Buried Deep by Melinda Leigh & The Lost Bones by Kendra Elliot

January 5th, 2023 Kimberly Review 15 Comments

5th Jan

Buried Deep & The Lost Bones are novellas in the Widow’s Island Mystery Novella series that follow the local sherif and a retired FBI agent. Both live on Widow’s Island off the coast near Seattle. Romance, island life and murder await you….

Buried Deep by Melinda Leigh & The Lost Bones by Kendra Elliot
Buried Bones
by Melinda Leigh
Series: Widow's Island #7
Genres: Mystery
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A college student’s murder shines light on community secrets left in the dark in the seventh Widow’s Island novella by #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author Melinda Leigh.

All communities have their secrets…but on Widow’s Island, there’s a skeleton in every closet, as Deputy Tessa Black knows all too well. When Tessa stumbles upon a half-buried body in the woods, a peaceful morning hike suddenly turns into a race to catch a killer.

Tessa identifies the skeletal corpse as Aurora Franklin, a young college student and aspiring actor. She’d come to Widow’s Island for a summer job, only to be strangled and discarded. Aurora has been dead for over a month—and not a single islander has reported her missing.

The investigation reveals a dangerous predator hiding in the Widow’s Island community. With her fiancé, park ranger Logan Wilde, by her side, Tessa must find Aurora’s murderer before they strike again.

All the novellas in the Widow’s Island mystery series will work as standalone regarding the cases they solve. However, the romantic relationships and town happens have me recommending you read them in the order in which they are released.

In Buried Bones, Deputy Tessa Black is on a hike with her younger sister when they stumble upon a body partially buried. She calls in the local doctor/medical examiner to determine cause of death. When she discovers the young woman was murdered, Tessa and her fiancé, park ranger Logan Wilde, work to stop a killer.

This was a clever tale with plenty of twists and lots of trouble. Besides the case, we got updates on characters, that pesky hen and more. The romance is sweet and balances out the cases.

Fans of small-town/remote settings with strong suspense/mystery elements will enjoy Buried Bones and the Widow’s Island Mystery series. These are in kindle unlimited and audio.

Amazon | Audible*

caffeinated coffee cup divider
Buried Deep by Melinda Leigh & The Lost Bones by Kendra Elliot
The Lost Bones
by Kendra Elliot
Series: Widow's Island #8
Genres: Mystery
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Purchase*: Amazon | Audible *affiliate
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

From Wall Street Journal bestselling author Kendra Elliot comes the story of a former FBI agent who tackles an unsolved kidnapping in the eighth installment of the Widow’s Island Novella series.

When former FBI agent Cate Wilde moves back to Widow’s Island, she envisions a simpler life than the one she had in law enforcement. But Cate’s past has a habit of catching up with her. When she receives a mysterious package containing a child’s mandible, she finds herself thrust back into action.

The mandible leads Cate to an unsolved case she worked seven years ago—the kidnapping of a three-year-old girl. At the time, Cate suspected the girl was kidnapped by her overprotective father. But after they both vanished, the case went cold.

At the urging of the girl’s mother, Cate dives back into the case and learns her prime suspect may still be a threat. Armed with new clues and a fresh perspective, Cate must confront the possibility that the kidnapper is poised to strike again. But can she save his new child from the same fate before it’s too late?

In the Lost Bones, a package containing a child’s mandible is delivered to the island and has former FBI agent Cate Wilde consulting on a child abduction cold case.

This was an interesting cold case that hooked me from the start. Cate’s fiancée, Henry, is the island’s only doctor and thus the medical examiner for the local sheriff’s department. Henry and Cate and enjoying life on the island. This case, however, has Cate determined to bring closure for the child’s mother. Henry will come to her aid. This was suspenseful as the case took them off island and placed them in peril.

We get updates and enjoy some happy moments that helped balance out the darker tones. Perfect for fans of mysteries with strong characters and a small-town vibe.

Amazon | Audible*

I enjoy the Widow’s Island Mystery series and recommend them for a cold winter’s night. Grab a cup of tea and enjoy. The series is available in Kindle Unlimited for ebook & audio.

Buried Deep & The Lost Bones by Melinda Leigh delivered murder-mysteries, small-town moments and a side dish of romance. #bookreview #WidowsIslandMysteries #Novellas Click To Tweet

About Kendra Elliot

Kendra Elliot

An Amazon #1 selling author, Kendra Elliot has sold over 4 million books. She grew up in the lush Pacific Northwest and still lives there with her husband, three daughters, two cats, and a Pomeranian. She's fascinated with forensics, refuses to eat anything green, and dreams of living every day in flip flops. The BONE SECRETS NOVELS: HIDDEN, CHILLED, BURIED, ALONE, KNOWN and VEILED (a novella) The CALLAHAN & McLANE novels are a spin-off of the Bone Secrets books. VANISHED, BRIDGED, SPIRALED, and TARGETED. The MERCY KILPATRICK series, a spin-off of the CALLAHAN & McLANE series, A MERCIFUL DEATH, A MERCIFUL TRUTH, and A MERCIFUL SECRET. She also writes the Rogue River novella series with author Melinda Leigh. A four-time Wall Street Journal best selling author, 2014 International Thriller Writers finalist, a three time Daphne Du Maurier winner, and a Romantic Times Reviewers Choice finalist.

About Melinda Leigh

Melinda Leigh

Wall Street Journal bestselling author Melinda Leigh is a fully recovered banker. A life-long lover of books, she started writing as a way to preserve her sanity while raising her kids. Over the next few years, she learned a few things about writing a book. The process was much more fun than analyzing financial statements, and she decided to turn her hobby into a career. Melinda’s debut novel, SHE CAN RUN, was nominated for Best First Novel by the International Thriller Writers. She is a RITA® Award Finalist and has earned three Daphne du Maurier Award nominations, two Silver Falchion Awards, and a Golden Leaf.

*Available in ebook & audio with KindleUnlimited

caffeinated coffee cup divider

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. Whovian, Ravenclaw, Howler and proud Nonna. She owns and manages Caffeinated PR. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat. Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

15 Responses to “Buried Deep by Melinda Leigh & The Lost Bones by Kendra Elliot”

  1. Ethan

    I really like the idea of interconnected novellas that can also be read as standalone. This is the kind of writing that I like to think of as a reading slump cure. Short, quick, and good story!

    Ethan recently posted: The Villa by Rachel Hawkins