The Grendel Affair by Lisa Shearin

June 22nd, 2018 Kimberly Review 15 Comments

22nd Jun
The Grendel Affair by Lisa Shearin
The Grendel Affair
by Lisa Shearin
Series: SPI Files #1
Narrator: Johanna Parker
Length: 9 hours and 51 minutes
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchase
Purchase: Amazon | Audible
Goodreads
Narration: 4.5 cups
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

We’re Supernatural Protection & Investigations, known as SPI. Things that go bump in the night, the monsters you thought didn’t exist? We battle them and keep you safe. But some supernatural baddies are just too big to contain, even for us…

When I moved to New York to become a world famous journalist, I never imagined that snagging a job at a seedy tabloid would change my career path from trashy reporter to undercover agent. I’m Makenna Fraser, a Seer for SPI. I can see through any disguise, shield, or spell that a paranormal pest can come up with. I track down creatures and my partner, Ian Byrne, takes them out—usually saving my skin in the process.

Our cases are generally pretty routine, but a sickle-wielding serial killer has been prowling the city’s subway tunnels. And the murderer’s not human. The fiend in question, a descendant of Grendel—yes, that Grendel—shares his ancestor’s hatred of parties, revelry, and drunkards. And with New Year’s Eve in Times Square only two days away, we need to bag him quickly. Because if we don’t find him—and the organization behind him—by midnight, our secret’s out and everyone’s time is up.

Kick Ass Heroine mystery SUSPENSE urban

The Grendel Affair written by Lisa Shearin and narrated by Johanna Parker, is the first in an urban fantasy series featuring a seer and a member of the Supernatural Protection & Investigations agency. Mythology, humor, and mystery await you in this engaging start to the SPI Files.

Hot Listens, shared a review of book five, and when I went to add the first book, I discover I owned it.  I upgraded to audio and was glad for it. Apparently, there is a prequel to this called Lucky Charms, which was released as part of the Night Shift Anthology. I didn’t feel lost, but I am curious.

Makenna (Mac) Fraser’s special ability allows her to see through any disguise, shield, or spell used by the supernatural. Makenna is smart, snarky and has good instincts. That doesn’t mean she isn’t scared shitless most of the time, but she has a good head on her shoulders.  She is level-headed and an asset to the team. Ian her partner is a little more straightlaced but I think he may surprise us. Their boss is a hoot. The SPI, agency is almost a character in and of itself. They operate in secret, monitoring and protecting the supernatural world from itself and interactions with humans.

This was a fun start to the series and right away I felt at home with the SPI unit. Snark, banter and delightful humor combined with intense action scenes and nasty creatures threatening to expose them all made for an entertaining listen.

This urban fantasy is a genre-bender.  It delivered so many elements I love, including mythology and mystery. Shearin offers a fresh take on dragons and seers and includes unique characters like the Grendel from Beowulf.

The story hooked me from the start but the middle for sagged a little before picking back up. However, the storyline and premise have huge potential as do the secondary characters. A certain vampire cracked me up and I am eager to start book two. I will continue on audio as Johanna Parker was fantastic from her accents to the pacing.

Fans of Kate Daniels and White Trash Zombie series will feel right at home with the SPI Files.

#Urban Fantasy, The Grendel Affair by Lisa Shearin is a bit of a genre-bender that delivered so many elements I love #SPIFiles #audio Click To Tweet
Audible JIAM BANNER 2017

About Lisa Shearin

Lisa Shearin

Lisa is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Raine Benares novels and The SPI Files. Lisa is a voracious collector of fountain pens, teapots & teacups both vintage and modern. She lives on a small farm in North Carolina with her husband, four spoiled-rotten retired racing greyhounds, and enough deer and woodland creatures to fill a Disney movie.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat...Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

15 Responses to “The Grendel Affair by Lisa Shearin”

  1. Melanie Simmons

    Oh, I’m glad you tried this series. It is so much fun. And I love Johanna Parker. The prequel is fun, but not really needed for the series (by the way, the Kate Daniels story in that anthology is a lot of fun too, if you haven’t read it yet, Jim and Dali).

    Melanie Simmons recently posted: Audio: Wolf’s Mate by Celia Kyle
  2. Anne

    I’ve wanted to read or listen to this series for awhile. I noticed it around book 4 but I haven’t gotten there yet. (: I’m really happy to hear about the humor and the fact there are multiple facets with mystery and mythology as well. Excellent! Anne – Books of My Heart

  3. Sophia Rose

    I read Night Shift, but can’t remember what I thought of the prequel. This one looks like great fun! 🙂

  4. Angela

    Ah yes Night Shift. I read that anthology and the novella shared was a prequel to a series, but I didn’t know which one, now I do. I’ll have to add this book to my TBR. I liked Lucky Charms the prequel and wanted to read more by Lisa Shearin. Thank’s for the review.

  5. sjhigbee

    Thank you for this review! I really love the sound of this one, Kimberly – I’ve a birthday coming up, so maybe I’ll treat myself:))

  6. Ailyn Koay

    i am ashamed to say that I don’t know who Grendel is, yet i’m not well enough to google and read all about it. may be in a few days

  7. Sally Loomis

    Great recommendation, I’m adding this to my TBR list! I just finished one outside of my usual genres, Moira Ashe- Enemy Within by Brendon Bertram. Amazing female lead, kept me intrigued, the fantasy genre is so unlike me, but again the characters were awesome and the cliff hanger at the end was nail biting. It was short and sweet, great for a plane ride on your summer vacay! Highly recommend! You can read more about the author and the book here, http://brendonbertram.com