Tempting Bella by Diana Quincy

November 12th, 2013 kimbacaffeinate Review 52 Comments

12th Nov
Tempting Bella by Diana Quincy
Tempting Bella
by Diana Quincy
Series: Accidental Peers #2
Published by: Entangled
Genres: Historical Romance
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Mirabella can hardly remember the man she married as a girl. And it’s just as well. She feels nothing but contempt for the man who wed her for her fortune and promptly forgot she existed. The ton may call him “The Saint” but Bella knows better. Forced to marry as a teen to rescue his family from certain ruin, Sebastian has been apart from his child bride since their wedding day. When he encounters an enchanting impish beauty at the opera, he’s is thrilled to find she is none other than his long-ago bride and he is more than ready to make her his wife in truth. Too bad the beguiling beauty has no intention of coming meekly to the marriage bed.

I love arranged marriage tropes and Diana Quincy offered up a most unusual one in Tempting Bella the second book in the Accidental Peers series. While I did not read Seducing Charlotte the first book, each works as a standalone. With fleshed out characters, intriguing secondary characters and a unique arrangement I became completely caught up in the tale. Mini review: intriguing, romantic, witty and refreshing.

A marriage arranged between the Duke of Wentworth and Cyrus Stanhope to pay off a gambling debt. The Duke marries off his thirteen year old daughter, Mirabella Wentworth to the 3rd son of Stanhope, Sebastian who is barely nineteen. Deeds are drawn up, and the marriage will be consummated when Mirabella comes of age. Sebastian sets off to learn his duties and run the estates, while Mirabella finishes school and then with his permission tours the world. It is six years before they meet again, and the tale that unfolds was positively delightful with strong feisty characters and intrigue.

Mirabella, or Bella is a very smart woman, who learns the running of estates while abroad and is keen on keeping the duchy secure. A Duchess by birth, she is determined to make sure her husband doesn’t run her estates into the ground. She is head strong, opinionated and doesn’t fully understand the circumstances behind her arranged marriage. Sebastian is a good man, noble and determined to restore the dukedom coiffures to their former glory. He feels bad for Bella and hasn’t forced her to return. For the first time a young woman he meets stirs his needs and he realizes he must call his wife home. I so enjoyed the banter and cat and mouse game between these two. I laughed, sighed and wanted to knock them over the head. Secondary characters from an old mistress to Bella’s wayward friends added to the drama and kept me flipping the pages.

Tempting Bella was a delightful tale, and Quincy offered a different twist to the arranged marriage trope. She weaved in drama, and suspense with clever little twists that kept me on the edge. The sexual tension between Sebastian and Bella was delicious. They bickered, and Bella’s independent streak led to some humorous situations and life lessons. I loved the growth we saw from them, and the depth Quincy brought to the characters. Devilishly handsome and anal about order, Sebastian, was a pleasure to read about. I loved how Bella twisted him about, and the more we learned about him, the harder I fell. This was positively delightful!

Fans of historical romance with strong, opinionated and flawed characters will love the tale that unfolds in Tempting Bella. Compromising Willa the third book is due out December of 2013, and the fourth book, Engaging the Earl is expected to release in 2014. I am looking forward to reading them.

Four and half cups of coffee out of five
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Diana Quincy

Diana Quincy

Diana Quincy is an award-winning former television journalist who decided she’d rather make up stories where a happy ending is always guaranteed. Fans of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas and Sabrina Jeffries will love Diana’s Regency world of dashing dukes, irresistible rogues and the headstrong, determined women who capture their hearts. New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes says SEDUCING CHARLOTTE is “Sweet, steamy, and thoroughly enjoyable…Equal parts action, passion and fun.” Growing up as a foreign service brat, Diana lived in many countries and is now settled in Virginia with her husband and two sons. When not bent over her laptop or trying to keep up with laundry, she enjoys reading, spending time with her family and dreams of traveling much more than her current schedule (and budget) allows.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

52 Responses to “Tempting Bella by Diana Quincy”

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I was just visiting you..hehehe. Thanks Sam this was delightful.

  1. Farrah

    I totally loved this book, too :)I loved the dynamics of Sebastian and Bella’s relationship, even though I sometimes wanted to whack some sense into both of them. Can’t wait to read the next books in this series!

    Farrah recently posted: Alienated by Melissa Landers
    • kimbacaffeinate

      *blushes* Well, thank you! I am looking forward to book three 🙂

  2. Jenny

    This definitely sounds like something I would love Kim! I love arranged marriage setups in historical romances, and I of course adore headstrong independent women too, so this certainly has a lot going for it in the “things I enjoy” department. Thanks for the fantastic recommendation!

    Jenny recently posted:
    • kimbacaffeinate

      I loved this book, it is one of my favorites this year..all the right elements 🙂

  3. Giselle

    Arranged marriages always fascinate me. Some people are all for it and couples actually stay married – faithfully – well from what I hear anyways but I haven’t researched it lol. Anyways, Sebastian and Bella’s relationships sounds like it has great chemistry – and twists you say? Yes please! 😀

    • kimbacaffeinate

      We actually know a couple from India whose marriage was arranged when he was five and she was four. They married when he was 24 and have been married for over 15 years and have two beautiful children.

  4. Maja (The Nocturnal Library)

    Oh, wow, this isn’t the type of read I would normally pick up, but you described it so wonderfully! Perhaps the genre change will do me good. In any case, I’m adding it to my tbr on GoodReads, hoping I’ll find the time to read it soon.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It is good to mix things up, and this was such a pleasure to read

    • kimbacaffeinate

      The cover is lovely and yes I like that they are standalone yet still part of a series.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I haven’t read one of Jude’s books in ages, but this was wonderfully delicious.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      thanks Lauren, this was one of my favorite reads this year 🙂

  5. Fahima

    Oooh I LOVE arranged marriage tropes too!! I dont know why, but they just seem more romantic to me 🙂 Is that weird?

    Awesome review, Kimba! I always get great historical recs from your blog 🙂

    Fahima recently posted:
    • kimbacaffeinate

      I totally find them to be more romantic, and sometimes a little more witty too. So glad I am feeding your HR addiction 🙂