Review: Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover

July 18th, 2013 Kimberly Review 150 Comments

18th Jul
Review: Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover

Hopeless was the first book that I read by Colleen Hoover and I adored the characters and was swept up in the tale, so I was really excited and nervous to read Losing Hope. Told from Holder’s point of view Hoover gave us a fresh look at the events and insight into Holder himself. Three word review: captivating, heartbreaking, beautiful.

Keep Reading

A Cursed Embrace by Cecy Robson

July 15th, 2013 Kimberly Review 64 Comments

15th Jul
A Cursed Embrace by Cecy Robson

With Cursed Embrace, Cecy Robson has been added to my favorite authors list and The Weird Girls series is one of my favorite urban fantasy series. Fans of Kim Harrison’s the Hollows series and Patricia Brigg’s Mercy Thompson series will devour Weird Girls. Robson delivered an action-packed tale with characters I instantly connected with. She took me on an emotional roller coaster ride and I want more! Three world review: Intense, heart-breaking and brilliant.

Keep Reading

The Mystery Woman by Amanda Quick

July 14th, 2013 Kimberly Review 62 Comments

14th Jul
The Mystery Woman by Amanda Quick

Can I just have a fangirl moment? Squee! This is one of my favorite authors and one whom I would love to meet and share a coffee with. Amanda Quick is one of Jayne Anne Krentz’s pen names and the other is Jayne Castle. I adore her books in all three genres; historical, contemporary and futuristic. The Mystery Woman is the second book in the Ladies of Lantern Street and Quick truly delivered. The tale is filled with spies, mystery, romance and danger all wrapped in a little paranormal woo-woo. Set in historical London I quickly slid into the world and its characters. Three word review: Suspenseful, romantic, captivating.

Keep Reading

Fragments by Dan Wells

July 12th, 2013 Kimberly Review 65 Comments

12th Jul
Fragments by Dan Wells

Fragments is the second book in Dan Wells Partials Sequence trilogy and was one of my most highly anticipated books. I began this tome during the Take Control Read-a-thon in March and consumed it in just two days. Stepping back into this dystopian world I found myself once again caught up in the cure, the battle and the unique characters. Wells outdoes himself with the incredible world-building and thought provoking questions he raises. With the exception of the characters ages this tale reads like an adult novel from its depth to it complex tale. Fans of The Passage and White Horse will enjoy this trilogy. Three word review: fascinating, chilling and suspenseful.

Keep Reading

Coffee Pot Reviews: Days of Rakes and Roses by Anna Campbell & Storm Force by Susannah Sandlin

July 2nd, 2013 Kimberly Review 35 Comments

2nd Jul
Coffee Pot Reviews: Days of Rakes and Roses by Anna Campbell & Storm Force by Susannah Sandlin

Welcome to Coffee Pot Reviews! These are short and sweet reviews done in the length of time it takes my coffee pot to brew! I have two yummy adult books to share with you. One is a novella and the other a serial/full length novel. Adult books contain mature content and are not intended for readers under 18 years of age. I’ve got iced peppermint-mocha coffee so grab a cup and enjoy!

Keep Reading