Hidden Fury by Marie Flanigan

March 26th, 2021 Kimberly Review 8 Comments

26th Mar
Hidden Fury by Marie Flanigan
Hidden Fury
by Marie Flanigan
Series: Annie Fitch Mysteries #2
Genres: Mystery
Source: Author
Purchase*: Amazon *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Heat Level: One FlameOne Flame

As a former cop turned private investigator, Annie Fitch hopes to never be in the line of fire again, so she’s expanded her business to include installing security systems. She’s thrilled to be hired by Preston Farr, a farmer with a vandalism problem on his family’s historic apple orchard and farm.

Preston’s roots in the community run deep. His family has held the same property in Leesburg, Virginia, since the 1700s. The two get to know each other over the course of the job. When Preston asks her out after the work is done, she accepts. After all, Annie’s on-again, off-again love affair with her childhood best friend, Ford, is currently off. Why should she mope until he decides it’s on again?

What she intended to be a fun, casual romp with Preston turns serious quickly when Annie’s newly installed security cameras record startling footage. Family secrets begin to unravel, echoing over two hundred years of heartache and violence

mystery ROMANCE

Hidden Fury is the second novel in the Annie Fitch mysteries by Marie Flanigan. A contracting job leads to more when vandalism turns deadly.

I’ve enjoyed getting to know Annie, a cop turned private investigator in the quaint town of Leesburg, Virginia, situated outside Washington D.C. with its farms, historical districts and rich history.

Some time has passed since book one. Annie’s shoulder is healing, and she’s taken a course on installing security systems for clients. Annie’s delighted when a referral from her best friend leads to a security install at the historic Farr Farms.

Annie has fond memories of picking berries and apples at the farm, now run by Preston Farr. He and his siblings inherited the ninety-five acres, but Preston lives in his grandparents’ old homestead and handles the day-to-day operations. It’s a job he loves, but someone is vandalizing equipment and defacing the barns.

Once the job is complete, Preston asks Annie out. With no contact from Ford, she takes a chance. Just as the two are getting to know each other, trouble comes.

I loved the mystery threads from the vandalism to the history of the farm and the slaves who once worked there. Flanigan wove in history, suspense, and family issues that kept me turning the pages.

I learned about soap making, apple grafting and enjoyed getting to know more about Annie and the people in her life. Her old partner becomes involved as Annie investigates the farm and an old abandoned church bordering the property.

Things are perfect between Preston & Annie, she still thinks about Ford who she hasn’t heard from and Gunner doesn’t seem pleased. The case wrapped up and I’ll be curious to see what new cases come Annie’s way.

Fans of Kendra Elliot, Lauren Carr, and Melinda Leigh will enjoy the Annie Fitch Mystery series.

A contracting job leads to more when vandalism turns deadly in Hidden Fury by Marie Flanigan #Mystery #NewRelease #AnnieFitchMysteries Click To Tweet
Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

8 Responses to “Hidden Fury by Marie Flanigan”

  1. Katherine

    This is the kind of book I’m really enjoying right now! I haven’t heard of this author but I think I need to get this book and the first book.