Widow’s Island: Below the Bones & A Broken Bone

February 19th, 2021 Kimberly Review 7 Comments

19th Feb
Widows Island 5-6

Today I am back with the next two novellas in the Widow’s Island series by Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot. Grab a cup of coffee and check out this romantic suspense series set on Widow’s Island off the west coast.

caffeinated coffee cup divider
Widow’s Island: Below the Bones & A Broken Bone
Below the Bones
by Kendra Elliot
Series: Widow's Island #5
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A former FBI special agent must come out of retirement to solve a murder in the fifth novella in the Widow’s Island series from Wall Street Journal bestselling author Kendra Elliot.

Former FBI special agent Cate Wilde is a new bakery and bookstore owner—and retirement is now complete with a doctor boyfriend. Although she struggles with PTSD, the sweet life she’s living is a far cry from the gruesome work she left behind six months ago.

But when skeletal remains turn up on Widow’s Island—and the MO of the killer is too familiar to Cate—the dream comes to an abrupt end. What if the case she solved eight years ago isn’t as closed as she thought? Her hometown needs her, and despite her mental health and her boyfriend’s protests, she has no choice but to return to her dangerous past life.

Soon Cate is in a desperate race to stop a cold-blooded murderer from killing again, once and for all…only this time, she’ll have so much more to lose.


In Below the Bones, we are back with former FBI special agent Cate Wilde. She has left the bureau, although it’s listed as a sabbatical, and opened a bakery/bookshop on the island. While she still suffers from PTSD, life is good with Henry, her boyfriend and the local doctor.

She still misses the thrill of working a case, especially when bodies are discovered and the burial resembles a serial killer case she helped solve. To complicate things, the agent in charge is an old boyfriend. Can you say awkward? 

It was fun seeing Henry deal with an old flame. The case was interesting and one that helped Cate permanently decide her future. It brought suspense and twists as they hunted for the killer. The mysteries are light and will appeal to the masses.

The story left me craving a more meaty serial killer tale, but I love this series. The stories while short are the perfect one sitting tale.

Because the previous book closed the series arc, you can read this as a standalone.

In Below the Bones by Kedra Elliot, Cate is hunting for a serial killer. #WidowsIsland #Novella #KindleUnlimited Click To Tweet
caffeinated coffee cup divider
Widow’s Island: Below the Bones & A Broken Bone
A Broken Bone
by Melinda Leigh
Series: Widow's Island #6
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

The mysterious death of a local teen leads to a hunt for a killer in the sixth Widow’s Island novella by #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author Melinda Leigh.

On Widow’s Island, the secrets are dark…and everybody has one. So when Deputy Tessa Black responds to a call about an explosion in a quiet neighborhood, she gets more than she bargained for: the body of a teen who went missing weeks ago.

Until recently, Gavin was living in a reputable foster home. But now that he is found dead—Tessa can’t help but wonder if sinister forces are at play. Who would want to hurt him, and why?

With the help of her partner, Park Ranger Logan Wilde, Tessa tries desperately to decipher what happened to Gavin before another life is cut short. Someone on Widow’s Island knows the explosive truth. Will Tessa find the answers she needs before someone else turns up dead?


It’s another beautiful day on the island until Deputy Tessa Black responds to a call about an explosion in A Broken Bone by Melinda Leigh. This is the sixth novel in the romantic suspense novella series Widow’s Island.

Tessa finds a dead body in an abandoned home. It turns out to be the body of a missing teen. Tessa’s boyfriend Park Ranger Logan Wilde aids her as they investigate.

What an interesting case. The young teen was suspected of running away from his foster family. When witnesses place him on the ferry, Tessa dismissed the case. Determined to set thing right, she investigates and uncovers something sinister.

Leigh combines suspense with island life as Tessa deals with her ailing mother, the chickens and one hot park ranger.

Suspense and a picturesque island with quirky characters held me captive. I recommend reading the previous novellas since the relationship began in early ones. Tessa is a strong character who has come a long way, and I enjoyed developments.

The Widow’s Island series offers perfect one evening reads, but I must warn you, you’ll want to devour them all. I am excited to see what comes next in Burned Bones and the Lost Bones coming this fall.

In A Broken Bone by Melinda Leigh, Deputy Tessa Black investigates the death of a young teen. #WidowsIsland #Novella #KindleUnlimited #RomanticSuspense Click To Tweet

About Kendra Elliot

Kendra Elliot

An Amazon #1 selling author, Kendra Elliot has sold over 4 million books. She grew up in the lush Pacific Northwest and still lives there with her husband, three daughters, two cats, and a Pomeranian. She’s fascinated with forensics, refuses to eat anything green, and dreams of living every day in flip flops. The BONE SECRETS NOVELS: HIDDEN, CHILLED, BURIED, ALONE, KNOWN and VEILED (a novella) The CALLAHAN & McLANE novels are a spin-off of the Bone Secrets books. VANISHED, BRIDGED, SPIRALED, and TARGETED. The MERCY KILPATRICK series, a spin-off of the CALLAHAN & McLANE series, A MERCIFUL DEATH, A MERCIFUL TRUTH, and A MERCIFUL SECRET. She also writes the Rogue River novella series with author Melinda Leigh. A four-time Wall Street Journal best selling author, 2014 International Thriller Writers finalist, a three time Daphne Du Maurier winner, and a Romantic Times Reviewers Choice finalist.

About Melinda Leigh

Melinda Leigh

Wall Street Journal bestselling author Melinda Leigh is a fully recovered banker. A life-long lover of books, she started writing as a way to preserve her sanity while raising her kids. Over the next few years, she learned a few things about writing a book. The process was much more fun than analyzing financial statements, and she decided to turn her hobby into a career. Melinda’s debut novel, SHE CAN RUN, was nominated for Best First Novel by the International Thriller Writers. She is a RITA® Award Finalist and has earned three Daphne du Maurier Award nominations, two Silver Falchion Awards, and a Golden Leaf.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

7 Responses to “Widow’s Island: Below the Bones & A Broken Bone”

  1. sjhigbee

    These both sound really interesting novellas. They are both authors I’ve heard a lot about, but never read – and it looks as though I should check them out next time I want a break from my usual SFF diet:).

  2. Sophia Rose

    I was relieved and excited when they kept the series going after the last series arc finished. It is so good no matter which author or lead character’s story it is.

  3. Joyousreads

    I’m glad you’re enjoying this series! It’s definitely been awhile since I dove into a UF series that I can get invested in.

    I hope you’ll continue to enjoy them!