The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

February 16th, 2015 Kimberly Review 64 Comments

16th Feb
The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
The Conspiracy of Us
by Maggie Hall
Length: 9 hrs and 34 mins
Genres: Mystery, Thriller
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon | Audible
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter ..Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead. To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family--but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with.

Secret societies, mysteries prophecies, inner circles and a girl destine to change the world. The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall was a compelling audio listen with its Da Vinci Code vibe and forbidden romance. The Conspiracy of Us was suspenseful and action-packed as Avery West finds herself searching for answers to an ancient prophecy.

Annnd I am going to say it right now, there is the possibility of a love triangle, a forbidden romance of sorts develops and sides will be drawn. Friends who had read this have already begun to pick sides. While, I have a favorite I was equally drawn into the Circle, its prophecies and Avery’s role in the outcome.

The setting takes us from the United States, to Paris and Istanbul as we unlock clues. The tale is as extravagant as it is dark. Avery is an unsuspecting seventeen-year-old girl who finds herself caught up in political intrigue, secret societies and quests for power. While some of the events are over the top, as a reader I was intrigued enough to let go and found myself caught up in the quest.

Avery is a strong heroine, and the author does an outstanding job of allowing us to get a sense of her personality prior to this maddening adventure. She handles it well, even as there are moments where she falters. Her actions, feelings and motives rang true allowing me to root for her.

Let us talk about the boys. Both are part of the Circle. Jack is the first to meet Avery and has been sent to retrieve her. He is mysterious, soft spoken and protective by nature. Stellan, on the other hand is darker, demanding and does not sugar coat things. We see another side a vulnerable side that intrigues  me. Hall managed to make both appealing and I am eager to learn more. Avery is falling for one of them but their romance would be forbidden and a romance with the other might directly impact the prophecy…the tension was delicious.

Hall slowly revealed the world to us as Avery learned things leaving me filled with questions. A kidnapping propels Avery into the quest, as does her secret. The Circle itself is powerful and fascinating, creating this political game of intrigue and power struggles. Like Dan Brown’s stories, it is over the top, steeped in history and shrouded in religious aspects. I love when these things are weaved into mystery thrillers because no matter how far-fetched those little tid-bits of history make it feel genuine.

The Conspiracy of Us is the first in an untitled trilogy scheduled for yearly installments. Julia Whelan did an excellent job with the narration from the boy’s accents to Avery’s personality. At just under ten hours, the Conspiracy of Us works wonderfully on audio. The ending cuts of at a nice place, leaving us anxious for the next installment. I unplugged satisfied and excited for more. It was fun seeing this caliber of mystery thriller in the young adult genre.

About Maggie Hall

Maggie Hall is a traveling, decorating, champagne-drinking, USC-football-watching YA author. She is currently traveling the world for an indefinite amount of time with her husband, which means right at this moment, she might be on a beach in Thailand, drinking wine in Paris, or anywhere in between.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat...Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

64 Responses to “The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall”

  1. Melliane

    I wasn’t so sure at first so I didn’t ask for it. In the end the reviews are quite different so I don’t know. Not sure I’ll read it for now but I’m glad you had a good time with it! thanks for the review.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      If you like Dan Brown type reads or National Treasure then I think this will appeal.

  2. Cynthia

    Great review! I just won this book in a giveaway. Your review makes me even more excited to read it. 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Congrats, enjoy Cynthia. I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

  3. Christy

    I really want to read this one. I’m not too thrilled about the possibility of a love triangle, but if it’s done right, it doesn’t bother me as bad.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      The triangle is interesting especially in how it relates to the plot.

  4. Valeria

    I’m glad to learnt his book works good as an audiobook. I’m really excited about it, and I definitely want to give it a try. Sounds like maybe I’ll take the audio option.

