The Haunting of Rachel Harroway J.S. Donovan

October 6th, 2017 kimbacaffeinate Review 40 Comments

6th Oct

Rachel Harroway

I stumbled across THE HAUNTING OF RACHEL HARROWAY: THE BEGINNINGS on Amazon Kindle for Free and decided it sounded like an interesting ghost story. Rachel Harroway discovers she is gifted with the sight when she and her husband unknowingly buy an old Queen Anne manse where a gruesome murder took place. Twists, ghostly entities, and mystery had me devouring all three books on a lazy Saturday.

The Haunting of Rachel Harroway J.S. Donovan
The Haunting of Rachel Harroway: The Beginning
by J.S. Donovan
Series: The Haunting of Rachel Harroway #0
Genres: Paranormal
Source: Purchase
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

In 1983, a family of four was murdered in their nineteenth century Queen Anne manse. There were no witnesses, no real investigation, and no survivors.

Over thirty years later, the house is suddenly back on the market. Ready to settle down, a young married couple moves from New York City to their dream home in the quiet town of Highlands, North Carolina. However, as past secrets come to light and unpredictable strangers violate their privacy, the couple’s hope for a fresh start twists into the fuel for their darkest nightmares

MURDERMYSTERY paranormal Scary SUSPENSE

In this first story, Rachel and her husband Brett purchase an old Queen Anne manse in the Highlands, North Carolina. Strange things begin to occur, from doors opening to moving objects. We learn about Rachel’s mother who is institutionalized and watch Rachel come unraveled as something in the house wants her attention. Donovan does an excellent job of building suspense and setting up events that will ultimately change Rachel’s life. Dark, suspenseful the beginnings delivered from the murder-mystery to the paranormal woo-woo. The tale wraps up nicely as Rachel solves the case. We are given a firm direction for the overall theme of the series. This book is Perma-free on Amazon and available from audible.

The Haunting of Rachel Harroway J.S. Donovan
The Haunting of Rachel Harroway
by J.S. Donovan
Series: The Haunting of Rachel Harroway #1
Genres: Paranormal
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The discovery of a serial killer’s burial ground rocks the peaceful town of Highlands, North Carolina. Rachel Harroway, a tragic detective with the ability to see the dead, and her brilliant atheistic partner, Jenson Peak, are put on the case. Only through the use of their unique talents can the orphaned dead find rest and the reinvigorated killer be brought to justice.

MURDERMYSTERY paranormal Scary SUSPENSE

In book one of THE HAUNTING OF RACHEL HARROWAY, Rachel has embraced her gift and now works for the local police department as a detective. Together with  Jenson Peak, her partner they have a proven track record for solving cases. All thanks in part to Rachel’s gift. Jenson is an atheist but has learned to trust Rachel and her insight. Donovan’s world-building, particularly about Rachel’s gift was well developed and hooked me. Rachel experiences different levels of her gift from being marked to suffering the victim’s final moments. It was chilling and felt surreal.

We have a forty-year-old case involving multiple teenage girls who went missing and are discovered by a hiker. I found myself completely caught up from the “orphans” to the suspects. The pacing increased as we moved to a suspenseful climax. Things aren’t completely resolved.  Donovan leaves us in such a way, that’ll you will want to dive into book two. Available on KU, eBook, and Audio.

The Haunting of Rachel Harroway J.S. Donovan
The Haunting of Rachel Harroway- Book 2
by J.S. Donovan
Series: The Haunting of Rachel Harroway #2
Genres: Paranormal
Source: Purchase
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Haunted by a serial killer, Detective Rachel Harroway, and her partner Jenson Peak race against the clock to find the murderer’s true killer before he subjects Rachel to an eternity of torment.

MURDERMYSTERY paranormal Scary SUSPENSE

We dive right back in and soon learn that the case from the first book isn’t completely over. To make matters worse, the “orphaned” are making demands, and some are deadly. As Rachel and Jenson investigate, new murders and victims develop. Donovan once again pulled me in as I worried about the ghostly threat against Rachel.

I thought the case was smart, and the story offered plenty of twists and turns. I did figure out a few things early on, but still fretted over how it would all work out.   The tension built as a clear suspect developed thanks in part to Rachel’s gift. A threat forces her into an uncomfortable situation, and I loved that her partner backed her up.

The story wrapped up nicely and the paranormal woo-woo satisfied my paranormal fix. Currently, this is the last book, but I am hoping we see more of Rachel  Fans of Supernatural, X-Files and Cozy Paranormal mysteries will enjoy this series. This book is available on KU, eBook, and audio.

THE HAUNTING OF RACHEL HARROWAY was a suspenseful, well-paced series and one I would revisit. Donovan’s writing is solid, and she quickly engrosses the reader. My only complaint is that the books were not professional edited and the story contains numerous errors. Not enough to ultimately detract from the tale, but they did give me pause as I read.

I could not find a bio, website, or any social media for the author. Which to me is creepy. LOL

The Haunting of Rachel Harroway delivered a heart-pounding case & paranormal woo-woo Click To Tweet
Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

40 Responses to “The Haunting of Rachel Harroway J.S. Donovan”

  1. Tyler H Jolley

    No bio or pics? That adds a even deeper layer of creep! But seriously, I have a friend who had a contract with one of the big five. She was fed up with her treatment, but didn’t want to be in breech of contract. So now she writes under a pen name and has no pics, bio, cons or book signings. I wonder if it’s the same sort of situation?

  2. Bookworm Brandee

    This does sound like a fun, if creepy, series and I love the gift of sight being used as part of the paranormal element. 🙂 It is a little extra creepy that the author doesn’t seem to exist though…

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)