Wanderers by Chuck Wendig

July 1st, 2019 Kimberly Review 14 Comments

1st Jul
Wanderers by Chuck Wendig
Wanderers
by Chuck Wendig
Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon | Audible
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world's last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival.

Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable determination to a destination that only she knows. But Shana and are sister are not alone. Soon they are joined by a flock of sleepwalkers from across America, on the same mysterious journey. And like Shana, there are other “shepherds” who follow the flock to protect their friends and family on the long dark road ahead.

For on their journey, they will discover an America convulsed with terror and violence, where this apocalyptic epidemic proves less dangerous than the fear of it. As the rest of society collapses all around them–and an ultraviolent militia threatens to exterminate them–the fate of the sleepwalkers depends on unraveling the mystery behind the epidemic. The terrifying secret will either tear the nation apart–or bring the survivors together to remake a shattered world.

dystopian HORRIFIC Standalone well written

One of my most highly anticipated books of the summer, Wanderers by Chuck Wendig. is the perfect for fans of The Stand.. Grab a cup of coffee and check out this addictive, dark, and terrifying tale.

Trigger warners: View Spoiler »

Wendig’s relevant, apocalyptic tale touches on technology, extreme religious groups, end of times, and the fear of the unknown. From political maneuvering to using fear as a tool we see and experience it all as a young girl follows her sister and others across America’s flyover states.

It’s a normal sunny morning on the farm when Shanna sees her younger sister walking aimlessly towards the road. She follows and quickly realizes something is wrong. By the time she gets her father another walker has joined her sister. They are walking, eyes wide-open fixed straight ahead and unseeing. Attempts to stop the walkers are met with horrific consequences and that is when disgraced former CDC scientist, Benji is called in and introduced to a predictive computer. The tale that unfolds crossed into our reality making the story absolutely disturbing and at times terrifying.

The tale is told primarily through Benji’s POV, but be also get Shanna who never leaves her sister’s side. We meet Matthew a small town preacher who becomes caught up in one of many conspiracies. Then we have Ozark Stover. He is a radical militia leader who backs the current presidential opponent and is willing to use fear to further his cause. This man will give you nightmares. Then we have Peter Corley, a rocker with a secret who finds his way to the walkers and the shepherds who follow them.

We get to know these characters and throughout the journey see them working together as the outside world struggles to understand, stop and use them for their own agenda. What is causing this? Is it a terrorist act? Where are they going? Meanwhile a horrific new virus is spreading globally. Is there a link to the walkers? It was all so addictive!

Wendig uses all of these characters and their threads to weave an apocalyptic tale that touches on key political and climate issues, but also weaves in technological advancements and more to create a story that delivered an edge of your seat thriller. I could totally see this story being told on the big screen or maybe Netflix needs to pick it up.

Nothing is more terrifying than a story whose headlines mirror our own. While the scientific advances may not happen for years, the concept combines with today’s advances and climate made it feel wholly conceivable.

When an eight hundred page novels is over in the blink of an eye and you awaken to realize time has slipped by … you know you’ve just read a superb story. I highly recommend adding Wanderers to your summer must read list.

Wanderers by Chuck Wendig delivered an addictive, dark, and terrifying tale. This summer's #MustRead #NewRelease #Dystopian Click To Tweet

About Chuck Wendig

Chuck Wendig

Chuck Wendig is a novelist, a screenwriter, and a freelance penmonkey.
He has contributed over two million words to the roleplaying game industry, and was the developer of the popular Hunter: The Vigil game line (White Wolf Game Studios / CCP). He, along with writing partner Lance Weiler, is a fellow of the Sundance Film Festival Screenwriter’s Lab (2010). Their short film, Pandemic, will show at the Sundance Film Festival 2011, and their feature film HiM is in development with producer Ted Hope. Chuck’s novel Double Dead will be out in November, 2011. He’s written too much. He should probably stop. Give him a wide berth, as he might be drunk and untrustworthy. He currently lives in the wilds of Pennsyltucky with a wonderful wife and two very stupid dogs.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat...Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

14 Responses to “Wanderers by Chuck Wendig”

  1. Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    I love post apocalyptic stories, and this one sounds like a real page turner! I love that such a long book kept you engrossed the whole time! I hope it gets picked up on the big screen or Netflix, because it does sound like it’d be perfect for the big screen!

  2. Suzanne @ The Bookish Libra

    I’ve been waiting to see some reviews for this one and I’m happy to hear that it’s as good as I hoped it would be. I also completely agree about the quality of a book if you can breeze through 800 pages. Can’t wait to read this book!

  3. Tyler H. Jolley

    The Stand was my first King book. I recently re-read it and it still held the same magic as it did the first time I read it. I can’t wait to sink my teeth into this book. I has total The Stand vibes, but still so unique. Thanks Kimba!

    • Kimberly

      It read like 400 Nick, I wasn’t trudging through muck but completely absorbed and invested.

  4. Ailyn Koay

    George Orwell came quite close in 1984 you know, I hesistate to dwelve into this one just because it terrifies me