Out of Line by Jen McLaughlin

September 27th, 2013 kimbacaffeinate Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review 46 Comments

27th Sep
Out of Line by Jen McLaughlin
Out of Line
by Jen McLaughlin
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: Tour
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Desperate to break free… I've spent my entire life under my father’s thumb, but now I'm finally free to make my own choices. When my roommate dragged me to my first college party, I met Finn Coram and my life turned inside out. He knows how to break the rules and is everything I never knew I wanted. A Marine by day and surfer by night, he pushes me away even as our attraction brings us closer. Now I am finally free to do whatever I want. I know what I want. I choose Finn. Trying to play by the rules...I always follow orders. My job, my life, depends on it. I thought this job would be easy, all the rules were made crystal clear, but when I met Carrie Wallington, everything got muddy. She's a rule I know I shouldn't break, but damn if I don’t inch closer to the breaking point each time I see her. I’m ready to step out of line. And even worse? I’m living a lie. They say the truth will set you free, but in my case… The truth will cost me everything.

I  was in the mood for a good romance when I began Out of Line by Jen McLaughlin. From the characters to the forbidden romance I became completely caught up in this tale. Wait till you meet Finn! *swoons* Three word review: passionate, romantic and totally hot!

Carrie Wallington is finally out from her parent’s over-protective thumb and enjoying anonymity for the first time. She is attending college off the coast of California and ready to embrace life. Finn Coram is a Marine on an assignment detail and happy to be back at the beach. Finn’s career hinges on this assignment being successful, and he needs to follow the rules. When Finn and Carrie meet, the sparks fly but Finn has a job to do. The tale that unfolds was sweet, filled with secrets and totally kept me on the edge of my seat.

The tale is told from dual POVs and switches with each chapter. It is a concept I have come to love in contemporary romances. Getting inside the character’s head and being privy to what the other does not know makes me connect with them. Carrie is sweet,caring, and determined. She is the type of young woman any parent would be proud of. She is also attracted to edgier men and isn’t looking for a Wall Street suit and tie kind of guy. Her Daddy would be displeased. Finn with his well honed bod, tats and motorcycle thrill her. Finn looks like a bad boy, but there is so much heart to this young man. He is a Marine, discipline is his middle name, but Carrie has him breaking all the rules. I love that he is a romantic and sensitive. I completely melted; seriously we are talking puddle on the floor!

Out of Line is a tale of forbidden love, and Jen McLaughlin weaved some clever twists into this fast paced, smoking hot, tale. The characters were fleshed out, and you felt their emotions. The romance has moments of tenderness, and periods of intense heat that curled my toes. The characters and the relationship felt genuine allowing me to immerse myself in their story. Through her characters, and secondary characters the author touched on social ladders, charity and deception.  The tale ebbed and flowed with heated moments and setbacks. My heart traveled right along with it as I experienced the characters emotions. I loved how genuine and raw the emotions felt, the firsts, and the oh-la-la toe moments. We were privy to Finn’s secret from the beginning  leaving us to worry how Carrie would react. Of course none of it unfolded as Finn planned. The ending brought things together that is until the author did something evil! In the last few paragraphs she hinted at something. Gah!  All I can say is I need book two!

Fans of Beautiful Disaster, Hopeless and Ten Tiny Breathes should enjoy Out of Line.  The next book is expected to release in 2014 and I will be stalking the author’s website for deets.

Four cups of coffee out of five
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About the Author

Jen McLaughlin is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. She writes steamy New Adult books for the young and young at heart. Her first release, Out of Line, came out September 2013. She also writes bestselling Contemporary Romance under the pen name Diane Alberts. Since receiving her first contract offer under the pen name Diane Alberts, she has yet to stop writing. She is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency. Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, a cat, and a Senegal parrot. In the rare moments when she’s not writing, she can usually be found hunched over one knitting project or another. Her goal is to write so many well-crafted romance books that even a non-romance reader will know her name.

