The Phoenix Bloodline by Ember Holt

January 12th, 2024 Kimberly Review 7 Comments

12th Jan

The Phoenix Bloodline is the third novel in Fae Prison: Earth series. This fantasy follows Maeve as she hones her magical abilities, form allies and discovers we are not alone. Romance, action, ley-lines, off-planet travel and plenty of danger await you in this action-packed fantasy adventure.

The Phoenix Bloodline by Ember Holt
The Phoenix Bloodline
by Ember Holt
Series: Fae Prison: Earth #3
Genres: Fantasy
Source: Author
Purchase*: Amazon *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Heat Level: One FlameOne FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

A promise to keep. A bond to forge. An empire to fall.

Maeve’s life has gone from average college student to exiled Fae revolutionary in the span of a year. Time flies when you’re crushing tyrannical governments and trying not to get murdered by assassins.

Making their home in a volatile prison realm, Maeve and Dante can now sow the seeds of a new rebellion—and those aren’t the only seeds Dante wants to sow. But Maeve still has a promise to to save her former lover, Corvin, and thousands more Fae from the lethal disease that plagues them.

Maeve’s training will take her to the edge of the Starlite and back, transforming her into a formidable enemy of the Veran Empire and painting a lot of targets on her back. Can Maeve and her new family survive the onslaught of Brigid’s best killers as they unravel her reign of power, or will she be enslaved to the fate of all phoenixes past?

fantasy Kick Ass Heroine magical scifi

I am having a blast with this series. It’s a blended science-fiction romantic fantasy series. Maeve learns we aren’t the only ones out there and with each book, she learns more about herself, gains allies and develops relationships. It is important to read this series in the order of its release.

The story picks up shortly after the events of the previous book, The Starlite Heist. Maeve, Dante and their friends are all seeking shelter in a volatile prison realm. Maeve tries to connect with the realm so that they can portal to Earth and gather supplies. As she connects, she realizes the realm is hurt and being attacked.

This was such a fun story with plenty of action, character growth and relationship development. We will even meet up with Corvin, the lover who betrayed her. There are interesting developments and reveals that shed light and advanced the series ARC.

I love the unique abilities of characters, and how they advance their skills or level up. Maeve is a rare shapeshifter and with each new ability gained, we learn just how unique she truly is. I love the motley crew she has gathered, and the romance has worked out nicely.

Fans of Jessie Mihalik, Starlight’s Shadow series, will want to check out the Fae Prison: Earth series. Science fiction, romance, fantasy, magic and adventure await you.

Amazon*

*Kindle Unlimited

The Phoenix Bloodline by Ember Holt delivered another action-packed tale in the Earth: Fae Prison series. #BookReview #BookRecommendation #KindleUnlimited Click To Tweet

About Ember Holt

Ember Holt

Ember loves all things with heat! A glass of wine, a comfy, oversized sweater, and a spicy book next to a fireplace is her ideal night. She likes to read about powerful heroines and protective heroes, and write about them, too. When she’s not writing, Ember is a fox in the henhouse, causing all kinds of hell. She enjoys making pasta while listening to big brass bands, taking long walks with her favorite audio books, playing D&D, and painting—but not very well. Some of Ember’s favorite authors include Laura Thalassa, Shannon Mayer, and Raven Kennedy. Their powerful heroines inspire her daily to get out of bed and to do her best (or stay in it to keep reading!)

caffeinated coffee cup divider

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

7 Responses to “The Phoenix Bloodline by Ember Holt”