Hunting Fiends for the Ill-Equipped by Annette Marie

July 3rd, 2020 Kimberly Review 14 Comments

3rd Jul
Hunting Fiends for the Ill-Equipped by Annette Marie
Hunting Fiends for the Ill-Equipped
by Annette Marie
Series: The Guild Codex: Demonized #3
Narrator: Cris Dukehart
Length: 8 hours and 28 minutes
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Source: Publisher
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Narration: 5 cups Speed: 1.3x

I thought I understood power.

My parents taught me that magic attracts equal danger, and everything I've seen since becoming a demon contractor confirms it. I've witnessed how power twists and corrupts--and I've tasted power no human should wield.

I thought I knew greed.

Ambition and avarice drove my family into hiding. My parents died for someone else's greed. I've never hunted anything in my life, but now I'm hunting their killer--with my demon's help.

I thought I'd seen evil.

But with each step closer to my parents' murderer, I'm uncovering a different sort of evil, piece by hidden piece. I've stumbled into an insidious web that silently, secretly ensnares everything it touches. My demon and I came as the hunters...

...but I think we might be the prey.

magical ROMANCE SUSPENSE urban

I am loving the Codex series by Annette Marie and dove right into the audiobook. Danger, revelations and allies merge in this action-packed, swoon-worthy installment.

Hunting Fiends for the Ill-Equipped is the third novel in the Guild Codex: Demonized series. This series take place in the same world and overlaps parts of the Guild Codex: Spellbound series. Both protagonists belong to the same guild and there is storyline overlay. If you are thinking of beginning these start with the Spellbound series first.

For fans of the both series there is some serious overlap and spoilers for Demon Magic and a Martini,Ā so be sure you’re caught up on the Spellbound series to that point.

The world building for this series is fantastic from the guilds to the different magic users, particularly in the Demonized series. I love the tidbits and spells as much as the characters.

Summoner Robin and her demon Zylas are still trying to stop Claude and find a demonic artifact. In the episode we fight beasts, join Tori, and gain help from unexpected allies looking to strike a deal. It was awesome.

I am devastated that there is only one more audio in the Demonized series as I love Robin and Zylas. Their interactions from frustrations to awkward blushes endeared me to them.

Cris Dukeheart narrates and has become the voice of the characters for this series. I love the way she captures Robin and Zylas from their interactions to the underlying feelings she brings forth.

While the overall series ARC isn’t finished, our heroine is getting closer and it will tie into the Spellbound series. This installment sees growth of characters, alliances form, and relationship developments between a girl and her demon.

If you are looking for a fresh, fun, suspenseful urban fantasy series in a world you’ll come to love grab Hunting Fiends for the Ill-Equipped and the entire Codex series. Perfect for fans of Hailey Edwards and Dannika Dark.

Hunting Fiends for the Ill-Equipped by Annette Marie had me biting my nails, swooning and downright excited for the next installment. #audiobook #GuildCodex #Demonized #CrisDukeheart #urbanfantasy Click To Tweet

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

14 Responses to “Hunting Fiends for the Ill-Equipped by Annette Marie”

  1. Nicci @ Sunny Buzzy Books

    I love this book! I love this series and the Spellbound series and I’m seriously excited for the new Warped series… I just read an ARC of Lost Talismans and a Tequila and I’m only slightly devastated that there are only two books left! It’s all coming to a head now!

    I’ve never listened to the audios but I hear lots of good things about Dukehart’s narration. Maybe I’ll give them a try on audio at some point.

  2. Lorna

    I admit to not reading as much UF/PNR as I used to. Dannika Dark, Dianne Duvall, E.J.Stevens, some of Amber Lynn Natusch and some Janeine Frost are my only ones Iā€™ve stuck with. That being said, Iā€™m glad you are still enjoying the series. Too bad it has to end although it sounds like the other series is still being written.

  3. Mary Kirkland

    I like the sound of this one but I’m not so much into UF because there never seems to be the romance factor that I like.

    • Kimberly

      There is…most do Mercy Thompson series by Briggs, Kate Daniels by Andrews does, and this does..it is over the course of the series.