Conscript by Pamela Stewart

March 1st, 2021 Kimberly Review 5 Comments

1st Mar
Conscript by Pamela Stewart
Conscript
by Pamela Stewart
Series: Star Defenders #1
Narrator: Brenda Scott Wlazlo
Length: 10 hours and 39 minutes
Genres: Science Fiction
Source: Publisher
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Narration: 5 cups Speed: 1.3x



Conscripted and forced to fight for her life.

Seventeen-year-old Vega Volante was almost done with her mandatory service to the Axis government. Everyone had told her it would be easy - in and out.

Then, the hostile aliens invaded.

Now, she slaves away training and retooling a mining ship for war as part of the Star Defenders. All Vega wants is to get home to her family. So, when a chance at officers training opens up, she jumps at the opportunity for more freedom. But there are only five slots, and Vega must use all her planet-born skill to fight for her place.

As if that wasn't enough, the ship's condition continues to worsen. "Accidents" may not be accidents. The lines between friends and enemies blur, and Vega realizes there's a lot more at stake than her chance at freedom.

Fans of Aurora Rising, Ender's Game, and Brandon Sanderson's Skyward will devour this story of adventure, mystery, and friendship.

PAGETURNER scifi SUSPENSE Young Adult

Travel off planet in Conscript by Pamela Stewart. Narrated by Brenda Scott Wlazlo, fans of Aurora Rising will enjoy Vega Volante in the first Star Defenders audiobook.

Seventeen-year-old Vega Volante was almost done with her mandatory service to the Axis government when she finds herself in deep space on a mining craft that is being converted to a warship after hostile aliens invade the galaxy.

She and other cadets are being trained as they help convert the ship. Vega is planet born and had hoped to return home to help her parents on their farm. Five positions at the officers’ training academy might be her ticket home. She will need to prove herself however she has already raised the ire of her commanding officer.

When a series of accidents occur, Vega sets out to prove its sabotage, but first she’ll need to save her teammates.

Stewart offered a well paced, developed storyline with characters that kept me engaged. She offered a motley crew of trainees that needed to work together from the nerd, to the kid from the wrong side of the tracks.

I enjoyed Vega from her inner dialogue to the awkward moments with the cute boy. I found myself caught up as she tried to navigate a difficult roomie, a commanding officer who seems to despise her and a fellow cadet who has it out for her. Vega felt genuine, and her growth was realistic.

We learn just enough of the world to engage us as the author weaved in tidbits along the way. This allowed for a fast-paced adventure. The story offered twists and tested each of the characters.

I am hoping for a prequel about the alien sighting and world. Meanwhile, Stewart wrapped up this first story while setting up the next in series.

Brenda Scott Wlazlo offered a stellar narration from tone to unique voices for each character. While the POV belongs to Vega, she added depth and made listening a pleasure.

Travel off planet in Conscript by Pamela Stewart the first in the Star Defenders series narrated by Brenda Scott Wlazlo. #audiobook #YoungAdult #SciFi Click To Tweet

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

5 Responses to “Conscript by Pamela Stewart”

  1. Debbie Haupt

    Wow Kim at 17 she’s almost finished with military service? How young do they start? This sounds like a super si-fi. I’m not familiar with Aurora Rising so is this mostly a YA Sci-Fi? Thanks