The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert and Apple Salad

July 12th, 2017 Kimberly Feature, Review 41 Comments

12th Jul

RecipeBookRec

Today I am sharing a favorite Apple Salad recipe and THE SIMPLICITY OF CIDER by Amy E. Reichart. A delightful tale nestled amongst an apple orchard that will have foodie fiction lovers begging for more.

Apple Salad Recipe

This recipe is bursting with flavor and wonderful for summer. You can eat it as is, serve as a side, or add shredded chicken for a meal. While I like the tart-sweet taste of Honeycrisp apples you can use whatever apple you prefer.

Ingredients

  • 3 medium Honeycrisp apples, diced
  • 3/4 cup pineapple tidbits, drained
  • 1-1/2 cups sliced celery
  • 1 cup raisins or grapes (halved)
  • 1 medium carrot, shredded
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped almonds
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice

Directions

In a large salad bowl, combine the apples, pineapple, celery, raisins or grapes, carrots, and almonds. In a small bowl, combine sour cream, sugar and lemon juice. Add to apple mixture and toss to coat evenly. Refrigerate and serve chilled.

Book Recommendation

The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert and Apple Salad
The Simplicity of Cider
by Amy E. Reichert
Published by: Simon and Schuster
Genres: Chick-Lit, Magical Realism
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon | Audible
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

all in love with The Simplicity of Cider, the charming new novel about a prickly but gifted cider-maker whose quiet life is interrupted by the arrival of a handsome man and his young son at her family’s careworn orchard by the author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and Luck, Love & Lemon Pie.

Focused and unassuming fifth generation cider-maker Sanna Lund has one desire: to live a simple, quiet life on her family’s apple orchard in Door County, Wisconsin. Although her business is struggling, Sanna remains fiercely devoted to the orchard, despite her brother’s attempts to convince their aging father to sell the land.

Single dad Isaac Banks has spent years trying to shield his son Sebastian from his troubled mother. Fleeing heartbreak at home, Isaac packed up their lives and the two headed out on an adventure, driving across the country. Chance—or fate—led them straight to Sanna’s orchard.

Isaac’s helping hands are much appreciated at the apple farm, even more when Sanna’s father is injured in an accident. As Sanna’s formerly simple life becomes increasingly complicated, she finds solace in unexpected places—friendship with young Sebastian and something more deliciously complex with Isaac—until an outside threat infiltrates the farm.

From the warm and funny Amy E. Reichert, The Simplicity of Cider is a charming love story with a touch of magic, perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Gayle Forman.

Chick-lit Foodie ROMANCE Standalone

Reichart’s books combine, food, love, and self-discovery into memorable stories. THE SIMPLICITY OF CIDER has a touch of magical realism and I quickly slipped into the story as the smell of apples permeated my senses.  A grumpy young woman’s life and that of her beloved apple orchid are forever changed by a man and a young boy.

I loved the way in which the author allowed this tale to unfold. Each of the characters we encounter experience growth and it made spending the apple season with them heartfelt. This tale takes us to rural Wisconsin and will soon have you hankering for apple cider and warm apple pie.

Isaac and his son Sebastian (Bass) are spending a carefree summer traveling. Isaac wants to shelter Bass and give him one more idyllic summer, before sharing news about the young boy’s troubled mother. Their journey leads them to Door County, Wisconsin.  Issac and Sebastian take a temporary job with lodging at the apple orchid Sanna and her father Einar own.

Sanna was not at all welcoming of Issac and Bass. She isn’t a fan of change and feels threatened by it but slowly that begins to change. As it does we begin to see Sanna bloom. While I am not sure I would befriend Sanna, I can say I understood her passion and fears.

The story had many threads, but it revolves mostly around Sanna Lund and her beloved trees. Sanna loves her orchid especially the old heirloom apple trees. From them, she creates amazing ciders. She has what her father refers to as the Lund gift. She is able to create different flavors of cider in a unique way.  Sanna is young, but she acts like a prickly old woman. She is focused on her apples and is a bit of a recluse.  She carries around an awful anger and fears change. It wasn’t easy to like Sanna, but it was moments with Bass that I saw the six-year-old girl Sanna. It had me holding out hope she was still in there.

These quirky, genuine characters and the apple orchids had me wanting to move to Wisconsin. We have prickly Sanna, her aging father, a bright and inquisitive young boy and a father fearful for his son all working side by side on the farm.  Reichart shares a little of each of their pasts allowing us insight into the characters. She then weaves a wonderful tale about the struggles of life on the farm, from the beautiful heirloom trees to dealing with modern day changes. I appreciated all of the little details from grafting the trees to creating the Cider.

Reichart introduced family tension, troubles with the farm and outside pressures including threats.  These elements pulled characters together and created a memorable tale.  The writing had a wonderful flow, as the author shared details about farm life and meals around the table. Her writing wraps around you and pulls you in.

Magical Realism is a subtle element in this story and I loved this aspect. Fans of Sarah Addison Allen will want to add this to their list. I love how Reichart describes it particularly the way she tied it to the land and its owners.

The romance was subtle, with stolen glances, quiet moments and slow dancing. While it stayed in the background love was at the heart of this story. For life and love to bloom it must be nurtured.

My only complaint was that a few threads seemed to go nowhere and I felt some weren’t properly addressed. While it frustrated me as I waited for reactions and details upon reflection these did not deter my enjoyment.

THE SIMPLICITY OF CIDER weaved its magic and left me craving cider and a stroll through the orchids at sunset.

THE SIMPLICITY OF CIDER weaved its magic and left me craving cider. Recipe and a Book Click To Tweet

 

About Amy E. Reichert

Amy E. Reichert

Amy Reichert earned her MA in Literature from Marquette University, and honed her writing and editing skills as a technical writer (which is exactly as exciting as it sounds). As a newly minted member of the local library board, she loves helping readers find new books to love. She’s a life-long Wisconsin resident with (allegedly) a very noticeable accent, a patient husband, and two too-smart-for-their-own-good kids. When time allows, she loves to read, collect more cookbooks than she could possibly use, and test the limits of her DVR.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

41 Responses to “The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert and Apple Salad”

  1. Heidi

    That salad definitley sounds yummy. Will have to try it. I wish I had liked this one more, but I got frustrated by the unfinished story lines that went nowhere like you mentioned and Sanna was too prickly for me. I also didn’t like that no one bothered to follow up on the vandalism, you would think after the first time, they would have been all over it. Too many misteps for me. I am glad that you liked it better.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      She comes off as selfish, but it’s more than that. I saw her as an introvert and someone with anxiety who fears change.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I always have fun when I do this. I took a picture when I made the dish this summer, but then lost it and realized I never added to post. I must have thought I had and then deleted it. *hangs head*

  2. Rachel

    I love this post! I love that you have a recipe that related to the book! Such a good idea.

    The book sounds really good, too. It sounds like the perfect crisp Fall day read.

  3. Lorna

    The salad sounds so good! Anything apple is good to me. I like the sound of the book too. Almost like its from a different time.

  4. Lark

    Ooh, this sounds delightful! And it’s making me crave cider. Or at least apple pie. Your apple salad looks good, too, A pity that there were a few threads not woven in at the end, but I’ll be putting this on my wishlist anyway.

    Lark recently posted: Sunday Post – 7/16/2017