How to Wake an Undead City by Hailey Edwards

August 19th, 2019 Kimberly Review 9 Comments

19th Aug
How to Wake an Undead City by Hailey Edwards
How to Wake an Undead City
by Hailey Edwards
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Purchase: Amazon | Audible
Goodreads
Rating:One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Heat Level:One FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Savannah has fallen to the vampires, and it’s up to Grier to take out their leader, Gaspard Lacroix, and restore peace. Lacroix might be more powerful and immune to her magic, but she’s got a plan. Too bad it’s got holes big enough for a new threat to waltz through while the city is on her knees.

Now Grier must risk her very soul if she hopes to slay her enemies and prevent her world from going up in flames. But salvation comes at a steep price, and she’s not the only one who will pay. The cost just might break her, and the man who owns her heart.

friends magical twisted urban

How to Wake an Undead City by Hailey Edwards is the final book in The Beginner’s Guide to Necromancy series. Edwards delivered an action-packed tale that left me well satisfied and excited for the spinoff series and promised novellas with more from Greer and Linus!

Savannah has fallen to the vampires led by Lacroix and in How to Wake an Undead City we find out answers to questions, see Greer really come into her own and suffer both heartbreak and healing. Battles mix among moments of living that bring romantic moments, donuts and new beginnings.

Edwards has really made me care for these characters from her new pack to Woolly. We see things resolved regarding Amelie and Boaz and I am grateful for Greer. Aside from these threads we have to stop one deadly vampire.  Forget Buffy, Greer is one deadly necromancer. The ending delivered some unexpected twists that kept me reading past my bedtime.

The ending wrapped up well, but left the door open for revisits and delivered the perfect setup for the spinoff series that begins with Shadow of Doubt. (I am already reading it)

Fans of Ilona Andrews and Patricia Briggs will want to try Hailey Edwards. I think this will resonate with their fan base and they will appreciate the originality of the series. Snark, unique characters and a swoony-romance. Hailey Edwards has fast become a favorite.

How to Wake an Undead City by Hailey Edwards delivered an exciting, action-packed conclusion to The Beginner's Guide to Necromancy series. #urbanfantasy #KU #Audio Click To Tweet

About Hailey Edwards

Hailey Edwards

Hailey Edwards writes about questionable applications of otherwise perfectly good magic, the transformative power of love, the family you choose for yourself, and blowing stuff up. Not necessarily all at once. That could get messy. She lives in Alabama with her husband, their daughter, and a herd of dachshunds.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat...Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

9 Responses to “How to Wake an Undead City by Hailey Edwards”

  1. Anne

    Yes I am loving these characters well except for the ones who betrayed Grier. I don’t know about Shadow of Doubt!?!!?! What about The Potentate of Atlanta? Excellent review as always.

  2. kindlemom1

    You are seriously not being kind to my TBR pile lately Kim, stop it! 😛 Although, I have loved every single one I’ve tried so far this summer so,…. adding this one to the ever growing pile. 😉