Ready to Were by Robyn Peterman

January 30th, 2020 Kimberly Review 15 Comments

30th Jan
Ready to Were by Robyn Peterman
Ready to Were
by Robyn Peterman
Series: Shift Happens #1
Narrator: Hollie Jackson
Length: 3 hours and 41 minutes
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Source: Audible Escape
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Heat Level: One FlameOne FlameOne FlameOne Flame
Narration: 5 cups Speed: 1.3x

I never planned on going back to Hung Island, Georgia. Ever.

I was a top notch Were agent for the secret paranormal Council and happily living in Chicago where I had everything I needed – a gym membership, season tickets to the Cubs and Dwayne – my gay, Vampyre best friend. Going back now would mean facing the reason I’d left and I’d rather chew my own paw off than deal with Hank.

Hank the Tank Wilson was the six foot three, obnoxious, egotistical, perfect-assed, best-sex-of-my-life, Werewolf who cheated on me and broke my heart. At the time, I did what any rational woman would do. I left in the middle of the night with a suitcase, big plans and enough money for a one-way bus ticket to freedom. I vowed to never return.

But here I am, trying to wrap my head around what has happened to some missing Weres without wrapping my body around Hank. I hope I don’t have to eat my words and my paw.

howlinggood mystery paranormal ROMANCE

I snagged Audible Escape on a 3-months for $6.00 deal ($2.00 a month) and stumbled upon the Shift Happens series. Ready to Were by Robyn Peterman, narrated by Hollie Jackson was a hilarious, paranormal romance with suspense, humor, mystery, and a cast of characters you will love!

Fans of Danielle Garret, and Molly Harper who haven’t already devoured this series should snap them up on audio.

The story opens when we meet Essie, a young were, who left her hometown and fiancé back in Hung Island, GA and joined the WTF (Werewolf Treaty Federation). Her bestie is a gay vampire named Dwayne, and she lives in a crappy apartment in Chicago. She misses her hunky alpha ex-boyfriend and home. However, she loves her job, and she is good damn good at it.

Her boss assigns her to a case involving missing were women and a modeling agency. But Houston, we have a problem. The agency is located in Hung Island and her ex is the sheriff. Not to be deterred, she takes Dwayne with her. Can she solve the case? Will she fall back into the arms of her cheating, hunky ex-fiancé?

From the start I loved the humor, Dwayne and the sassy young were Essie. I fell in love with the rest of the motley crew we are introduced to in Hung, well except for a maybe a few sisters.. but you’ll have to listen to find out.

The case was interested and involved another supernatural group. One that will become a central theme to the Shift Happen series. Of course, I immediately dove into book two, Some Were in Time.

Peterman weaves the romance throughout the story. It provided balance giving us wicked banter, delicious chemistry and plenty of swoons.

Hollie Jackson does a fantastic job with Essie, Dwayne, Grandma and the rest of the characters. This series is perfect for audio and Jackson enhanced my enjoyment of it.

Humor, camaraderie, suspense and supernatural elements made this over the top story a hoot on audio.

Ready to Were by Robyn Peterman, narrated by Hollie Jackson was a hilarious, paranormal romance filled with humor, mystery and a cast of characters you will love! #Audiobook #AudibleEscape #ShiftHappens Click To Tweet

About Robyn Peterman

Robyn Peterman

NYT and USA Today best selling author, Robyn Peterman writes because the people inside her head won’t leave her alone until she gives them life on paper. She writes snarky, sexy, funny paranormal and snarky, sexy, funny contemporaries. Her addictions include laughing really hard with friends, shoes (the expensive kind), Target, Coke Zero Cherry with extra ice in a styrofoam cup, bejeweled reading glasses, her kids, her super-hot hubby and collecting stray animals. A former professional actress, with Broadway, film and T.V. credits, she now lives in the south with her family and too many animals to count. Writing gives her peace and makes her whole, plus having a job where she can work in her underpants works really well for her.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw and Howler. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Find @kimbacaffeinate on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

15 Responses to “Ready to Were by Robyn Peterman”

  1. Leona

    I have quite a few Peterman stories sitting on my kindle waiting to be read. I think I finished her Vampire series, or at least a good portion of it while waiting for the rest of the series to be released. I thought about listening to these on audio, but who knows what my reading future holds lol.

  2. Sophia Rose

    Oh cool! I definitely have this from my Kindle freebie stack, but I’ll have to check and see about an audio upgrade. I am definitely the target audience for a paranormal cozy. 🙂