Kill the Farm Boy by Kevin Hearne & Delilah S. Dawson

July 19th, 2018 Kimberly Review 46 Comments

19th Jul
Kill the Farm Boy by Kevin Hearne & Delilah S. Dawson
Kill the Farm Boy
by Kevin Hearne, Delilah S. Dawson
Series: The Tales of Pell #1
Narrator: Luke Daniels
Length: 12 Hours and 38 Minutes
Genres: Fantasy, Humor
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon | Audible
Goodreads
Narration: 5 cups
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In an irreverent new series in the tradition of Terry Pratchett novels and The Princess Bride, the New York Times best-selling authors of the Iron Druid Chronicles and Star Wars: Phasma reinvent fantasy, fairy tales, and floridly overwritten feast scenes.

Once upon a time, in a faraway kingdom, a hero, the Chosen One, was born...and so begins every fairy tale ever told.

This is not that fairy tale.

There is a Chosen One, but he is unlike any One who has ever been Chosened.

And there is a faraway kingdom, but you have never been to a magical world quite like the land of Pell.

There, a plucky farm boy will find more than he’s bargained for on his quest to awaken the sleeping princess in her cursed tower. First there’s the Dark Lord, who wishes for the boy’s untimely death...and also very fine cheese. Then there’s a bard without a song in her heart but with a very adorable and fuzzy tail, an assassin who fears not the night but is terrified of chickens, and a mighty fighter more frightened of her sword than of her chain-mail bikini.

This journey will lead to sinister umlauts, a trash-talking goat, the Dread Necromancer Steve, and a strange and wondrous journey to the most peculiar “happily ever after” that ever once-upon-a-timed.

Fairy Tale fantasy Fave Narrator Humor

Travel through the land of Pell with a motley crew of characters in Kill the Farm Boy by Kevin Hearne & Delilah S. Dawson.  An over the top humorous tale that reminded me of Monty Python’s Holy Grail. and movies like Spaceballs and Galaxy Quest. This will be a tale that folks will either love or hate so I’ve tried to share reasons to listen.

First, I must give Luke Daniels the narrator of this tale accolades. Bravo! How did you not burst out laughing every five minutes?  Daniels range of voices and ability to deliver this tongue-in-cheek tale was brilliant. He brought the humor up a notch and endeared me to these odd characters. Now, please share the bloopers and outtakes!

You might like Kill the Farm Boy if:

  • You enjoy puns, slapstick humor and excessive talks of poo, phalluses, and cheese. Both Hearne and Delilah are known for their humor and nods to fandoms in their writing but here it’s no holds barred. Puns, parodies and spoofs abound. For example, the elvish village of “Morning Wood” and the lavish descriptions of food! If euphemisms and innuendos aren’t your thing, you might want to pass.
  • You know your fairy tales and will recognize and appreciate the nods and parodies contained within the kingdom of Pell.  You will find Sleeping Beauty, Rapunzel,  and the Princess Bride to name a few weaved into this story. I found these bits entertaining and laughed aloud more than once.
  • You’re not planning on devouring this in a few sittings. Usually with Hearne and Daniels’ audiobooks I jump in and devour them in a day or two. It took me a  week to listen to Kill the Farm Boy. When I listened in smaller takes, I enjoyed the humor more. It’s over the top and sometimes borders on ridiculous. When I listened for longer lengths, I got distracted or missed more subtle references. So pacing is everything to appreciate all the mentions, puns and spoofs.
  • You love unusual characters with odd quirks. An unlikely group of companions begin a quest to save a dead farm boy. The tale begins when a young farm boy, named Worstly, learns he is the chosen one. Gustave, a talking goat, is his companion.  As Worstly sets out to fulfill his destiny Gustav berates him. Fia, a seven-foot warrior wearing the most unusual chain-mail carries an enchanted sword whose bloodthirsty she must control. Fia accidently kills the farm boy and thus our tale begins. Argabella, the half-rabbit half-woman bard joins them, long with Toby, the carb eating, Dark Lord who craves artisan crackers. Rounding out the group is Poltro, a pitiful rogue who is afraid of chickens and Grinda the sand witch who is plagued with issues.  Then we have secondary characters like Staph the fairy whose wand is covered in flem and Steve the Necromancer who everyone hates.  I liked that the cast was largely made up of women and Pell offers a diverse landscape.
  • You can see past the slapstick humor and appreciate the character growth and complexity of the story. Jokes, and innuendos aside, the story is well-developed and clever. Strengthened by their companions we witness individual growth and friendships.
  • You want to see every element of fairy tales and fantasy turned on its head. Honestly, I think they hit every one!
  • You long to see a Troll get his ass handed to him.

