Remembering Joy by Jenni Moen

September 17th, 2013 kimbacaffeinate Review 45 Comments

17th Sep
Remembering Joy by Jenni Moen
Remembering Joy
by Jenni Moen
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: Author
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Alexis doesn’t believe in fairytales. She knows first hand that life can turn on a dime – that one stupid mistake can shatter dreams and irrevocably shape the future. Even though her memory of that day is hazy, she has spent the last ten years trying to put it behind her and focus on the future. Armed with the knowledge that her career will be her only legacy, Alexis works night and day to prove that she is more than just her last name. It’s not only that she doesn’t have time for love – she doesn’t have the heart for it. After all, there’s no point in starting something that you can’t finish. However, when she meets Adam, she’s drawn to him in a way even she can’t deny. He is dark and brooding and strangely charming. He’s the perfect distraction from the mundane life she’s created for herself. And, as if fate is pushing them together, he seems to be around every corner. It’s enough to almost make her entirely forget about her past and take a chance. Unfortunately, Adam’s memory isn’t hazy . . . not in the least. And, what she doesn’t remember, he can’t forget.

Remember Joy is a tale about revenge, forgiveness, loss, and love. Jenni Moen drew me in from the very first page and held my heart captive until the end. Fans of Ten Tiny Breaths and Sea of Tranquility will enjoy this heartwarming new adult romance. Three word review: breathtaking, captivating and an emotional ride.

The tale begins when we meet Alexis an associate at a successful law firm who is determined to make her career her legacy. She and one of her colleagues are enjoying a cocktail at an afterhours club called the Library; a swanky bar in New York City. Adam is at the Library too, feeling under dressed in his t-shirt and jeans. He is waiting on a friend when he glances across the bar and sees her. Hate and disgust fill him. How can she just sit there in her Prada’s looking happy and so sexy? When she spots Adam she is drawn to him and sees him as the perfect distraction to her mundane life. Adam sees his chance for a little revenge and devises a plan to make her fall for him then crush her heart. The deeper the relationship goes the more complicated and mixed up their feelings become. Told from dual POVs this tale will grab you and hold on till the bitter end, leaving you breathless.

Alexis is a likable, driven, and lonely character. She has friends through work, but mostly it is just her and her oddly named cat living in New York City. You cannot help but connect with her. She knits baby blankets for the hospital, is in the Big Sister program and loves romance novels. Between her odd food concoctions and her laugh, I really identified with her. Haunted by an event in her past, she closes herself off from getting to intimate with others. Moen did an incredible job of fleshing her out and I loved her voice. Adam has been hurt by a past event and a romance that ended with his heart in pieces. Oddly, even though he entered this relationship bent on revenge, I fell for him. It is a testament to the author’s writing skills. I believed in them, saw their flaws and shortcomings and rooted for them despite the odds.  Secondary characters had their own voice and added to the tale giving the story a well-developed and genuine feel. I could have lived in this book forever.

Remembering Joy touched me on so many levels from identifying with the characters to the incredible, complex tale. I am so glad the author chose to tell their story using dual POVs. It allowed me to connect to both characters as the author showed us their past. We know Adam’s story from the onset, and Alexis’s story is slowly revealed to us through dreams that give us more details as we go along. The twist was freakin’ amazing and was completely believable. The story unfolded slowly and the romance built from friendship to love, despite the immediate physical aspect. It ebbed and flowed beautifully allowing me to bask in romantic moments and cry during painful ones. It is a story of growth, trust, healing, forgiveness and most of all the power of love. I wish I could talk about all the little beautiful moments, the awakenings, the pain and the joy but you my friend will just have to read and experience it for yourself.

Fans of beautiful, impossible romances weaved with life lessons and character growth, will enjoy every moment of Remembering Joy. Wonderfully talented at human stories I cannot wait to see what Jenni Moen writes next.

Five cups of coffee out of five
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jenni Moen

Jenni Moen

Jenni Moen lives in Oklahoma with her husband and three crazy, exuberant kids who have the potential to burn the house down at any moment. When she’s not chauffeuring kids around town, performing her mom duties as a short order cook and maid, or vacuuming for her fastidious husband, she hammers away at her keyboard at her big girl job as a patent attorney. While vodka and exercise have provided some relief from the daily grind, it is reading … and now writing … that are her true escapes.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

45 Responses to “Remembering Joy by Jenni Moen”

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I didn’t imagine it would be ..but one day soon I shall tempt you!

  1. Andrea

    Yay, Kim!! I am so, so excited you loved Remembering Joy as much as I did.
    Gorgeous review!

    Andrea recently posted:
  2. Nick

    Kim, I have never heard of this book before, but it sounds like something I would adore.
    This might sound sadistic but I love it when romances start off on the basis of revenge because then there’s so much emotional conflict when the guy actually starts falling the girl.
    I’m totally adding this to my TBR!
    Fabulous review, Kim!

  3. Jenny

    You’ve got me completely sold on this one Kim! I love NA books that are written from dual POVs, it’s so nice to get both character’s perspectives in a romance situation. Love that there’s a twist too, it’s fun to be surprised and caught off guard and I just can’t wait to meet Adam and Alexis! Thanks for bringing this one to my attention, fabulous review:)

    Jenny recently posted:
  4. Adriana

    Now you’ve got me interested in why Adam wants revenge! Does Alexis have amnesia or something or maybe she broke his brothers heart? Very interesting… Do you ever NOT like a book? It seems all the books your read you love and your reviews are always so well though out. Anyways I’m interested in this mystery and revenge mix in this book. Especially the revenge (; Lovely review.

    Adriana recently posted: Choker by Elizabeth Woods
    • kimbacaffeinate

      Sadly yes I just did a DNF last week, and have a review later this week that barley squeaked out a three..

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Not sure if this helps but the angst level was low. I hope you give it a try.

  5. Sharonda SexxyBlogger

    Im slowly finding out that I dual POVs..u get so much more of the story I think. Your review has me wanting to go buy this book Kim 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It was a great NA book Brandi and one I think you would enjoy 🙂

  6. Berls

    Wow – you got my attention when you said it was an emotional ride. I love those sorts of books that tear you up a bit. And it sounds beautifully complex – and I love that it isn’t (or at least it doesn’t sound like) insta-love! Great review 🙂

    Berls recently posted: Teaser Tuesdays | Unholy Ghosts
    • kimbacaffeinate

      Loved it Christy, and they are both good peeps so I know you’d like it.