A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

September 7th, 2016 Kimberly Review 60 Comments

7th Sep
A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

Nothing makes me happier than a stronger second book in a series and such was the case with A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir. This is the second novel in young adult dystopian fantasy series An Ember in the Ashes. (Which ironically was standalone, then duology and now there are two more books in the works) Brilliant, fast paced and exquisitely written the audio narrated by Katharine McEwan, Fiona Hardingham and Steve West was completely addictive.

Keep Reading

The Dirt on Ninth Grave by Darynda Jones

January 12th, 2016 Kimberly Review 28 Comments

12th Jan
The Dirt on Ninth Grave by Darynda Jones

I devoured The Dirt on Ninth Grave, book nine in the Charley Davidson series by Darynda Jones. After the jaw-dropping, nail-biting conclusion of Eighth Grave After Dark, I was nervous about what we would face going into this novel. I should have set those trepidations aside because Jones handled it brilliantly. I loved how the events in The Dirt on Ninth Grave unfolded.

Keep Reading

Winter by Marissa Meyer

December 21st, 2015 Kimberly Review 33 Comments

21st Dec
Winter by Marissa Meyer

Winter is the last book in the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer and at over eight hundred pages; Meyer took readers on one heck of a ride as we faced down Queen Levana. It was brutal, intense and frustrating. Winter was epic, beautifully written and a brilliant retelling.

Keep Reading

Witch Wood by Melanie Karsak

December 11th, 2015 Kimberly Review 64 Comments

11th Dec
Witch Wood by Melanie Karsak

Witch Wood by Melanie Karsak is a novella in the Harvesting series, a zombie infested fantasy series I have come to love. It is highly original with magic and twists that keep me flipping the pages and eager for more. Witch Wood is also the first in the Witching Collection and at first; I wondered how it would tie into the Harvesting world. All I can say is that it does and it is bloody brilliant.

Keep Reading

Chimera by Mira Grant

November 18th, 2015 Kimberly Review 62 Comments

18th Nov
Chimera by Mira Grant

Annnd it is over * Hugs Chimera by Mira Grant and cries* I am going to miss the tapeworms. What, you think I am crazy? Chimera is the final book in Mira Grant’s Parasitology series and like its predecessors, it was brilliant with suspense, shivers and characters whom I have come to love.

Keep Reading

Celebrate the Joy of Romance: Sustained by Emma Chase

August 25th, 2015 Kimberly Event, Review 61 Comments

25th Aug
Celebrate the Joy of Romance: Sustained by Emma Chase

August is Read-A-Romance Month and a few of my fellow #XOxperts* and I are celebrating the Joy of Romance. A special thanks to Victoria @ Arts Books & Coffee who has mad social skills and coördinated everything. Check out my review of Sustained by Emma Chase. This is the second book in her new Legal Briefs series but it works as a standalone. I adore Chases’ writing. Her character Drew Evans from the Tangled series is one of my favorite bad boys but, I might just cheat on him with Jake Becker. Enjoy, enter the giveaways and then be sure and visit the other stops.

Keep Reading

The Undying Legion by Clay Griffith & Susan Griffith

July 23rd, 2015 Kimberly Review 49 Comments

23rd Jul
The Undying Legion by Clay Griffith & Susan Griffith

Undying Legion is the second novel in Clay & Susan Griffith’s Victorian-era urban fantasy. Dark, suspenseful and weaved in magic and necromancy the authors kept me on edge while fleshing out characters and their world. I chose to listen and once again, narrator Nicholas Guy Smith brought this tale to life as Simon and Kate investigate these suspicious murders.

Keep Reading

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

July 7th, 2015 Kimberly Review 82 Comments

7th Jul
Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

Amazing world-building, brilliant characters and an overall tone of suspense throughout made Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine a thrilling read. This is the first book in the Great Library series and this dystopian fantasy delivers in spades.

Keep Reading

My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland

May 8th, 2015 Kimberly Review 78 Comments

8th May
My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland

I have read Diana Rowland’s books before and enjoyed them, so I have no idea why I waited so long to begin the White Trash Zombie series. I finally decided enough was enough and snagged the audio version of My Life as a White Trash Zombie. At just under nine hours, this was hilarious on audio. Rowland weaves humor and a little mystery as our protagonist discovers she is a zombie. BRAINS!!!!

Keep Reading