Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

September 1st, 2014 Kimberly Review 72 Comments

1st Sep
Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

I was already in love with the Throne of Glass series. From its main characters to the beautifully developed world that Sarah J. Mass created. Heir of Fire brought this story to a completely new level. Young adult meets high fantasy with wonderful new characters, an amazing world that Maas brought to readers in high definition with a panoramic review. It was one hell of a ride. Brilliantly executed, and heart wrenching Heir of Fire solidified this series among my favorites.

Keep Reading

How to Fall by Jane Casey

August 28th, 2014 Kimberly Review 70 Comments

28th Aug
How to Fall by Jane Casey

How to Fall is the first book in the Jess Tenant duology by Jane Casey. It is a young adult mystery with a snarky protagonist and shares her summer at a small English seaside town. Casey wraps us up in an unexplained death mystery involving Jess’s cousin and adds a smidgeon of romance to keep things interesting.

Keep Reading

Amity by Micol Ostow

August 14th, 2014 Kimberly Review 96 Comments

14th Aug
Amity by Micol Ostow

While the tagline boldly states for fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, I am not entirely sure that it did Amity any favors. Amity by Micol Ostow is not a retelling of the original Amity house, but rather a book inspired by the events that occurred there. While the tale is atmospheric and has creepy moments, it does not have that smooth, eerie, descriptive vibe that is notoriously King. Amity is a young adult horror that explores the psyche of two characters, and its intended audience will enjoy the atmospheric, suspenseful tale.

Keep Reading

Our Broken Sky by Sarah Harian

August 13th, 2014 Kimberly Review 68 Comments

13th Aug
Our Broken Sky by Sarah Harian

Welcome to Coffee Pot Reviews! These are short and sweet reviews done in the length of time it takes my coffee pot to brew! I am brewing some mocha coffee, be sure and grab a cup. Today I am sharing Our Broken Sky, a novella from the Chaos Theory series by Sarah Harian. The series is a young adult dystopian where justice is decided in the Compass Room. You can read my review of The Wicked We Have Done book one in the series by clicking the link under series above.

Keep Reading

Servants of the Storm by Delilah S. Dawson

August 11th, 2014 Kimberly Review 87 Comments

11th Aug
Servants of the Storm by Delilah S. Dawson

Servants of the Storm by Delilah S. Dawson caught my eye with its creepy cover and synopsis. Dawson takes us to Savannah Georgia after Hurricane Josephine and through the eyes of Carly; we reawaken to discover something sinister arrived with that storm. Servants of the Storm is an atmospheric Gothic tale with a slow-building mystery that hooks its claws into you.

Keep Reading