  5. Nick

    Glad you liked this, Kim! I loved the audiobook as well. 🙂 Julia Whelan is a fabulous narrator. I wanted more out of the characters, but let’s be honest, I wasn’t reading this book for the characters. I was reading it to be entertained and entertained I was!
    Lovely review, Kim!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Agreed, and I am hoping we see them (particularly the boys) fleshed out more, but this was entertaining

  6. Jenny

    Sign me up for this Kim! I love the sound of it, and normally I would run away screaming at the mention of a love triangle, but the way you describe this one makes me think it will work for me. Yes to tension and forbidden romance!!!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      The triangle is different, especially in how it relates to the plot..not your typical triangle at all

  7. Katherine

    I’ve been wanting to read Ally Carter’s books and this one sounds amazing as well! I love all the glamour and intrigue as well as the mysterious characters. I like that it’s a start to a trilogy as well. Adding this one to my TBR!

  8. Cat

    This is the first review I’ve seen for this story. I’ve been looking for a new audio book to listen to so I may give this one a try. Glad you enjoyed it!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It was something a little different Cat, and makes for a good listen

  9. Sarah

    Secret societies, eh? I am very intrigued. I am really digging all the extravagant world travel. Might have to find me a copy!

  10. Lily

    So happy you found yourself enjoying this one Kim! I definitely liked this one too but I think you enjoyed it out of both of us. I’ m beginning to think that this one may have been more entertaining on audio since I’ve only heard good things from all the audio book listeners. Readers have been more mixed.
    I’m not too worried about the love triangle. I think Maggie Hall is aiming to make us think one might develop but the way things are going I think it’s pretty clear who belongs with who. Lovey review Kim 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Oh I agree about that too Lily, but it made for some intrigue and of course I have a fav. I agree this was made for audio and probably notched up my enjoyment.

  11. kindlemom1

    I have been trying to resist this but I don’t think I am going to be able to now Kim, especially if you liked it so much. Darn it! 😛

  12. Ramona

    I love strong heroines and delicious tension! Yay for The Conspiracy of Us, which you made it so very appealing through this beautiful review… Also, I see you have changed the font on the blog. It looks good, but I think the old one was even better? Not sure…

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Go audio Heidi, most folks rated higher and enjoyed it more overall who listened

  13. Lauren

    Glad to hear you enjoyed this one on audio! It seems like the perfect kind of story for an audiobook. I love listening to mysteries and thrillers on audio, and Julia Whelan is an amazing narrator. I’ll have to check this one out. Lovely review!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I think those of us who went with audio liked it more, and sometimes that happens.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yeah fans of his and movies like National Treasure will like the vibe here

  14. Anna (Cool Girls Read Too)

    Ahhh, this book sounds absolutely amazing! I love it. And I love love-triangles (guilty pleasure hehe). I’m definitely adding this to my TBR list, thanks for sharing! 😀

  15. Bookworm Brandee

    I will absolutely be picking up this one! I love the intrigue and foreign locations…forbidden love and political power struggles. It seems like something that’s sorely missing from the YA genre. Great review, Kimba. Thanks for putting it on my radar.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I can take them or leave them but this one is unique, and not a full triangle..I would say more but spoiler darling 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      thanks Alreem I really enjoyed the audio and look forward to more

  16. JennRenee

    I truly enjoyed this read. I had my doubts going into it. Not sure why I just didn’t know what to expect. It didn’t take me long to get totally engrossed. I love how the story slowly unraveled clue after clue. and that ending!!!! loved it.

  17. Sharon

    I’ve seen this one floating around for a while and have thought it would be something I’d enjoy. I don’t mind a story that has a love triangle. Glad you liked it.

  18. Tressa

    This is one I didn’t get an ARC for and haven’t worked into my schedule. It’s high on my tbr though and I’m planning on reading it, especially after seeing how much you liked it. 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I loved the audio..these quest type books are ones I always enjoy

  19. Ro

    I love Dan Brown and conspiracy theories so this sounds like something I’m going to have to grab. Character development sounds pretty awesome as well. Thanks for passing on this new to me author and hope your Friday is as Fantastic as you are! Hugs…

  20. Lisa

    I enjoyed this audio too! For some reason I’m having difficulty reviewing it though, I’m not sure why. I think because I read it a couple of weeks ago and it didn’t really stick with me and I’m having trouble remembering what happened.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I try and write my reviews within 48 hours. I can still remember details even though it has been a month now..but find my reviews are better the sooner I do it.