City of Lies by Victoria Thompson

November 6th, 2017 Kimberly Review 22 Comments

6th Nov
City of Lies by Victoria Thompson

I have long wanted to try Victoria Thompson’s Gaslight Mystery series but at twenty-one books, I kept putting it off. When I saw she was beginning a new series, The Counterfeit Lady, and read the synopsis for City of Lies, I knew it was time.  City of Lies delivered an addictive tale with a quick-thinking grifter who soon finds herself a part of history as she tries to outwit a killer.

Keep Reading

A Daring Arrangement by Joanna Shupe

October 30th, 2017 Kimberly Review 50 Comments

30th Oct
A Daring Arrangement by Joanna Shupe

A Daring Arrangement by Joanna Shupe is the first novel in the Four Hundred series surrounding the elite families of New York during the Gilded Age. I was completely drawn to this story by its description. An English beauty with a scheme and an American scoundrel make an arrangement..all set against New York City during the Gilded Age? How could I refuse? 

Keep Reading

Caught by the Scot by Karen Hawkins

October 20th, 2017 Kimberly Review 38 Comments

20th Oct
Caught by the Scot by Karen Hawkins

Connor, Jack, and Declan Douglas have just lost their beloved sister Anne and according to her wishes, each brother must wed a respectable woman within four months time or forfeit their inheritance to the Campbells their sworn enemy. Caught by the Scot by Karen Hawkins is the first in the Made to Marry Series and shares Conner’s story. Filled with banter, and a smart heroine I devoured their story in a single evening.

Keep Reading

The Stolen Marriage by Diane Chamberlain

October 3rd, 2017 Kimberly Review 49 Comments

3rd Oct
The Stolen Marriage by Diane Chamberlain

Diane Chamberlain magically transports me to her settings and introduces vibrant and complex characters. Such was the case with THE STOLEN MARRIAGE. It’s 1944 when folks are dealing with food rations, racial discrimination, and polio outbreaks. Chamberlain touches on all three as our protagonist Tess DeMello makes an error that lands her in Hickory, North Carolina. Poignant, inspiring and fascinating I devoured THE STOLEN MARRIAGE.

Keep Reading

An Offer From a Gentleman by Julia Quinn

September 11th, 2017 Kimberly Review 54 Comments

11th Sep
An Offer From a Gentleman by Julia Quinn

AN OFFER FROM A GENTLEMAN by Julia Quinn is the third novel in the delightful historical romance series, Bridgertons. Quinn has fun with this tale delivering a fairy tale retelling of the classic Cinderella complete with an evil stepmother. I delighted in the story even if miscommunication frustrated me.

Keep Reading

The Witches of New York by Ami McKay

August 25th, 2017 Kimberly Review 48 Comments

25th Aug
The Witches of New York by Ami McKay

The gilded era – 1880 New York and the promise of three young witches drew me in and had me listening to THE WITCHES OF NEW YORK written by Ami McKay and narrated by Julia Whelan.  McKay offered up a dark and curious tale that I enjoyed despite its meandering pace.

Keep Reading

The Underground River by Martha Conway

July 26th, 2017 Kimberly Review 22 Comments

26th Jul
The Underground River by Martha Conway

THE UNDERGROUND RIVER by Martha Conway intrigued me from the time period to the characters part in helping slaves find freedom. Narrated by Hillary Huber, Conway took me down the Ohio River on a floating theater and introduced me to a cast of quirky and endearing characters.

Keep Reading

The Regrets of Cyrus Dodd by Bette Lee Crosby

June 29th, 2017 Kimberly Review 29 Comments

29th Jun
The Regrets of Cyrus Dodd by Bette Lee Crosby

THE REGRETS IF CYPRUS DODD by Bette Lee Crosby is the fourth book in the Wyattsville Series, set in West Virgina. All of the books in this historical fiction series can be read as standalone and feature a complete story. It has been a spell since I read PASSING THROUGH PERFECT, the third novel and after consuming this novel I am kicking myself for having waited so long.

Keep Reading

Page 1 of 712345...Last »