A House in Shadow by Erica Damon

May 15th, 2024 Kimberly Review 2 Comments

15th May

A House in Shadow by Erica Damon proved to be a twisty thriller with supernatural elements that hooked me. I recommend going in cold and sticking with it, even when you want to hurl your Kindle across the room. I will keep my review short and spoiler free.

A House in Shadow by Erica Damon
A House in Shadow
by Erica Damon
Genres: Thriller
Purchase*: Amazon *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Perfect house. Perfect family.

But looks can be deceiving. 392 Chapman Drive is not the house Tristan and Allison had hoped for. It was supposed to be the idyllic place to raise their daughter away from the bustle of the city, but all too soon the house shows a sinister side, twisting Tristan’s world into a waking nightmare.

Allison doesn’t believe him, their daughter may or may not be in danger, and he can’t shake the feeling that there's more to all of this. Phantom knocks, figures who aren’t who they seem, doors that don’t lead where they should… could it all be in his head? Is he succumbing to stress and the isolation of working from home in a small town?

Tristan must walk the line between madness and method as he tries to stop whatever it is in the house that is tormenting him. Can he save his family or will he be their downfall?

A twisty supernatural thriller for fans of The Housemaid and Hidden Pictures.

Supernatural thriller twisted WTF?

I grabbed A House in Shadow because it sounded like a spooky supernatural haunted house story. What I got was a twisty thriller that kept me on edge. The tag line is spot on. “Perfect house, Perfect family. But looks can be deceiving.” If you’re curious I recommend grabbing it and going in cold. Just don’t set it down, even if Tristan pisses you off. Trust me.

Tristan and Allison move into 392 Chapman Drive with their toddler. This is their first home, and it’s located outside the city where they previously lived. Tristan works from home as an editor, and Allison will now have a 30 minute commute into the city. The three of them are settling in when Tristan experiences strange things, frightening things. Time lapses, his daughter balancing precariously from railings, strange noises and more. It was eerie. Allison quickly dismisses it as stress because of the move and the tension slowly builds as Tristan sets out to convince his wife they are all in grave danger.

Now I confess, during Tristan’s point of view, there was a moment where I wanted to DNF the book. He thought things about his wife and life that made me furious. I didn’t care if the house monsters ate him. However, I stuck it out, and I am one hundred percent glad I did. The twists and point of view change to Allison blew me away.

If you are looking for an atmospheric, addictive thriller with supernatural elements and twists, I highly recommend loading this on your kindle. It’s the perfect rainy day beach read.

Amazon *

*kindleunlimited

About Erica Damon

Erica Damon

Erica Damon is a writer, equestrian, and artist living in Western Massachusetts. She calls herself compulsively creative, and that has led to a collection of ‘what ifs?’ in her back pocket. A self-directed degree from UMass Amherst Commonwealth Honors College furthered her exploration outside of the ordinary. That same sense of wonder weaves its way into her fiction. If she’s not writing, she’s likely out riding horses while the ideas swirl in the background

caffeinated coffee cup divider

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

2 Responses to “A House in Shadow by Erica Damon”