A Good Marriage by Stephen King

October 4th, 2014 Kimberly Review 58 Comments

4th Oct
A Good Marriage by Stephen King

I was excited to obtain a copy of the audio version of A Good Marriage by Stephen King. The story originally published in the anthology Full Dark, No Stars. It is being released as a standalone in preparation for the motion picture release. A Good Marriage was dark and suspenseful. It will leave the reader asking, “How well do I know my significant other?’’

Keep Reading

Maplecroft by Cherie Priest

September 3rd, 2014 Kimberly Review 80 Comments

3rd Sep
Maplecroft by Cherie Priest

Maplecroft the first in the Borden Dispatches by Cherie Priest offers a dark twist on the Lizzie Borden murders in Falls River Massachusetts. Priest offers answers to the age-old question, “Did Lizzie murder her parents with an axe and if so why?” Dark, creepy and superbly twisted the tale that on unfolds in Maplecroft will raise the hair on the back of your neck.

Keep Reading

Amity by Micol Ostow

August 14th, 2014 Kimberly Review 96 Comments

14th Aug
Amity by Micol Ostow

While the tagline boldly states for fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, I am not entirely sure that it did Amity any favors. Amity by Micol Ostow is not a retelling of the original Amity house, but rather a book inspired by the events that occurred there. While the tale is atmospheric and has creepy moments, it does not have that smooth, eerie, descriptive vibe that is notoriously King. Amity is a young adult horror that explores the psyche of two characters, and its intended audience will enjoy the atmospheric, suspenseful tale.

Keep Reading

The Troop by Nick Cutter

January 31st, 2014 Kimberly Review 72 Comments

31st Jan
The Troop by Nick Cutter

The Troop by Nick Cutter is a horror fans dream come true with its unique characters and spine-tingling, belly-flopping, eye-covering tale. Compared to Lord of the Flies and the Ruins and proclaimed to be in the style of Stephen King, Cutter’s tale lived up to the praise. I was compelled to keep reading even as part of me longed to forget. Mini review: Creep-tastic realistic horror with a “breakfast club” of characters. I could not set this down even when I wanted to.

Keep Reading

Mayhem by Sarah Pinborough

January 20th, 2014 Kimberly Review 67 Comments

20th Jan
Mayhem by Sarah Pinborough

Mayhem by Sarah Pinborough takes us to the streets of London’s East end during the period of Jack the Ripper and exposes a darker killer known as the “torso killer” Steeped in horror with a paranormal twist this was a riveting tale. Mini review: dark, scary and captivating.

Keep Reading