Website|Facebook|Twitter|Goodreads

Sponsored Rafflecopter Giveaway

Even though the book was just released, it is already zooming up the charts on Amazon and B&N. To celebrate this, Jen is offering a one-of-a-kind prize for a lucky reader! Anyone who helps spread the word about OUT OF LINE (through tweets, facebook messages, leaving a review, etc.) gets entered to win 30 pages of the manuscript, which include editing marks and special never-before-seen notes from Jen! You will have all the deets on what Jen changed, deleted scenes, and special extras.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Tour 

About Jen McLaughlin

Jen McLaughlin

Jen McLaughlin is the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of sexy books with Penguin Random House. Under her pen name, Diane Alberts, she is also a USA TODAY bestselling author of Contemporary Romance with Entangled Publishing. Her first release as Jen McLaughlin, Out of Line, hit the New York Times, USA TODAY and Wall Street Journal lists. She was mentioned in Forbes alongside E. L. James as one of the breakout independent authors to dominate the bestselling lists. She is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency. Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal-clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, and three cats. Her goal is to write so many well-crafted romance books that even a non-romance reader will know her name.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

46 Responses to “Out of Line by Jen McLaughlin”

  1. Tanja

    I’m still in awe whenever I see this giveaway. pretty unique if you ask me.
    Anyhow this seems like a quite interesting read. Finn is someone I’d love to meet but it seems to me you’re keeping him for yourself. Anyhow I’m glad you enjoyed this story. Great review 🙂

    Tanja recently posted: Ghost Hand by Ripley Patton
    • kimbacaffeinate

      I agree it is a unique giveaway and something a book lover will cherish 🙂

  2. Braine Talk Supe

    I love the exposure of the cover art! And Diane Alberts is such a darling 🙂

    Dual POV’s is something I love in novels. I don’t like being left out, I want to know EVERYTHING down to their last meal, shower etc. ok maybe that’s excessive but I want to get in everyone head’s, see their motives for the things they do and say.

  3. Andrea

    The premise of this sounds great, but the reviews have been sort of conflicting. Thanks for the helpful review!

    Andrea recently posted:
    • kimbacaffeinate

      Well, I am a sucker for a military man, and it’s NA, so I expected insta-love or attraction and had fun reading it 🙂

  4. Chelsea

    Great review! I definitely loved Finn 🙂 I felt like their romance moved a little too fast for me but I had just read an insane amount of insta-love books and I think that jaded me. The ending definitely caught me off guard and book 2 is needed ASAP! I also love the dual POV in contemporaries because I like knowing what both characters are thinking. I prefer this over 2 books of the same story.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yeah, there was a little insta-love or attraction, but I think she handled it well and I at least believed in the couple.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Finn was a cutie and well he wears a uniform..I am such a sucker for them! Happy Weekend!

  5. Terrie Fulk

    I love the cover. It is romantic. I love stories about the Marines. They know how to treat a girl and make her feel special.

  6. Kimberly

    Great review, I’ve been flirting with the idea of buying this one from Amazon and I think I might finally bite the bullet. Loved Beautiful Disaster and if you say its for fans of it I’m totally in.

    Kimberly recently posted:
    • kimbacaffeinate

      I have a think for military men, LOL and I do think if you liked BD you will enjoy this 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      :snort: yep, Karen just when I was all happy it was like, “what? What news? “…and of course we won’t find out till book two but it does have me excited for the next release. It is kind of a love/hate relationship those cliffhangers.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It wasn’t bad Sharon it just left us wondering what will happen next.

  7. Belle Read

    This is my first time seeing this one. I have come to like the dual POV’s as well. It gives a lot of insight to the characters.

    Belle Read recently posted: Weekly Recap
    • kimbacaffeinate

      As long as the voices are unique I enjoy multiple povs but they work best in contemporary romance. Finn, marine..yum!