Midway by Melanie Karsak

December 31st, 2014 Kimberly Review 4 Comments

31st Dec
Midway by Melanie Karsak

Midway is a novella in the Harvesting series by Melanie Karsak and the perfect little hold me over till the release of book two, The Shadow Aspect, coming in 2015. While characters are familiar to those who have read The Harvesting, book one it is something anyone can enjoy.

Keep Reading

Revival by Stephen King

December 22nd, 2014 Kimberly Review 60 Comments

22nd Dec
Revival by Stephen King

Dark and disturbing Revival by Stephen King takes us on an unsettling journey that addresses man’s darkest fear; Death. Spanning five decades the characters and disturbing tale ensnare the reader holding them captive. David Morse brilliantly portrays the characters and notches up the suspense.

Keep Reading

Symbiont by Mira Grant

December 1st, 2014 Kimberly Review 46 Comments

1st Dec
Symbiont by Mira Grant

I was very fortunate to receive an advanced finished copy of Symbiont by Mira Grant. It is the second book in her Parasitology series that started as a duology and is now a trilogy!! After the release of Parasite, Grant’s fans demanded more. Fans wanted more details, fleshed-out characters and world building. Grant obliged and I am ever so grateful. Symbiont changed my perception, raised questions, and had me holding my breath as we plunged deeper into this apocalyptic nightmare.

Keep Reading

Big Driver by Stephen King

October 18th, 2014 Kimberly Review 48 Comments

18th Oct
Big Driver by Stephen King

Big Driver was originally published in Stephen King’s acclaimed collection, Full Dark, No Stars. It has been released as a standalone in celebration of the movie adaption. Tonight, Big Driver, will premiere on Lifetime Movie Channel. I was so excited to receive a copy of the audio edition of Big Driver. As a Stephen King fan, this one gave me the chills and thrills I crave from his novels. Dark, haunting, creepy and engaging I devoured this short audio.

Keep Reading

A Good Marriage by Stephen King

October 4th, 2014 Kimberly Review 58 Comments

4th Oct
A Good Marriage by Stephen King

I was excited to obtain a copy of the audio version of A Good Marriage by Stephen King. The story originally published in the anthology Full Dark, No Stars. It is being released as a standalone in preparation for the motion picture release. A Good Marriage was dark and suspenseful. It will leave the reader asking, “How well do I know my significant other?’’

Keep Reading

Maplecroft by Cherie Priest

September 3rd, 2014 Kimberly Review 80 Comments

3rd Sep
Maplecroft by Cherie Priest

Maplecroft the first in the Borden Dispatches by Cherie Priest offers a dark twist on the Lizzie Borden murders in Falls River Massachusetts. Priest offers answers to the age-old question, “Did Lizzie murder her parents with an axe and if so why?” Dark, creepy and superbly twisted the tale that on unfolds in Maplecroft will raise the hair on the back of your neck.

Keep Reading

Amity by Micol Ostow

August 14th, 2014 Kimberly Review 96 Comments

14th Aug
Amity by Micol Ostow

While the tagline boldly states for fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, I am not entirely sure that it did Amity any favors. Amity by Micol Ostow is not a retelling of the original Amity house, but rather a book inspired by the events that occurred there. While the tale is atmospheric and has creepy moments, it does not have that smooth, eerie, descriptive vibe that is notoriously King. Amity is a young adult horror that explores the psyche of two characters, and its intended audience will enjoy the atmospheric, suspenseful tale.

Keep Reading