Under Your Skin by Sabine Durrant

February 17th, 2014 Kimberly Review 64 Comments

17th Feb
Under Your Skin by Sabine Durrant
Under Your Skin
by Sabine Durrant
Genres: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Gaby Mortimer is the woman who has it all. But everything changes when she finds a body on the common near her home. She’s shaken and haunted by the image of the lifeless young woman, and frightened that the killer, still at large, could strike again. Before long, the police have a lead. The evidence points to a very clear suspect. One Gaby never saw coming . . . Full of twists and turns, this is a dark and suspenseful psychological thriller that will make you second guess everything. Because you can never be too sure about anything, especially when it comes to murder.

Under Your Skin, my Sabine Durrant delivers a psychological thriller that keeps you guessing with its clever twists. From its London setting to the fear of being wrongly accused Durant slowly drew me in, and I quite enjoyed the ride. Mini-review: Suspenseful and dark that will keep you guessing.

I decided to take Under Your Skin on a date.

First Date: We meet Gaby Mortimer. At first glance, she seems to have it all. A posh home, a successful husband, and a beautiful daughter. She is a successful television anchor for the local morning show and local celebrity. The woman has a live-in maid and nanny for cripes sake. I was a tad jealous. We meet Gabby on a run through the park where she discovers the body of a murdered woman. The tale is told from Gabby’s perspective and at first, her thoughts were busy, scattered, and she seemed fake. I was slightly nervous and had trouble settling into the tale.

Second Date: The police have a suspect. We quickly begin to make assumptions as to who the murderer is. Gaby’s perfect world doesn’t look so perfect, In fact, I being to feel sorry for her. She befriends a reporter and through him, we see the sad facts of Gaby’s life. I have begun to suspect those closest to her. Incidentally, I love the British setting and dialect. Kudos to the publishers for not ripping this book apart and making it more American for the US release. Win! Gaby’s husband is an ass..just sayin’

Third Date: OMG! *Twists, turns, reveals, clues and pointing fingers* I have a list of suspects, and they all look good. I may actually like Gaby, but she needs to take charge and stop letting people walk all over her. The tale has humorous moments, and quirks. The friendship with Jack is helping reveal more clues. I have become accustomed to the writing, and I am completely engrossed in the story. The ending..OH MY!!!

Under Your Skin was an exciting, dark and suspenseful thriller. When I finished reading and closed the book my first thought was, “Sabine Durrant, you clever, clever girl.” Fans of Gillian Flynn, Megan Shepherd, and S.J. Watson will find this tale engaging.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat...Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email is not shared and you can unsubscribe at any time.

64 Responses to “Under Your Skin by Sabine Durrant”

  1. Lily B

    I feel like lately it has been really hard for me to find a good thriller so it’s awesome to hear that this book has hit it all. Now I must put it on my list, cause I am in the mood for these once in a while. Just after reading one that disappointed, kind of downcast my mood.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      bummer, this was good. Did you like Gone Girl? If you did you will love this 🙂

  2. Stephanie

    I have never heard of this one, but I love a clever writer who writes a thriller I can’t put down! This sounds like a book that will keep me at the edge of my seat! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      thanks Pamela it was fun to write and I really enjoyed this book.

  3. Giselle

    I would read this for the cover alone it screams MADE FOR ME! But this is my genre 100% and i love how mysterious and unpredictable it sounds! And an ending that creates cap locks ARE ALWAYS SO MUCH FUN! WEEE!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes I do think you would enjoy this..it was one heck of a ride 🙂

  4. Heidi

    Oh I loved Gone Girl and I would totally like to read something along those same lines. Thanks so much for introducing me to this one! I am going to hunt down a copy!

  5. Lindy

    I love how you took your book on a date! Very Creative! This sounds like it had all of the essential ingredients for a great mystery! I’m glad that you loved it! Excellent Review Kim!!!

  6. Melissa (Books and Things)

    Oh I love a good thriller and this book really did lend itself to your date! Love the way you did that. 🙂 Loved the way you described all the characters. Now I gotta know who-done-it! 😀

  7. ShootingStarsMag

    Oh wow, this sounds amazing. I love a good thriller/mystery and Gillian Flynn is a favorite of mine, so if you think fans of hers would like it, I must check it out!!

    Off to add to my wish list…

    • kimbacaffeinate

      This was clever Tressa, not scary or gory just out and out suspenseful.

  8. Kim { Book Swoon }

    You know I love dark and suspenseful thrillers, and the characters and London setting sound perfect. I love the “book-dates” you went on- may have to go on some with a few books of mine;) And the ending sounds like a real surprise-love that! Great review, Kimba.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Thanks Kim, Felicia and Mary do them as well as a few others and I needed a way to convey my thoughts without revealing anything. I was surprised by how much fun it was to write so you will be seeing more of this and other formats.

  9. sherry fundin

    I love the review and how you set it up, but I was already drawn into the book by the cover and blurb. Sounds most excellent. ^_^

    • kimbacaffeinate

      thanks Sherry, I wanted to convey my experience but not reveal anything.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      this one is good Christine and so glad you are exploring this genre. If you need recs let me know!

  10. Braine

    I was just thinking of GONE GIRL then you mentioned fans of GFlynn. This is my kind of torture, thanks for the recommendation!

  11. Laurel-Rain Snow

    Ooh, love the sound of this one! I’ve heard some good things from blogger friends, so it’s definitely on my list. Who doesn’t like a good and creepy story, especially late at night…LOL.

  12. Tammy

    Wow, this sounds amazing! Yours is the first review I’ve read of this book. I love psychological mysteries and I just don’t read enough of them. Plus bonus being set in England and feeling authentic. As an American reader I love all things British:-)

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I was so glad they didn’t change anything. I read a novel last summer where they rewrote it for the US release and I was so mad.

  13. Jenea

    I love a good mystery and I love the sounds of this! Glad you enjoyed it.

  14. Jenny

    Yay for the date format! I love when Mary does this too, such a fun way to present your thoughts. I’m a huge fan of psychological thrillers even though I don’t get a chance to read them all that often, and I LOVE when there’s lots of twists and turns and a surprising ending. Can’t wait to read this Kim!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      The date allowed me not to reveal any real details and was fun to write. I love how Mary and Felicia do them, so I will try this format again. Thanks Jenny!

  15. Faye

    Dude. You just made me so excited for this one. I LOVE thrillers, especially those with twists and turns you just don’t see coming. Added this to my TBR <3 <3

    Awesome review!

  16. Mary

    I definitely like when the mystery is a true mystery and keeps you guessing until the very end of everything!

  17. Kristin

    This book is quintessentially YOU!! When I think of you, as a reviewer, it’s these types of books or historical romances! I loved your “date” review because it told me so much about the story and your read without giving anything away – I mean, how do you review a mystery?!?! And I love the British setting and that they kept it “British”! I eat that slang up!!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      which is exactly why I went with the date. LOL I love the slang too, we watch so much BBC around here that we use a lot of them in our daily speech..which raises a few eyebrows here in the midwest.

  18. Melliane

    Oh I didn’t know this one but now I’m excited about it. I’m intrigued about Gaby’s life and about the identity of the killer. And it’s bad to tell that about the ending lol because I also want to know that!!!!! terrible! Now I’ll have to buy the book.