastic – what great dialogue! I love the idea of a paranormal world where wonders like Oktoberfest still exist!

  4. kindlemom1

    I’ve read the first couple of books in this series and liked them. Good to know they are still good after seven!
    Wonder review Kim and have a great weekend!

    • Kimberly

      Yes. The audio is a little rough…this series really lets you see how much audiobooks have changed..so stick with it, because Marsters has become one of my favorite narrators.