The Nightwalker by Sebastian Fitzek

January 29th, 2016 kimbacaffeinate Review 57 Comments

29th Jan
The Nightwalker by Sebastian Fitzek
The Nightwalker
by Sebastian Fitzek
Published by: Audible
Narrator: Robert Glenister
Genres: Thriller
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon | Audible
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

As a young man, Leon Nader suffered from insomnia. As a nightwalker, he even turned to violence during his nocturnal excursions and had psychiatric treatment for his condition. Eventually he was convinced he had been cured - but one day, years later, Leon's wife disappears from their flat under mysterious circumstances. Could it be that his illness has broken out again? In order to find out how he behaves in his sleep, Leon fits a movement-activated camera to his forehead - and when he looks at the video the next morning he makes a discovery that bursts the borders of his imagination. His nocturnal personality goes through a door that is totally unknown to him and descends into the darkness....

mystery SUSPENSE thriller twisted WTF?

I was totally in the mood for a good thriller and selected, The Nightwalker by Sebastian Fitzek, narrated by Robert Glenister. Both men were new to me, but the synopsis drew me in and I was delighted with this creeptastically twisted tale.

From the synopsis, we know that Leon Nader suffered from insomnia as a child and sought treatment. Now he is a well-adjusted adult who has put the past behind him. That is until he and his wife move into a new flat, the perfect flat and things begin to fall apart. After a disturbing incident, his wife disappears. The tale that follows was deliciously dark and twisted as Leon fits a motion-activated camera on his head.

Fitzek slowly build up the suspense, and in Leon, he gave us an unreliable narrator. I love unreliable narrators and navigating the murky waters of their thoughts. The Nightwalker grabbed me from the very first chapter. I needed to know what happen. Was Leon to blame? Is he in fact sleepwalking again?  The deeper Fitzek took me into this dark story the more I had to listen. Just when I thought I had things figured out, we navigated around a corner and I was uncertain again. I love when a story can thrill me like that.

Leon was likable enough and while there are secondary characters present, they are only fleshed out as far as Leon’s thoughts and perceptions of them. I thought this was clever. Someone from Leon’s past provides clues that had Leon and the reader spinning.

At times, the tale was very dark and there are moments of violence. What made things interesting is that the reader is not sure if things actually happen or if Leon is dreaming/imagining them. Maybe he is stark raving mad! Usually, I can see a plot twist coming, but I was surprised when we reached the climactic reveal. The ending was quite the thrill and left me with a shiver.

The narrator Robert Glenister did a wonderful job of bringing Leon to life, and taking him through the story. Through his tones, he amplified Leon’s uncertainty, anxiety and anxiousness. It was brilliant really.

The Nightwalker is perfect for those who crave a dark thriller. Fans of You, Mara Deyer, and The Night Strangers will find this has similar tones.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/244275819″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

About Sebastian Fitzek

Sebastian Fitzek

Sebastian Fitzek was born in Berlin in 1971. After going to law school and being promoted to LL.D., he decided against a juridical profession for a creative occupation in the media. After the traineeship at a private radio station he switched to the competition as head of entertainment and became chief editor later on, thereafter becoming an independent executive consultant and format developer for numerous media companies in Europe. He lives in Berlin and is currently working in the programme management of a major capital radio station.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

57 Responses to “The Nightwalker by Sebastian Fitzek”

  1. Jenny

    Oh this sounds good Kim! I really love an unreliable narrator too, and I love that we have to guess as we read as to whether Leon is sleepwalking or dreaming the things that happen. Plus, I’m all for plot twists, so I’m excited that this one ends as strongly as it starts:)

  2. Wattle

    Robert Glenister narrates audiobooks? Oh gosh he narrates the Robert Galbraith books too, that’s exciting. He’s been in a few TV shows I’ve watched and I’m weirdly excited by this haha there’s nothing like a familiar voice reading audiobooks to you (is that weird? I think it might be).

    This sounds like a really interesting thriller, I love the sound of the synopsis, unreliable narrators are perfect for dark stories like this 🙂

  3. Kristin

    This reminds me of that Prodigy video “Smack my Bitch Up” from forever ago where it’s filmed entirely from the person’s POV and you watch as the person goes around pretty much on crime spree of terror and abuse and then the surprise at the end when they look in the mirror and you’re like – HOLY CRAP!

    Scary enough, I think my mom would love this book! 😀 Great review!!

  4. Sophia Rose

    My mom walked in her sleep a lot and even out of the house and then my best friend in college was the same way. It was weird tracking them. They don’t move the same or have the same expressions when they are sleepwalking. So yeah, a thriller based on it would definitely be spinetingling.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I am taking some meds to deal with my Dad’s death and last week I woke up to discover I had gotten up in the middle of the night and ate. Ironically I ate something I do not even like. Thankfully it wasn’t something like laundry detergent. We adjusted meds..LOL

  5. Rita

    Lol, wow, what a premise! That author certainly has something original going on here!