🎧 The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore and Bar by Seana Kelly

July 8th, 2021 Kimberly Review 7 Comments

8th Jul
The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore and Bar

I was excited to jump into the first audiobook in the Sam Quinn urban fantasy series set in San Francisco. A were who owns a combination bar and bookstore with underwater views…. heck yes. Come meet Sam Quinn and see why I enjoyed The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore & Bar by Seana Kelly.

🎧 The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore and Bar by Seana Kelly
The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore and Bar
by Seana Kelly
Series: Sam Quinn #1
Narrator: Samantha Desz
Length: 9 hours and 39 minutes
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Source: Publisher
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Narration: 5 cups Speed: 1.3x

Welcome to The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore and Bar. I'm Sam Quinn, the werewolf book nerd in charge. I run my business by one simple rule: Everyone needs a good book and a stiff drink, be they vampire, wicche, demon, or fae. No wolves, though. Ever.

I serve the supernatural community of San Francisco. We've been having some problems lately. Okay, I'm the one with the problems. The broken body of a female werewolf washed up on my doorstep. What makes sweat pool at the base of my spine, though, is realizing the scars she bears are identical to the ones I conceal. After hiding for years, I've been found.

A protection I've been relying on is gone. While my wolf traits are strengthening steadily, the loss also left my mind vulnerable to attack. Someone is ensnaring me in horrifying visions intended to kill. Clive, the sexy vampire Master of the City, has figured out how to pull me out, designating himself my personal bodyguard. He's grumpy about it, but that kiss is telling a different story. A change is taking place. It has to.

I'm a survivor. I'll fight fang and claw to protect myself and the ones I love. And let's face it - they have it coming.

howlinggood magical SUSPENSE urban

Our story begins in San Francisco at the Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore & Bar owned by Sam Quinn. The bar/bookstore is cut into the cliff and is partially submerged, providing underwater views of the Bay. Add in a smexy vampire named Clive and great supporting secondary characters and I was all in.

Sam has had a traumatic life. She lost her mother, has no pack, and was brutally attached. There are some triggers, so if you are sensitive to the traumas of sexual assault and physical abuse, tread lightly. Sam still suffers from PTSD but has built a life surrounded by books and good company. Her bar is fantastic. She lives on the premises and is respected by the paranormal community.

We soon learn something or someone is hunting Sam, and this led to an engaging first story that allowed us to learn about Sam, Clive and the world they live in. Of course the author sprinkled teasing tidbits that have me looking forward to the next audiobook.

This is perfect for fans of Ilona Andrews and Patricia Briggs. While not everything is clear about the world, we glimpse enough to want more. I loved the different supernaturals from water creatures to witches. Sam can set wards and can feel when they break.. I am curious to see what else she can do.

Book lovers keep an eye out for nods to famous works. You may stumble upon some Jane Austen references.

Samantha Desz narrates and enhanced the story. She captured Sam’s strength, fear and kickass personality. I loved the voices she provided for Clive and secondary characters. I hope Desz continues with the series and will look for other works she is involved in.

Amazon | Audible

The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore and Bar by Seana Kelly was a fantastic start to the #SamQuinn series. #audiobook #SamanthaDesz #UrbanFantasy Click To Tweet

About Seana Kelly

Seana Kelly

Seana Kelly lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband, two daughters, two dogs, and one fish. When she's not dodging her family, hiding in the garage and trying to write, she's working as a high school teacher-librarian. She's an avid reader and re-reader who misses her favorite characters when it's been too long between visits. She's represented by the delightful and effervescent Sarah E. Younger of the Nancy Yost Literary Agency

About Samantha Desz

Samantha Desz

Samantha Desz is a classically trained actor with extensive theater experience. She also is an experienced voice actor, working on a variety of long form voice-over projects. Samantha has a passion for learning about different cultures and lifestyles. She's lived around the US and in London, England, called New York City home for nearly twenty years, and is currently living in the Midwest.

caffeinated coffee cup divider

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

7 Responses to “🎧 The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore and Bar by Seana Kelly”