Caught by the Scot by Karen Hawkins

October 20th, 2017 Kimberly Review 38 Comments

20th Oct
Caught by the Scot by Karen Hawkins
Caught by the Scot
by Karen Hawkins
Series: Made to Marry #1
Published by: Simon and Schuster
Genres: Historical Fiction
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Heat Level:One FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Caught by the Scot is a fabulously witty and irresistibly sexy Scottish historical romance from New York Times bestseller Karen Hawkins. Fans of Julia Quinn, Monica McCarty and Julie Garwood will be won over by the spellbinding Made to Marry series.

When the dark Duke of Hamilton loses his beloved wife, he heeds her dying wish that he make certain her three brothers marry well for she fears they are all headed to ruin. Heartsick, the Duke approaches the task with a heavy hand, ordering the three brothers to marry within three months or forego their inheritance.

The middle brother, the dashing Conner Douglas, is not about to give up his independence, but he knows marriage doesn't always mean one must change, does it? If anything, being married to a pliable sort of female would give him even more opportunity to seduce the married women of the ton. So he heads straight for the most pliable female he knows - a childhood acquaintance and now mousy spinster, the English born and bred Miss Theodora Cumberbatch-Snowe.

Conner is so certain Theodora will joyously agree to marry him, that he takes his time traveling to her house and has only one month to secure her hand and marry. Yet when he arrives at her parents' house he discovers that Theodora has just run away with a local landowner—a farmer, no less! Unknown to Conner, Theodora has been wildly, passionately in love with him for years. But she's accepted that he sees her only as a friend. Unable to sit forever in her parents' front parlor and wait for what will never happen, Theodora decided to marry someone comfortable in the hopes they might at least become good partners.

Unaware of Theodora's feelings, Conner isn't about to let 'the perfect wife' get away so easily. But as Conner seduces Theodora, his own feelings stir. And after surviving a trip of mishaps and traps, he discovers that he can't image her marrying anyone but him.

Brothers historical ROMANCE smartfunny

Connor, Jack, and Declan Douglas have just lost their beloved sister Anna, and according to her wishes, each brother must wed a respectable woman within four months time or forfeit their inheritance to the Campbells, their sworn enemy. Caught by the Scot by Karen Hawkins is the first in the Made to Marry Series and shares Conner’s story. Filled with banter, and a smart heroine I devoured their story in a single evening.

A lass with the guid sense nae to try and change us. Someone nae demanding. A woman of calm disposition, nae given to dramatic scenes or possessive tantrums, who—” Good God, he knew a woman like that. Only one, but one was enough. Thea.~Conner, Caught by the Scot.

Coffee Dates with Caught by the Scot

  • First Date: The Douglas boys lost their parents at a young age, and their sister took on the role of mother. Each is successful in their own right. Conner is a privateer, and rumors abound about pirating, women and misbehavior. He comes up with the perfect plan. He will marry, his best friend’s sister, Theodora Cumberbatch-Snowe. She is practical, quiet and companionable. Only he will wait a month before delighting her with the news. When he arrives, she is on her way to Gretna Green to get married to a Squire. And thus our tale begins. I have a feeling Conner has a lot to learn if he wants to woo this woman!
  • Second Date: Thea has been in love with Conner since, well, forever. She has finally decided to put those feelings aside and marry a dependable, safe, kind man. Only the coach loses a wheel; her clothes are soaked and blast it all Conner is here! I absolutely loved the back and forth banter, the sizzling chemistry, and our feisty, stubborn heroine. Despite needing a slap on the back of the head, Conner is swoon-worthy, and I quickly began rooting for him.
  • Third Date: Secondary characters, accidents, illnesses and stolen kisses kept me flipping the pages. I loved seeing Conner awaken too Thea. Hawkins treated us to several threads and introduced secondary characters from maids to pirates providing an entertaining read from start to finish. I felt the cause of the conflict was valid. I was cheering Thea on for knowing what she wanted and refusing to settle. Hawkins brought all the threads together and had me ending my dates with a smile.

Caught by the Scot induced laughter, swoons and delivered a satisfying historical romance complete with accents and kilts. I look forward to the next brother’s story!

Caught by the Scot by Karen Hawkins induced laughter and swoons #historical #romance #mustread Click To Tweet

About Karen Hawkins

Karen Hawkins

New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Karen Hawkins is known for her wonderfully humorous and emotion-tugging historical and contemporary romances. The author of over 30 novels, Karen writes for a living between shopping for shoes, playing around on Facebook and Pinterest, looking for fun items for Hawkins Manor, and napping, although usually not at the same time. Sometimes, for fun, she takes Instagram pictures of her two rescue dogs, Sadie and Teke, and posts them online.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly

Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She’s a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat…Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

38 Responses to “Caught by the Scot by Karen Hawkins”

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)