Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

September 27th, 2017 Kimberly Review 49 Comments

27th Sep
Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

I was drawn to LITTLE FIRES EVERYWHERE by Celeste Ng thanks to fellow bloggers and decided to review the audio. Ng takes us inside the homes of ” the perfect neighborhood, ” and while you may envy their perfect little life, they are far from happy. Brilliantly poignant Ng’s grasp on human relationships, particularly those of the mother-daughter dynamic was cleverly insightful.

Keep Reading

Britt-Marie Was Here by Fredrik Backman

June 8th, 2016 Kimberly Review 70 Comments

8th Jun
Britt-Marie Was Here by Fredrik Backman

Britt-Marie Was Here by Fredrik Backman was on my wish list for BEA 2016. I was delighted to receive a signed copy. When an opportunity to review the audio came along, and I heard the delightful voice of Joan Walker I decided to listen first. I am so grateful that I did. Britt-Marie Was Here is going on my top ten audio listens for 2016. Brilliant, heart-warming, funny, and poignant, Fredrik Backman shows that anyone can change, even a stubborn, set in her ways young woman like sixty-three year old Britt-Marie.

Keep Reading

Alone in the Wind by Judy Bruce

January 21st, 2016 Kimberly Review 18 Comments

21st Jan
Alone in the Wind by Judy Bruce

Alone in the Wind by Judy Bruce is the second novel in her Wind series. Bruce shares the misadventures of Megan Docket, a lawyer and self-professed snoop. Set against the landscape of rugged, rural Western Nebraska, Bruce combines mystery, character growth and suspense into this small-town series. If you love a cozy but want a mystery with kick, Bruce is an author to try.

Keep Reading

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

August 6th, 2015 Kimberly Review 83 Comments

6th Aug
Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

One of my favorite books is To Kill a Mockingbird from the characters to the writing. I have re-read it many times and I have always mourned the fact that I could not read more works by Harper Lee. Therefore, when news of Go Set a Watchman spread I knew that I would have to read it. I noticed Resse Witherspoon was narrating the audio edition and decided to listen instead.

Keep Reading

Voices in the Wind by Judy Bruce

May 14th, 2015 Kimberly Review 49 Comments

14th May
Voices in the Wind by Judy Bruce

I chose to review Voice in the Wind after meeting the author Judy Bruce. Judy is a fellow Nebraskan and has a passion for reading, writing and her family. In Voices in the Wind, she takes us on a young woman’s journey of loss, betrayal, discover and love. Set in Nebraska I enjoyed watching her transformation, and seeing the familiar Nebraskan landscape. With a touch of spiritual awareness, Megan’s story will capture the reader.

Keep Reading

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

April 24th, 2015 Kimberly Review 56 Comments

24th Apr
A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler takes us into the lives of the Whitshanks from the 1920’s to present day giving us glimpses into their daily lives, beginnings, frustrations and life’s ever changing cycles. Humorous, poignant and complex Tyler brought this family to life sharing the complexity of family life.

Keep Reading

Painted From Memories by Barbara Forte Abate

August 27th, 2014 Kimberly Review 62 Comments

27th Aug
Painted From Memories by Barbara Forte Abate

I am not a fan of the cover, despite the fact that after reading Painted From Memories, I see how it fits. Do not let it distract you because beneath this plain Jane cover lies a beautiful literary fiction. Barbara Forte Abate shares an interesting tale with two quirky, artistic types set in the small rural town of Lost River, Maine. Painted From Memories is a gripping tale with several threads that had me lost within its pages.

Keep Reading

Close Your Eyes, Hold Hands by Chris Bohjalian

July 7th, 2014 Kimberly Review 80 Comments

7th Jul
Close Your Eyes, Hold Hands by Chris Bohjalian

I first discovered Chris Bohjalian in 2011 when I read and loved his suspense thriller, The Night Strangers. Since then I have read two of his historical fictions The Sandcastle Girls and The Light in the Ruins. Each story is vastly different, beautiful, captivating and memorable. It seems no matter what story Bohjalian tells it is destined to entwine itself into my memory.

Keep Reading

The Hollow Ground by Natalie S. Harnett

July 3rd, 2014 Kimberly Review 50 Comments

3rd Jul
The Hollow Ground by Natalie S. Harnett

I grew up in South Jersey and as a young teen traveled with my maternal grandparents to central Pennsylvania for the day. There we toured an abandoned coalmine. We rode inside the tunnels on old coal cars draped in thick miner coats and helmets. We learned about working in the mines from the working conditions to the ailments workers suffered. We then visited abandon towns with boarded up windows and overgrown lawns.; viewed fields where smoke and sulfur gases rose from the ground licked by flames. It was dark, sad and oddly eerie. On the car ride home, I imagined what people in those towns must have experienced. Where did they go? Why did some choose to stay? It was one of those memories that stayed with me. When I was approached to review the audio version of The Hollow Ground by Natalie S. Harnett and realized, the story was about a family in this ravaged area I immediately accepted. The Hollow Ground was a poignant tale of heartache, growth and the ties that bind us.

Keep Reading