The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

January 13th, 2021 Kimberly Review 14 Comments

13th Jan
The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins
The Wife Upstairs
by Rachel Hawkins
Narrator: Emily Shaffer, Kirby Heyborne, Lauren Fortgang
Genres: Southern Gothic, Thriller
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Narration: 5 cups Speed: 1.3x

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, 'THE WIFE UPSTAIRS' pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates - a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

But her luck changes when she meets Eddie­ Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates’ most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can’t help but see an opportunity in Eddie - not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she’s always yearned for.

Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie’s heart before her past - or his - catches up to her?

thriller Southern SUSPENSE twisted

The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins delivered a Jane Eyre retelling that was fresh, twisted and addictive.

What a great audiobook with unique characters, twists and a stellar narration. Emily Shaffer, Kirby Heyborne, and Lauren Fortgang narrate as we get to know the key characters in this southern gothic thriller.

The tale is told from three POVs. First, we have Jane, a dog walker for the rich who has recently moved to Birmingham, Alabama. Jane is quirky, running from her past and looking to better her social standing. I found her fascinating, manipulative, and dysfunctional. She walks dogs in Thornfield Estates where she meets Eddie, a charming widower who is seeking a committed relationship.

Eddie’s wife Bea, and her best friend Blanche, died in a boating accident a year ago and they never recovered their bodies.

As Eddie and Jane’s relationship grows, Jane has questions surrounding the death of Bea and Blanche. As listeners, we learn about them alongside Jane and through Eddie.

Eddie seems to follow Jane and the intensity of the relationship felt off… but I will let you discover all the quirks and twists for yourself.

Well paced and addictive, I consumed this in just a few sittings. This was my first experience with Hawkins, but I will go back for more.

The story worked perfectly on audio, from the changing POVs to the conversations. The flow was smooth and the build-up pulls the listener in. I loved the use of multiple narrators. Emily Shaffer, Kirby Heyborne, and Lauren Fortgang all added to the tone of the tale. 

Grab your headphones! The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins delivered a Jane Eyre retelling that was fresh, twisted and addictive. #audiobook #NewRelease #Thriller Click To Tweet

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

14 Responses to “The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins”

  1. Lover of Romance

    I definitely have a weakness for those addictive type of stories, even if there were aspects that felt a bit off, I am fascinated by your review of this one. Glad you enjoyed it so well.

    Great review.