From Alaska with Love by Ally James

March 3rd, 2020 Kimberly Review 18 Comments

3rd Mar
From Alaska with Love by Ally James
From Alaska with Love
by Ally James
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: Publisher
Purchase*: Amazon *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Heat Level: One FlameOne FlameOne Flame

A soldier has six weeks to convince the only woman he has ever longed for to take a chance on life with him in Alaska....

Sara's letters were the only bright spot during Gabe's devastating tour in Iraq. With each new correspondence he fell harder, needed her more, wanted to be with her. Now, after initially rejecting his offer to meet, she's shown up at the door of his isolated cabin in Alaska looking for...what? Gabe's not sure what made Sara change her mind, but he knows he never wants to let her go.

Major Gabe Randall is everything Sara Ryan wants but nothing she feels she deserves. A modern-day spinster, Sara hides behind family obligations and the safe, quiet life she's resigned herself to living. But secretly, even though she may have stretched the truth about who she is in her letters to him, she wants Gabe. Will he still want her when he discovers the real woman behind the pen?

Once they meet, Gabe asks her for six weeks in Alaska. Six weeks to spend getting to know each other, and then she'll have to decide whether they are better together or apart.

Chick-lit MansBestFriend Military ROMANCE

From Alaska with Love by Ally James delivered a heart-felt across the miles relationships with character development, an adorable dog and an awkward romance that will make you laugh and swoon.

I am a sucker for military romances, romances with pets and Alaskan settings and From Alaska with Love delivered all of those elements and more. An awkward hero, an insecure heroine, an overbearing family and a dog that will melt your heart.

Sara took over watching her niece when her company downsized and slipped into handling her mother’s finances when her father passed. You might say she is the glue that hold everyone together. She is sweet, lonely, unsure of what the future holds and genuinely a good person. Which is why she sends an Easter card to a soldier stationed overseas.

Major Gabe Randall is a lifer. He has never had a serious relationship but hopes to eventually settle with his dog, Trouble in Alaska. He never takes part or takes letters sent to the troops; preferring to give them to his men. A hold up with mail created an excess he receives Sara’s letter.

Sara thinking to never meet the soldier offers him a glimpse of her life in a humorous way. Gabe responds via email. They soon begin exchanging emails. I loved these awkward exchanges and getting inside their heads. Before you know it, they move to text, and finally video chats. Gabe makes arrangements for Sara to fly out to Alaska for the holidays with him….only Sara doesn’t know how to tell her family. The tale that unfolds made me laugh even as I wanted to slap sense into a few characters.

The romance was a slow-build and low on heat. In fact, I almost wondered if that first kiss would ever happen. The story slowed and struggled before kicking into high gear and I admit to wanting to Gibbs slap (NCIS) both of them. It felt right though and fit the characters and their personalities. The drama was kept low and focused on the character growth.

A sweet romance for fans of You’ve Got Mail, From Alaska with Love is the perfect romance for a Sunday afternoon by the fire.

From Alaska with Love by Ally James delivered humor, romance and a You've Got Mail type feel. #Romance Click To Tweet

About Ally James

Ally James

Ally James is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Danvers novels, written under the name Sydney Landon.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw and Howler. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Find @kimbacaffeinate on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

18 Responses to “From Alaska with Love by Ally James”

  1. Olivia Roach

    I have read a few military romances but it has been a while since I have read one so I need to return to the genre again. It sounds like this was a sweet romance and emotional at times. Taking a chance on a life you have to move for can be a big leap to make!

    Olivia Roach recently posted: Shifting Sands [Book Review]
  2. Sam@wlabb

    Hmm, I had my eye on this one, because I like epistolary novels, and the set up intrigued me. Not sure if I would be patient enough to wait for the romance to kick in.

  3. Ashley Montgomery

    I’m a sucker for a military romance myself and am really looking forward to this one. I love the Gibbs reference too!

  4. Ailyn Koay

    they probably did need that Gibbs slap, but no one slaps a Major I think… but if Sara does it.. perhaps it will speed things along?