Nonna’s Corner: Preschool Fun and Learning

July 11th, 2018 Kimberly Review 10 Comments

11th Jul

Nonna's Corner

Welcome to another edition of Nonna’s Corner where I share books I have read with my grandchildren, affectionately known as the “Royals” here at Caffeinated. Princess Sophia is three and with preschool just around the corner, The 12 Days of Preschool by Jenna Lettice was the perfect book to begin discussions. Dr. Seuss’s 100 First Words by Dr Seuss Enterprises L P matches words with books in an adorable oversized board book perfect for toddlers and early readers.

Nonna’s Corner: Preschool Fun and Learning
The 12 Days of Preschool
by Jenna Lettice
Genres: Childrens
Pages: 24
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Count the first twelve days of preschool with this fun-filled picture book inspired by "The 12 Days of Christmas"--perfect for fans of Natasha Wing's "The Night Before . . ." series! Includes stickers for a great school-time reward.

Celebrate the first 12 days of preschool! On the first day of preschool, all the kids learn how to share ONE fuzzy teddy bear. On the second day, the kids share TWO toy trains. The third day? THREE tricycles! Each of the first 12 fun-filled days of preschool are illuminated in this cumulative rhyming storybook based on "The 12 Days of Christmas."

Preschoolers and their parents and teachers will love spotting all the fun things to find in the classroom. It's a great way to calm first-day-of-school jitters and to reinforce the idea of sharing by talking about what to expect once preschool is underway. And the book includes stickers - perfect treats for the first 12 days of preschool.

Illustrated by Colleen Madden, The 12 Days of Preschool follows the popular Twelve Days of Christmas, replacing  a partridge in a pear-tree with our most favorite fuzzy teddy bear. The colorful images depict a diverse preschool class as they go through the day’s activities from finger paints to music.

Princess Sophia liked the friendly teacher and quickly caught along to the verse, after admonishing me with, “Nonna you already said that!” Well, at least I know she is listening. Just like The 12 Days of Valentines, this paperback came with a sheet of stickers. The stickers are images that can be found throughout the book.

Sophia had a fun time matching them, and skillfully placing the stickers over the images. It isn’t meant for that, the stickers can be used anywhere, but Sophia believes they are and so we did.

  • Age Range: 3 – 7 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool – 2
Nonna’s Corner: Preschool Fun and Learning
Dr. Seuss's 100 First Words
by Dr Seuss Enterprises L P
Genres: Childrens
Pages: 16
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

A word book illustrated with images from the works of Dr. Seuss--starring the Little Cats from The Cat in the Hat Comes Back! This super-sturdy casebound board book introduces babies and toddlers to 100 essential first words and to the artwork of Dr. Seuss! Illustrated with images from his most beloved, classic books (among them One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish, Green Eggs and Ham, and Hop on Pop)--the book also features the Little Cats--the tiny cats from The Cat in the Hat Comes Back--doing something fun on every spread! Perfect for learning and for play, there's plenty to look at and talk about on each page.

This oversized, super rugged board book of first one hundred words was perfect for Prince Clayton. Fun, colorful primary images depict common objects in a delightful way. Even Princess Sophia who is three delighted in pointing to objects and identifying them. For her I pointed out the word next to each image to prepare her for reading. This would be a nice edition to a classroom, family bookshelf or much appreciated gift.

  • Age Range: 2 – 3 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool and up
Get the kiddos ready for preschool with The 12 Days of Preschool by Jenna Lettice and Dr. Seuss's 100 First Words oversized board book #childrens #reading Click To Tweet

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat...Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

10 Responses to “Nonna’s Corner: Preschool Fun and Learning”

  1. ShootingStarsMag

    Both of these sound really cute! I love that Sophia thinks the 12 days stickers are meant to go in the book. It’s just another learning activity. 🙂

    -Lauren

    • Kimberly

      Yes, it helps her identify same and different. But she places the smaller sticker over the bigger image. It is adorable.

  2. Tyler H. Jolley

    These are perfect. I can’t believe Sophia is getting ready for preschool this fall. I remember when she was born! I have a feeling she’ll enjoy story time at school, she’s well prepared.

  3. Julie Gibson

    I’m excited to pick these up – my munchkins are 6 and 4, so they should be a lot of fun. They love stories!

    • Kimberly

      Enjoy. My kids loved books too and are all adult readers. Now I get the joy of reading to my grandbabies.