The Shadow Revolution by Clay Griffith & Susan Griffith

June 26th, 2015 Kimberly Review 62 Comments

26th Jun
The Shadow Revolution by Clay Griffith & Susan Griffith
The Shadow Revolution
by Clay & Susan Griffith
Series: Crown & Key #1
Published by: Penguin Random House
Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Length: 10 hrs and 26 mins
Genres: Steampunk, Urban Fantasy
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon | Audible
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

They are the realm’s last, best defense against supernatural evil. But they’re going to need a lot more silver. As fog descends, obscuring the gas lamps of Victorian London, werewolves prowl the shadows of back alleys. But they have infiltrated the inner circles of upper-crust society as well. Only a handful of specially gifted practitioners are equipped to battle the beasts. Among them are the roguish Simon Archer, who conceals his powers as a spell-casting scribe behind the smooth veneer of a dashing playboy; his layabout mentor, Nick Barker, who prefers a good pub to thrilling heroics; and the self-possessed alchemist Kate Anstruther, who is equally at home in a ballroom as she is on a battlefield. After a lycanthrope targets Kate’s vulnerable younger sister, the three join forces with fierce Scottish monster-hunter Malcolm MacFarlane—but quickly discover they’re dealing with a threat far greater than anything they ever imagined.

Reviews of The Shadow Revolution by Clay Griffith had me intrigued and I decided to accept a review copy of the audio. I am so glad that I did. Shadow Revolution offers a dark Victorian-era urban fantasy with memorable characters and an intense plot. I am looking forward to continuing this series.

Five reasons to grab your earbuds and listen to The Shadow Revolution: 

  • Told from both the male perspective as well as the females this gritty urban fantasy with its steampunk vibe and magical mayhem quickly pulled me in. The tale is action packed and gory at times but it made me shiver and I became caught up listening to the clever narrations. While this is a series, the reader will be instantly rewarded as the stories release about a month apart.
  • The characters were phenomenal, although admittedly with all the intense, nail-biting action I did not get to know them as much as I wanted. Griffith gave us a yummy hero in Simon Archer. He is a scribe and ever the gentlemen. Dressed to the nines with his walking stick that doubles as a sword and covered in hidden tattoos he was at times overly confident and had a tendency to be forward but I loved the devil. Nick Barker is Simon’s teacher/friend. He seems like a playboy on the surface but the man has numerous talents. Kate was a personal favorite for me. I love strong, educated women and she does everything from Alchemy to running her father’s estate. Did I mention the gal is kick-ass? Malcolm McFarlane is a huge Scotsman with a sharp tongue who made me laugh. Secondary characters like Penny added to the mix and only increased my enjoyment as they grounded the tale.
  • Magic, battles and squeamish moments with unthinkable beasts had me looking for excuses to continue listening. A powerful darkness whispers from the underbelly of London and our hero must step up his game and his education to save the day. The author does a great job with foreshadowing and has me excited about the next installment.
  • Griffith blends paranormal and steampunk elements brilliantly. From the gadgets and alchemy to the magic in this world. Simon uses runes to perform his spells and I liked the twist the author added. In this world, magic has a cost and it is something I appreciate when delving into these magical worlds. I love the idea of balance.
  • The Shadow Revolution is suggested for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Penny Dreadful. These type of references usually scare the hell out of me but in this, they were spot on. Nicholas Guy Smith beautifully narrated this tale, and I hope he continues throughout the series. From his accents to his ability to evoke subtle emotions he made listening a pleasure.

The Shadow Revolution was a fantastic read and just the urban fantasy fix I was looking for. Undying Legion released June 30th and The Conquering Dark releases July 28th. I cannot wait to listen. *I am currently listening to Undying Legion (at about 80%) and it rocks as well.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/203674411″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

About Clay & Susan Griffith

Clay & Susan Griffith are a married couple who have written and published together for more than a decade. Their credits not only include two novels for Bantam Doubleday Dell in the mid-1990s and another novel for Pinnacle Entertainment Group in 2002 but also numerous short stories published in many anthologies, some featuring noted genre characters like Kolchak the Night Stalker and The Phantom. They’ve also written scripts for television and published graphic novels. Clay and Susan Griffith are the authors of the VAMPIRE EMPIRE series and the CROWN & KEY trilogy.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly

Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She’s a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat…

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

62 Responses to “The Shadow Revolution by Clay Griffith & Susan Griffith”

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Agreed, and I like that 3 books release over three months. I have finished listening to book 2 and 3 comes out this month,

  1. Kristin

    Super FANTASTIC review!!! I loved this one! I loved how you really got into Simon’s character! Oh, hidden tattoos are sooo hot!!!

    pssss. I so DID NOT pay attention to your review schedule this week – sorry!!!! 🙁

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I would say this is more modern with a few old words, phrases tossed in depending on the characters social standing, nationality etc

  2. Cyn

    I’ve recently been reading some awesome reviews for this and definitely will have to grab this soon! Love the sound of this urban fantasy, and I’ve been listening to more audiobooks, too!
    Great review, Kim!

  3. Lori

    Urban Fantasy and Steampunk?! I’m sold! Thanks for sharing Kimberly…I’ll be adding this to my Audible wish list 😉

  4. Rita

    Sounds great! Wonder how it would entertain as a print or e-book instead of audio? I don’t do too many audios and was just curious… Anyway, glad you loved it. I am putting it on my wishlist.

    Rita recently posted: Summer Mini-Mini Break
  5. Debbie Haupt

    OOH Kim thanks for this I LOVED The Griffith’s Vampire Empire saga I reviewed them for one of the publications I work for not sure which one, senior moment. LOL
    This one looks exceptional and it’s going on my wish list!!

    Debbie Haupt recently posted: Review - Grey by E L James
  6. Ramona

    I completely agree, this was pretty amazing. Kate made for such a strong, unforgettable character, and Simon was absolutely adorable. I love the Griffiths’ writing style – it’s so polished and experienced, it always sticks with you. I understand a fourth book in Vampire Empire is going to be released in September – I can’t wait! Lovely review, Kimba 🙂

    Ramona recently posted: EX MACHINA movie
  7. Lindy

    I love my paranormal stories to be action packed! I haven’t read a lot of steampunk, aside from Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices. This one sounds like it was phenomenal and Sophia gave it a great review also. The narrator was obviously very talented with his ability to do accents, and to evoke so much emotion in you. Excellent Review 🙂

  8. Greg

    I like the idea of this one. Monster hunters, Victorian era, maybe some steampunk… sounds fun. I don’t read a ton of UF but this one has possibilities. Nice review.

    Greg recently posted: Sunday Post #97