Harmony of Lies by Brian Feehan

February 23rd, 2023 Kimberly Review 10 Comments

23rd Feb

Harmony of Lies is the second novel in the Alice & Owen series by Brian Feehan. After the events of Harmony of Fire, I was glad to slip back into this world of music, magic, angels, and demons. Owen travels with his band to San Francisco on a task only to face a challenge he will need to win to survive.

Harmony of Lies by Brian Feehan
Harmony of Lies
by Brian Feehan
Series: Alice & Owen #2
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Source: Publisher
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Heat Level: One FlameOne FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Danger threatens to shatter the hope for a new beginning in a world of angels and demons in this explosive paranormal romance by author Brian Feehan, son of legendary #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan.

After being forced away for seventeen years, Alice is finally home. But home isn't what she thought it would be, and every day the secrets she holds from her parents grow with weight. But how do you tell your mother and father that you're not normal? That the world is a far more dangerous place than they have ever known and you are anything but the small, innocent child that was torn from their arms all those years ago?

Owen can't say goodbye, and Alice can't hold on to him tightly enough as the pressures of danger and obligation grow stronger and stronger. With a broken heart, Owen is headed to San Francisco with his crew of musicians. But the Golden City is filled with history and secrets, and brutal deaths are just lying in wait for Owen and his people. To survive these trials and this city, Owen will need everything he has--even the broken parts he gave to Alice--to have any hope of doing the impossible one more time.

magical Rocked SUSPENSE UNIQUE

The novel picks up where Harmony of Fire left off. Alice is reunited with her family, and Owen needs to move on. He has been tasked with running an errand that will take him to San Francisco. He wants, no needs Alice to go with him, but she has unfinished business and owes her family some answers.

We get a few chapters with Alice as she shares her story with her parents and despite the seriousness, moments made me smile. Alice is torn between finding the father who helped her and returning to Owen.

Owen and his crew of musicians, minus Jessica, head to San Francisco and from the moment they cross the bridge, things happen. It was a clever tale, full of twists, music and discoveries.

Feehan has created a world filled with We. Beings who existed long before humans ever did, filled with powerful magic. Alice & Owen are “etherealist.” Rare humans born with magic, making them a target for the “We” who want to take their power. Through his music, Owen can scale the gates of heaven and hell, but he needs to be careful or he’ll burn. There are instruments made from this power, and Owen possesses one. A story foretells of an etherealist who will possess these instruments and change the world.

Something isn’t right in San Francisco, and it begins with a piano and a ghost. This was a clever tale that hooked me from the powerful Mayor to the challenge that drains those who take it on. I admit to being nervous and was glad when we saw characters come together. Owen’s band members are loyal and I enjoy their interactions, from humorous banter to battles. The author does a good job of balancing darker moments with light and it helped offset some scenes.

Fans of urban fantasy and paranormal romance will enjoy this cast of characters and the story arc for this series. Each book has a dominant story, gives us more understanding of the world and sets us up for more. This series is best read in the order of their release, although Feehan does a great job of bringing new readers up to speed.

Amazon | Audible

About Brian Feehan

Brian Feehan

Brian Feehan is a 2nd generation author, son to #1 New York Times Bestselling author Christine Feehan. He lives in a small coastal town in Mendocino County Ca with his son and the love of his life Michelle. He loves spending time with family, playing tennis, cooking, reading, and of course writing.

caffeinated coffee cup divider

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

10 Responses to “Harmony of Lies by Brian Feehan”