The Girl from Widow Hills by Megan Miranda

July 9th, 2020 Kimberly Review 30 Comments

9th Jul
The Girl from Widow Hills by Megan Miranda
The Girl from Widow Hills
by Megan Miranda
Narrator: Rebekkah Ross
Length: 9 hours and 57 minutes
Genres: Psychological Thriller
Source: Publisher
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Narration: 5 cups Speed: 1.3x

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Last House Guest—a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick—comes a riveting new novel of psychological suspense about a young woman plagued by night terrors after a childhood trauma who wakes one evening to find a corpse at her feet.

Everyone knows the story of “the girl from Widow Hills.”

Arden Maynor was just a child when she was swept away while sleepwalking during a terrifying rainstorm and went missing for days. Strangers and friends, neighbors and rescue workers, set up search parties and held vigils, praying for her safe return. Against all odds, she was found, alive, clinging to a storm drain. The girl from Widow Hills was a living miracle. Arden’s mother wrote a book. Fame followed. Fans and fan letters, creeps, and stalkers. And every year, the anniversary. It all became too much. As soon as she was old enough, Arden changed her name and disappeared from the public eye.

Now a young woman living hundreds of miles away, Arden goes by Olivia. She’s managed to stay off the radar for the last few years. But with the twentieth anniversary of her rescue approaching, the media will inevitably renew its interest in Arden. Where is she now? Soon Olivia feels like she’s being watched and begins sleepwalking again, like she did long ago, even waking outside her home. Until late one night she jolts awake in her yard. At her feet is the corpse of a man she knows—from her previous life, as Arden Maynor.

And now, the girl from Widow Hills is about to become the center of the story, once again, in this propulsive page-turner from suspense master Megan Miranda.

Audiobook MURDERMYSTERY SUSPENSE thriller

For me summertime screams psychological thrillers and mysteries. The Girl from Widow Hill by Megan Miranda was the perfect fix. Miranda delivered a suspense, twisted and clever-murder mystery.

Grab your earbuds, an iced coffee, and check out my thoughts on the audiobook narrated by Rebekkah Ross.

Ross is a new to me narrator, but she quickly captured our unreliable character’s voice and pulled me into this twisted tale.

The skinny latte…

Arden Maynor now known as Olivia was quite famous as a child when she slept walk one night and went missing for three days. The girl from Widow Hills put the small sleepy town on the map as the nation watched the search for her.

Olivia, now an adult, still doesn’t remember what happened during those missing days. She just remembers the endless dark and dampness, along with the excruciating pain of a broken shoulder.

A package with the personal effects of her dead mother brings back the memories and trigger a night walking episode. When she awakens to see a dead body in her yard it triggers doubt, raises questions and leads the listener on a nail-biting adventure.

The iced frappé …

I’ve enjoyed Megan Miranda’s books before, and The Girl from Widow Hills delivered a well-crafted tale from pacing to red herrings. Olivia was an unreliable narrator with memory loss and troubled childhood who has managed to pull herself together only to find herself confronted with the past and fearful of what may or may not have happened in her front yard.

Friends, detectives, her neighbor and people with connections to her past drag us in and make us doubt not just Olivia but others around her. When evidence seems to fall one way, Miranda twists and reveals to hold the listener captive.

The narration enhanced the story, giving another dimension to the characters and helping to build the suspense. Rebekkah Ross nailed the narration, particularly with the voice of Olivia. I could hear her uncertainty and taste her fear.

Fans of Ruth Ware and Greer Hendrick will want to add The Girl from Widow Hills to their bookshelves.

Grab your earbuds and check out The Girl from Widow Hills by Megan Miranda, a suspenseful psychological thriller. #audiobook #Thriller #NewRelease Click To Tweet

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw and Howler. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Find @kimbacaffeinate on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

30 Responses to “The Girl from Widow Hills by Megan Miranda”

  1. Carla

    I was going to read this one, but I think I will try to find the audiobook instead. Wonderful review. Although I don’t think of psychological thrillers when I think of summer, this one might be a perfect read/listen in those hot, humid summer nights.

  2. Katherine

    This sounds really good and I love the sound of the narrator! This author has been on my radar and I’m definitely going to have to get this on audio.

  3. Sophia Rose

    I listened to an older book of hers and loved it. I’m definitely going to grab this one up at some point. Spooky how she is missing three days of memories.

  4. Felicity Grace Terry

    Whilst I rarely find books written by ‘best selling’ authors or those books recommended by ‘celebrity’ book clubs anything special I have to admit that I do like the sound of The Girl from Widow Hills.

    Felicity Grace Terry recently posted: IMPRISONED BY LOVE.
  5. Ailyn Koay

    i am glad she’s unreliable for different reasons, not like being alcoholic/ drugged or all of the above…

      • Ailyn Koay

        yes, unreliable characters add another layer of complexity to the overall story. There are many many ways a person can be an unreliable character. It is just that I had found drunk/ drugged person route is way tooo overused and therefore some one like Arden sounds really interesting and makes people want to crack that nut

        • Kimberly

          You are completely right. I’ve sat here thinking about stories with an unreliable narrator, and quite a few had an addiction or were unknowingly being drugged.