Wish Hunter by Hero Bowen & Jordan Riley Swan

September 7th, 2021 Kimberly Review 6 Comments

7th Sep

Wish Hunter is the first audiobook in the Savannah River urban fantasy series by Hero Bowen & Jordan Riley Swan. Narrated by Lisa Flanagan, the authors quickly pulled me into the world of wish stealing.

Wish Hunter by Hero Bowen & Jordan Riley Swan
Wish Hunter
by Hero Bowen, Jordan Riley Swan
Series: The Savannah River Series #1
Narrator: Lisa Flanagan
Length: 11 hours and 28 minutes
Genres: Fantasy
Source: Author
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Narration: 4 cups Speed: 1.3x

Explore the dark underworld of wish hunting in the compelling first installment of this urban fantasy trilogy set in Savannah, Georgia—perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and V. E. Schwab.

Nadia Kaminski’s family has stolen wishes for generations, auctioning them off to skeevy business tycoons and politicians in back-alley deals. Their operation is simple enough. Find someone who gained a wish after saving a life. Trick the wisher into sharing a deep secret. Steal the wish.

And as a marriage counselor, Nadia has more access to people’s secrets than most.

But when Nadia comes across the perfect opportunity to steal a wish for herself, she takes it—and the rock star she’s stolen it from desperately wants his wish back.

As Nadia tries to figure out how to get rid of the cocky thorn in her side, she must face off against vengeful wish hunters, her all-too-powerful family, and the consequences of her own desires—because stealing wishes can be a deadly affair.

Content note: spousal death, gun violence, miscarriage

Family fantasy magical urban

I am always on the lookout for new urban fantasy series and was curious about the idea of wish hunting. We meet protagonist, Nadia Kaminski, a wish stealer from a family of wish stealers. If you save a life you gain a wish, but to steal someone’s wish you must make them reveal a secret. As a marriage counselor, Nadia is able to steal wishes as clients reveal their darkest secrets. It’s a good thing to because her family is indebted to the Wish Master.

It took a bit to establish the world building, magic system and backstory to Nadia and her family, so the beginning started off slow. When Nadia meets Miles, a rock star with an unused wish, things really picked up and hooked me.

Nadia is working hard to steal wishes to pay back the Wish Master, but she desperately wants a wish to bring back her dead husband before it’s too late. This leads her to swipe a wish which sends her down a path filled with danger, challenges and truths.

I love the concept of the world and the storyline the authors have developed. Secondary characters from her cantankerous and controlling grandmother to her powerful sister. The relationship between Nadia and Miles begins roughly, which isn’t surprising considering what she did, but it moved to a partnership and something as yet undefined.

Things slowly build up as the action and danger increased before the author left us hanging while we wait the next audiobook. Overall, this was a satisfying start to the Savannah River series and I look forward to more.

Lisa Flanagan narrates and captured the persona of our protagonist and other main characters. Her pacing and pitch made listening a choice I would recommend.

Amazon | Audible

*The ebook is available through Kindle Unlimited and the audio is whispersynced.

Wish Hunter by Hero Bowen & Jordan Riley Swan set up the world and magical system while pulling the listener in with an intriguing storyline and characters. #audiobook #LisaFlanagan #UrbanFantasy Click To Tweet

About Jordan Riley Swan

Jordan Riley Swan is a wild word hunter living in the far and dangerous reaches of rural Ohio. He spends his nights tracking down big-game stories, capturing them in paper cages, and training them to be better tales. The Heart’s Bidding was the first novel he’d dared to use the keys of his typewriter to release back into the wild.

About Lisa Flanagan

Lisa Flanagan

Lisa Flanagan is an award-winning narrator, voice actor, stage director, improviser, opera librettist, and classical singer. Her voice-over work includes animation, video games, and commercials. Lisa has received multiple AudioFile Earphones Awards, Voice Arts Awards, and the 2019 Audie Award winner for Fantasy. She has cats and lives in Brooklyn, NY.

caffeinated coffee cup divider

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

6 Responses to “Wish Hunter by Hero Bowen & Jordan Riley Swan”