The Puzzle Master by Danielle Trussoni

November 17th, 2023 Kimberly Review 12 Comments

17th Nov

The Puzzle Master by Danielle Trussoni is a thrilling science-fiction book that fans of Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code will love. An accident has left Mike Brink with the ability to see and create puzzles. When Jess Price, a woman in prison for murder, shows Mike a puzzle, his world turns upside down.

The Puzzle Master by Danielle Trussoni
The Puzzle Master
by Danielle Trussoni
Genres: Thriller
Source: Publisher
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

All the world is a puzzle, and Mike Brink—a celebrated and ingenious puzzle constructor—understands its patterns like no one else. Once a promising Midwestern football star, Brink was transformed by a traumatic brain injury that caused a rare medical condition: acquired savant syndrome. The injury left him with a mental superpower—he can solve puzzles in ways ordinary people can't. But it also left him deeply isolated, unable to fully connect with other people.

Everything changes after Brink meets Jess Price, a woman serving thirty years in prison for murder who hasn't spoken a word since her arrest five years before. When Price draws a perplexing puzzle, her psychiatrist believes it will explain her crime and calls Brink to solve it. What begins as a desire to crack an alluring cipher quickly morphs into an obsession with Price herself. She soon reveals that there is something more urgent, and more dangerous, behind her silence, thrusting Brink into a hunt for the truth.

The quest takes Brink through a series of interlocking enigmas, but the heart of the mystery is the God Puzzle, a cryptic ancient prayer circle created by the thirteenth-century Jewish mystic Abraham Abulafia. As Brink navigates a maze of clues, and his emotional entanglement with Price becomes more intense, he realizes that there are powerful forces at work that he cannot escape.

Ranging from an upstate New York women's prison to nineteenth-century Prague to the secret rooms of the Pierpont Morgan Library, The Puzzle Master is a tantalizing, addictive thriller in which humankind, technology, and the future of the universe itself are at stake.

mystery scifi SUSPENSE thriller

I loved Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons. The Puzzle Master gives off a similar vibe. Indeed, from the very first page, I was hooked. So why didn’t this rate higher for me? The concept was interesting, and the villain’s reasons for solving the puzzle felt relevant to current issues. However, the story had too much going on, which made it overwhelming.

I loved the journals and learning about the Dollmaker, and the pieces of the puzzle Jess provided Mike. The story of the golem, the mysterious deaths, strange marks, and religious mysticism all captivated me. But then we had unexpected helicopters, science fiction gobbledygook and point of views from side characters. The story was strange in parts and I had to set it down often.

We get suspense, some creepy dolls and plenty of action. I liked Mike and found his ability and skill set interesting. There is the hint of a romantic thread but it was lightly painted. Death, danger and twists await you should you decide to pick this one up.

Despite my issues, I genuinely enjoyed the story, maybe not as a whole, but the different threads pulled me in. The ending was good, with just enough openness to allow for another book. Would I read it? Yes, I think so.

Amazon | Audible

The Puzzle Master by Danielle Trussoni delivered a suspenseful science fiction thriller. Perfect for fans of Dan Brown. #bookreview #puzzles Click To Tweet

About Danielle Trussoni

Danielle Trussoni

Danielle Trussoni is the author of The Puzzle Master (June 13, 2023), The Ancestor, Angelology, The Fortress and Falling Through The Earth. Danielle is an internationally best-selling author whose work has been translated into over 30 languages.

caffeinated coffee cup divider

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

12 Responses to “The Puzzle Master by Danielle Trussoni”

  1. Katherine

    I meant to read The Ancestor by this author and it’s still on my TBR and this one looks really intriguing. A little concerned about the creepy dolls but definitely curious!

  2. Sophia Rose

    I enjoyed the Dan Brown books, too, so you’ve got me curious, but yeah too much stimulus in the plot can just make it tough to stay in the story.

  3. Ethan

    This kind of story was all the rage years ago, so it would be fun to revisit it. It’s a shame there was too much packed into this one.

    Also, I’m so happy to see the snow falling on the blog! You remind me to add it to mine every year!

    Ethan recently posted: Last Call by Elon Green