The Rogue Not Taken by Sarah MacLean

December 23rd, 2015 Kimberly Review 23 Comments

23rd Dec
The Rogue Not Taken by Sarah MacLean

There is nothing I love more than snuggling by the fire with a Sarah MacLean novel. That is exactly what I did with her newest novel The Rogue Not Taken. The first in her new Scandal & Scoundrels series, The Rogue Not Taken was filled with banter, mischief, angst and two flawed characters I fell in love with.

Keep Reading

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

November 24th, 2015 Kimberly Review 52 Comments

24th Nov
Wolf by Wolf  by Ryan Graudin

Last year I listened to and loved The Walled City by Ryan Graudin, and knew that without a doubt I would listen to Wolf by Wolf his newest release. Set in an alternate 1956 where the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. The story that unfolds in Wolf by Wolf was dark, brilliant and extraordinary.

Keep Reading

Chimera by Mira Grant

November 18th, 2015 Kimberly Review 62 Comments

18th Nov
Chimera by Mira Grant

Annnd it is over * Hugs Chimera by Mira Grant and cries* I am going to miss the tapeworms. What, you think I am crazy? Chimera is the final book in Mira Grant’s Parasitology series and like its predecessors, it was brilliant with suspense, shivers and characters whom I have come to love.

Keep Reading

Once Kissed by Cecy Robson

November 2nd, 2015 Kimberly Review 33 Comments

2nd Nov
Once Kissed by Cecy Robson

I love books about large, loud families and was excited to dive into Cecy Robson’s, O’Brien Family series with the first book Once Kissed. I immediately slipped into this story and giggled when I learned how this second chance romance began. Once Kissed earned a spot on my favorites of 2015 list.

Keep Reading

Playing with Fire by Tess Gerritsen

October 26th, 2015 Kimberly Review 69 Comments

26th Oct
Playing with Fire by Tess Gerritsen

Playing with Fire by Tess Gerritsen is a standalone mystery thriller that held me captive. I went into this story blind and was delighted to discover Playing with Fire takes place in present day, but also shares life in Venice, Italy during World War II. Gerritsen weaves her magic in Playing with Fire.

Keep Reading

The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher

September 30th, 2015 Kimberly Review 67 Comments

30th Sep
The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher

Are you looking for a steampunk fantasy adventure? Snag a copy of The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher the first book in the The Cinder Spires series. Have you ever read a book that you deliberately tried to savor? The Aeronaut’s Windlass was such a book for me. As soon as I slipped into the world, I knew I wanted to stay awhile. I limited myself to fifty to seventy-five pages a day. (sometimes a few more to end a chapter) At almost 600 pages, it gave me an adventure I could look forward to every evening.

Keep Reading

The Bourbon Kings by J.R. Ward

July 27th, 2015 Kimberly Review 74 Comments

27th Jul
The Bourbon Kings by J.R. Ward

The Bourbon Kings by J.R Ward is the first novel in a new contemporary series by the same name. Ward takes us into the lives of one of the south’s most privileged families. The Bradford family may be the king of bourbon but behind the glamour and facade lie secrets, sadness, and hatred. All carefully held in check and never spoken of but things are about to change. Captivating, filled with drama and broken characters I found myself swept up in their lives.

Keep Reading

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

July 7th, 2015 Kimberly Review 82 Comments

7th Jul
Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

Amazing world-building, brilliant characters and an overall tone of suspense throughout made Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine a thrilling read. This is the first book in the Great Library series and this dystopian fantasy delivers in spades.

Keep Reading