Like Monty Python’s, Holy Grail, Kill the Farm Boy, is the type of story where one picks up something new each time they listen. I know it is one I will listen to again. I look forward to the next audio.

Kill the Farm Boy by Kevin Hearne & Delilah S. Dawson delivered an over-the-top tale with lots of tongue-in-cheek humor and heart as an unlikely group of companions set out on a quest. #loveaudiobooks #favoritenarrator Click To Tweet

About Delilah S. Dawson

Delilah S. Dawson

Delilah S. Dawson writes whimsical and dark Fantasy for adults and teens. Her Blud series for Pocket includes Wicked as They Come, Wicked After Midnight, and Wicked as She Wants, winner of the RT Book Reviews Steampunk Book of the Year and May Seal of Excellence for 2013. Her YA debut, Servants of the Storm, is a Southern Gothic Horror set in Savannah, GA, and HIT is about teen assassins in a bank-owned America. Her Geekrotica series under pseudonym Ava Lovelace includes The Lumberfox and The Superfox with The Dapperfox on the way. Look for Wake of Vultures from Orbit Books in October 2015, written as Lila Bowen.

About Kevin Hearne

Kevin Hearne

Kevin is the NYT bestselling author of the Iron Druid Chronicles, as well as two forthcoming series: The Seven Kennings, an epic fantasy trilogy, and Tales of Pell, a fantasy series co-authored with Delilah S. Dawson.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat...Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

46 Responses to “Kill the Farm Boy by Kevin Hearne & Delilah S. Dawson”

  1. Melanie Simmons

    I’m glad you enjoyed this one. It took me a while to get into it. I think some of the puns and stuff was just too over the top for me and I found them a bit silly. As I listened more, I come to really enjoy the characters and thus, enjoyed the story more. You’re right about Daniels. He nailed the narration. My review will be posted sometime soon.

    Melanie Simmons recently posted: Alien Attraction by Cara Bristol
  2. ShootingStarsMag

    HAH! I love the last reason for reading this book. I’ve been curious to see what people think about this one. It sounds like a fun one, but definitely something to enjoy in smaller doses.

    -Lauren

  3. Melliane

    I anxious about this one becase of some reviews I read, I’m still not sure if it”s for me

  4. Heidi

    I just got the audio yesterday. Looking forward to listening to this, but I will remember to do it in smaller doses. Sounds like I am in for at least a few laughs.

  5. S. J. Pajonas

    I’m going to fangirl about Luke Daniels. Isn’t he an AMAZING narrator? Honestly, he does the best voices and comedic timing ever. If you haven’t listened to Off to be the Wizard, then you’re missing out. He was the perfect narrator for that story too.

    S. J. Pajonas recently posted: Featuring BE STILL MY HEART By Sonia Parin
    • Kimberly

      No, I just went and listened. For some reason I though this was MG and never gave it a second look. I will add it to wishlist 🙂

  6. sjhigbee

    I think this one sounds as if it would be more fun listening to it than reading it – especially if your enthusiasm for poo and phallus jokes is limited (like me). But as I was really wondering about it, I’m very grateful for your excellent review.

    • Kimberly

      Yes, Luke Daniels did a stellar job with the characters although I am not sure how he kept from laughing.

  7. JJ @ This Dark Material

    I love spoofs and how you’ve compared it to Monty Python and Princess Bride! But I usually don’t finish books that have a lot of potty humor and bodily functions discussed; I struggled and ultimately DNF’d Wicked for that same reason. I’m glad this was fun for you and I’m sorry to miss out on all the little references and jokes, but I’ll probably pass this one over. Great review Kim! 🙂

    JJ @ This Dark Material recently posted: book review: sanctuary by caryn lix
  8. Kristen @ Metaphors and Moonlight

    I’ve been curious about this one. I love how you formatted this review! I’m not sure if the humor will work for me or not, but I love the sound of the quirky characters, and I’m a bit tempted to try it!

  9. Anne

    Great review! It isn’t my type of humor and I think I would have enjoyed it more on audio. I did enjoy it and you’re right about biting off small pieces as there is so much clever wordsmithing one could easily miss parts. Anne – Books of My Heart

  10. Olivia Roach

    I absolutely love a good fairytale based story or a story that includes fairytales in there. I also really love a good funny book, and it sounds like this one is just that. It doesn’t sound like what I would’ve expected from that title but it sounds like something I would enjoy!

    Olivia Roach recently posted: 6 Mini Movie Reviews!