Emancipation by Jo Michaels

January 14th, 2020 Kimberly Review 8 Comments

14th Jan
Emancipation by Jo Michaels
Emancipation
by Jo Michaels
Series: Pen Pals and Serial Killers #1
Narrator: Norman Gilligan
Length: 7 hours and 15 minutes
Genres: Psychological Thriller
Source: Purchase
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Narration: 5 cups Speed: 1.3x

Tobias Butler has been sitting on death row since being sentenced for a gruesome murder in 2007. Bored out of his mind, he decided to apply to the online pen pal program in 2012. It's a pleasant distraction—nothing more, nothing less—for three years, until he's contacted by a beautiful, smart young lawyer named Jess. She's convinced he's innocent and wants to see him freed. As they organize their attack on the judicial system, he wonders how she plans to get his conviction overturned—because he's guilty, and he knows it. Jess is desperate to release him—and he's desperate to feel his hands squeeze the life out of her once she does.

SUSPENSE twisted UNIQUE WTF?

Emancipation written by Jo Michaels and narrated by Norman Gilligan is the first in the Pen Pals and Serial Killers series. This psychological thriller delivered a unique, dark, twisted tale that held me captive even as I squirmed.

The tale is told from the perspective of Tobias Butler; a serial killer who is sitting on death row for the gruesome murder of an entire family in 2007. Make no mistake Tobias did it, spend a little time in his head and that becomes perfectly clear. But he’s bored and joins a pen pal exchange. Here he meets a young, beautiful lawyer named Jess who believes him innocent.

The tale that unfolds is twisted as Tobias plays this young woman. I sat on the edge of my seat waiting for the outcome. Brilliant, dark, refreshing and twisted Jo Michaels took me on one heck of a ride.

This is not for the feint of heart. It is dark, edgy and there are triggers everywhere. View Spoiler » It was clever and well written.

Norman Gilligan was the perfect voice for Tobias. He captured his thoughts, his charismatic ways and gave the character an authenticity as the story unfolded.

I needed a drink after this ended, and a chat with the gal who recommended this dark, twisted tale to me. Then I grabbed Provocation, the next standalone audiobook in the series! 🤣

Fans of Dexter, In the Company of Killers, and The Taker will devour this.

Emancipation by Jo Michaels Narrated by Norman Gilligan delivered a chilling psychological thriller #audiobook #PenPalsandSerialKillers Click To Tweet

Audio sample: https://samples.audible.com/bk/cher/000165/bk_cher_000165_sample.mp3

About Jo Michaels

Jo Michaels

Jo Michaels loves writing novels that make readers gasp in horror, surprise, and disbelief. While her browser search history has probably landed her on a list somewhere, she still dives into every plot with gusto, hoping “the man” will realize she’s a writer and not a psychopath about to go on a rampage. Her favorite pastimes are reading, watching Investigation Discovery, and helping other authors realize their true potential through mentoring. She’s penned the award-winning Pen Pals and Serial Killers series and the best-selling educational book for children, Writing Prompts for Kids, which has rocketed the kids that use it into several awards of their own. Most of Jo’s books feature the places she’s lived: Louisiana, Tennessee, and Georgia. That’s given her a special amount of insight to what makes those locations tick. Her works are immersive and twisty, and she wouldn’t want it any other way.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw and Howler. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Find @kimbacaffeinate on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

8 Responses to “Emancipation by Jo Michaels”

  1. Olivia Roach

    Even the cover is oozing intensity… from the perspective of the serial killer? I think I might struggle with that a bit as it is so heads on and in your face with their plans and everything they end up doing… This one is just a maybe for the reason of maybe I can’t take it!

    Olivia Roach recently posted: In Search Of Us [Book Review]