🎧Max Abaddon and The Ghost and the Grave by Justin Leslie

December 2nd, 2021 Kimberly Review 5 Comments

2nd Dec

Narrated by Luke Daniels, the Max Abaddon urban fantasy series has quickly become a favorite. In this novella, Max loses a bet and must retrieve something. Easy-peasy, right? Check out my thoughts on Max Abaddon and The Ghost and the Grave by Justin Leslie.

🎧Max Abaddon and The Ghost and the Grave by Justin Leslie
by Justin Leslie
Series: Max Abaddon #2.5
Narrator: Luke Daniels
Length: 1 hour and 4 minutes
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchase
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Narration: 5 cups Speed: 1.3x

This story takes place between The Purity Law and The Gate to Everwhere.

Here we find Max settling in with the realities of the world around him, becoming more relaxed with the Magical and Ethereal communities. The Balance has occurred, and the regular world is now aware that everything that goes bump in the night, for the most part, is real. In this short story, Max, well...Max is about to learn a valuable lesson about making bets at the bar with a stranger.

Fate has handed Max something that will affect not only his, but the lives of his friends. Only time will tell.

We also meet two new characters that have a rather sorted future in the series. Anyone like pirates and ghosts? There may be a cameo. The Fallen Angel has several ways in from multiple planes, but only one way out.

Fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Jim Butcher, Ilona Andrews, Benedict Jacka, Kevin Hearne, Richard Kadrey, Shayne Silvers, Patricia Briggs, and BR Kingsolver will not want to miss this latest addition to the urban fantasy scene!

Fave Narrator paranormal smartfunny urban

Max is hanging out at the Fallen Angel, a bar that can be accessed from almost anywhere. He’s bored when he meets a stranger who challenges him to a game. They place a bet and begin a game of Chess… something Max isn’t good at and he loses. He is tasked with obtaining an item. Not one to back out on a deal, he sets out to retrieve the item.

It turns out many have tried and none have succeeded. Oh, what fun this short was from the Slurpee loving observer to the ghostly graveyard and its tricks. Max has a knack for finding trouble, or maybe it finds him?

Max, of course, learns a valuable lesson as Leslie introduces us to two new characters in the series. It was a clever way to do it and I hope we get more of these short-side stories. The tale offers some laughs, chills and was signature Leslie. It was the perfect escape on a cold, rainy night.

Luke Daniels narrated and is a favorite here at Caffeinated. The over the top voices for the different creatures and characters, along with the way he captures the tone and moments within the story, are brilliant.

Fans of Jim Butcher will appreciate the characters and stories of Max Abaddon. As with most urban fantasy series, this is best listened to in the order of its release.

Amazon | Audible

Narrated by Luke Daniels Max Abaddon and The Ghost and the Grave by Justin Leslie offers a fantastic short story in the Max Abaddon #urbanfantasy series perfect for fans of The Dresden Files. #audiobook #review #mustlisten… Click To Tweet

About Justin Leslie

Justin Leslie

Justin S. Leslie is a fervent urban fantasy fan, and newly published author.

He is a retired, highly decorated army major who has completed two combat tours in Afghanistan. Justin has focused on building his own magical worlds to share with readers, as well as enjoying ones created by fellow authors. When he isn't playing music or spending time with his wife and two boys, he can be found in his Doctors Inlet home, immersed in the latest urban fantasy, or a well-made old-fashioned.

About Luke Daniels

Luke Daniels

Luke Daniels has narrated over 250 audiobooks, has been the grateful recipient of thirteen AudioFile Earphones Awards, and has earned three Audie nominations. His background is in classical theater and film. Luke has performed at repertory theaters around the country, but now he resides in the Midwest with his pack.

caffeinated coffee cup divider

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

5 Responses to “🎧Max Abaddon and The Ghost and the Grave by Justin Leslie”

    • Maybe Justin Leslie

      To be honest I didn’t either and wrote it… first book blues….. It gets better as I finally figured out what I was doing by book 2.