Once Kissed by Cecy Robson

November 2nd, 2015 Kimberly Review 33 Comments

2nd Nov
Once Kissed by Cecy Robson
Once Kissed
by Cecy Robson
Series: O'Brien Family #1
Published by: Random House
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Heat Level:One FlameOne FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Once they shared a night of passion. Now a chance encounter forces them back together. In Cecy Robson’s O’Brien Family series debut—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—two total opposites find that the flames of desire are still smoldering. Tough-as-steel cop Curran O’Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly’s finest. So he’s pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA’s office . . . until he gets a good look at the sweet, straitlaced intern he’s supposed to protect—but not touch. Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she’s interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won’t jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform. Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don’t include Curran. But soon she’s falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.

2015 FAV BOOKLOVE newadult ROMANCE SEXY

I love books about large, loud families and was excited to dive into Cecy Robson’s, O’Brien Family series with the first book Once Kissed.  I immediately slipped into the story and giggled when I learned how this second chance romance began. Once Kissed earned a spot on my favorites of 2015 list.

There are seven siblings in the Irish O’Brien family and Once Kissed focuses on Philadelphia Police Officer Curran O’Brien. Curran is a natural and respected and admired by fellow officer, but after a rookie he was assigned to is almost killed Curran is temporarily reassigned to security detail. His first assignment is for the DA’s office, where his brother Declan is working on a high-profile case involving a mobster.

Tess Newart at first glance is a meek, geeky intern working for the DA’s office while finishing law school. Tess is working exclusively for Declan and this may be the case to help her secure a much-needed paying position. I was not sure of Tess at first, but appreciated her attitude when dealing with catty co-workers.

Curran is assigned to security detail for Declan’s assistant Contessa. He is not thrilled but oh lord wait until you see his reaction to Tess and hers to him. It is priceless and Robson had me giggling aloud as we learned about their shared past. At this point, I am all in. Did I mention the banter between Curran and Declan? I adore siblings and all the ball-busting that goes with it.

“You…cad.”
“What?”
“I said you’re a cad!”
“I heard what you said. I’ve just never heard anyone aside from Bugs Bunny use that word. You gonna call me scoundrel next?”

Typical of new adult Once Kissed  has two damaged characters who are good at the core, and through each other, they become stronger. I love Robson’s approach to her stories and the depth she brings to her characters. You get to know them, want to friend them, and ultimately care about them. Tess has been controlled her whole life and her Daddy holds the strings. She resents it, but has her eye on graduation and freedom. As I said, Curran is dealing with the rookie incident and the emotional impact. Robson avoids relationship drama and instead focused on their personal issues and suspenseful storyline. I was simply delighted that she had her character’s recommend outside help, instead of the “love fixes all” approach. Brilly! She then weaved in danger, a little suspense and a whole lotta love.

The romance is sweet, hot, heated and at times downright cute. Curran is hilarious but also gentle and sensitive. There is so much more to Tess. She is strong, brilliant, and clumsy. At times, her deadpan comments had me laugh aloud.

Robson weaves in the O’Brien family and I loved this loud, genuine, foul-mouthed family. They tease each other relentlessly, but make a move against one of them I dare you. Declan’s story is next, and a couple of scenes hinted at what is to come. I have a feeling it might be a hot, heated, haters to lovers story and I am giddy at the prospect.

Once Kissed  wrapped up nicely without trying to tie things up in a bow. She provided a nice eulogy that made me smile and give a happy sigh.

About Cecy Robson

Cecy Robson is the New Adult author of Once Perfect, Once Loved, and Once Pure and the award-winning author of the Weird Girls urban fantasy romance series. A self-proclaimed professional napper, Robson counts among her talents a jaw-dropping knowledge of useless trivia, the ability to make her hair big, and a knack for breaking into song despite her family’s vehement protests. A full-time writer, registered nurse, wife, and mother living in the Great Northwest, she enjoys spending time with her family and silencing the yappy characters in her head by telling their stories.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly

Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She’s a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat…

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

33 Responses to “Once Kissed by Cecy Robson”

  1. melliane

    I loved all the other books so I’m really curious about this one and I’m glad to see you had such a great time! I’m late again with ebooks…

  2. Jenny

    I can’t help but think of Kate Daniels when I see the name Curran, I know I’ll be picturing a massive Beast Lord whenever I see his name on page, but that might make this one even more interesting Kim 😉 I’ve been wanting to read Cecy for a while, and this being the first in the series gives me the perfect opportunity! Thanks for your thoughts:)

  3. Nick

    I would have preferred if the book didn’t have the damaged characters trope, but this sounds too good to pass up. I like that it’s also fun in many ways and the romance sounds lovely.
    But I’m with Jenny! It’s going to be hard to picture this Curran as someone other than the Beast Lord! 🙂
    Lovely review, Kim!

  4. Kristin

    I LOVE YOUR REVIEW!!! And I’m loving all over the fact that you love this book more than me – how in the hell did that happen?!?!?! YES = I love the O’Briens! That bar scene was absolutely fantastic. Best quote to show off, too – soooooo Curran!!!

    And double ugh… I wrote my review so long ago, I forgot to go back and add icons… I’ve got to add them now!!! Sheesh….

    Kristin recently posted: Review: Once Kissed by Cecy Robson
  5. Laurel-Rain Snow

    I’ve never read this author, but she sounds like one I’d enjoy. I am drawn to books with big families, and the Philadelphia setting reminds me of other books I’ve enjoyed set there. Thanks for sharing!

    Laurel-Rain Snow recently posted: AUTHOR’S HOME PAGE
  6. Ramona

    This one sounds sweet and lovely. I too love big, loud families and I think I’d love to get to know the O’Briens. I’m making a note of this one, I think it would make a nice read on a cold winter evening. Beautiful review, Kimba, thank you.

    Ramona recently posted: Zen Monday: The November Agenda
  7. Cecy

    Hey, Kimberly! It’s interesting to hear the different reasons readers enjoyed Once Kissed. I love the quote you picked for Curran. That scene between them was one of my favorites–as was their first drive back to Tess’s place, the bar scene, and Curran’s interactions with Lu. Thank you so much for this amazing feature and continued support. Hugs!

  8. Maureen Beatrice

    I love reading stories about big families. Especially since I’m an only child and have this perfect idea in my head about big families. Especially about big brothers.. I would have loved having a big brother. Sigh..
    This book really sounds like a great read. I love second chance romances and this one really sounds fun. I’m definitely going to check this one out.

  9. Kathy

    What a delicious cover! I’ve never read this author before, and I love those loud and large families, too. They always seem to have substance and are filled with love in all the chaos. I love reading your reviews – just throwing that out there, but I really do!

  10. Christy LoveOfBooks

    LMAO … I had that same exact quote picked out to include in my review, but didn’t feel like copying it over. Too funny. I also liked the one where she opens the door without checking to see who it is. I hope Curran appears in the next book a lot.

    Christy LoveOfBooks recently posted: Once Kissed by Cecy Robson
  11. Lorna

    This sound so good-I seem to say that to you a lot. I still have a Weird Girl book in my tbr pile that I barely started and got sidetracked on, and keep meaning to finish that one. I get distracted by newer books all the time. I am glad this one was so good for you-I am going to add it to my Amazon wish list.