The Turn by Kim Harrison

February 6th, 2017 Kimberly Review 28 Comments

6th Feb
The Turn by Kim Harrison

The Hollows by Kim Harrison is one of my favorite urban fantasy series and when I saw there would be a prequel I squeed like a teenager at a rock concert. The Turn is a full-length novel that takes us back and sheds light on the world from the beginning and addresses how and why the supernatural world came out to humans. We see familiar characters and are treated to new information. Of course, now I want more!

Keep Reading

The Operator by Kim Harrison

November 22nd, 2016 Kimberly Review 31 Comments

22nd Nov
The Operator by Kim Harrison

The Operator by Kim Harrison is the second novel in the Peri Reed Chronicles an intense science fiction thriller from the author of the Hollows. High stakes, intense action scenes, and time jumps made the Operator an addictive edition to this series.

Keep Reading

The Drafter by Kim Harrison

September 1st, 2015 Kimberly Review 63 Comments

1st Sep
The Drafter by Kim Harrison

The Drafter is the first book in the Peri Reed Chronicles a new series by Kim Harrison whose Hollows series I adored. The Drafter is a science fiction suspense thriller filled with gadgets and covert agencies set against the backdrop of Detroit in the year 2030. It offers a cat and mouse game where Peri Reed must decide whom to trust.

Keep Reading

Sideswiped by Kim Harrison

August 20th, 2015 Kimberly Review 74 Comments

20th Aug
Sideswiped by Kim Harrison

The novella Sideswiped by Kim Harrison introduces us to the characters and world of her new series the Peri Reed Chronicles. This science fiction suspense thriller sheds light on the concept of drafting. A small percentage of the population has the ability to move back briefly in time. Other humans can act as an anchor preventing the drafter from becoming trapped.

Keep Reading

Chicken Florentine & Farfalle and The Drafter

April 8th, 2015 Kimberly Feature 35 Comments

8th Apr
Chicken Florentine & Farfalle and The Drafter

Today on Recipe and a Book Recommendation I have a recipe requested after I posted our dinner on Instagram. Chicken Florentine & Farfalle is a simple one pan recipe that will bring your family running to the table. Served with a side salad and garlic bread it is the perfect Spring/Summer meal. I am also excited to be sharing Kim Harrison’s novel The Drafter set to release in September of 2015. Grab a caffeinated beverage and enjoy. Bon Appetit!

Keep Reading

The Witch With No Name by Kim Harrison

September 9th, 2014 Kimberly Review 70 Comments

9th Sep
The Witch With No Name by Kim Harrison

My journey with the Hollows series by Kim Harrison has been one of pure joy and maybe a few head-bashing moments. Watching Rachel grow, crying over lost characters and going from loathing an elf to loving him; I took a moment to reminisce over all of the heart-stopping moments and those times where my opinions and affections changed. It has been one hell of a ride, sometimes exhausting, sometimes filled with tears, but always a truly fantastic escape from reality. I was beyond ecstatic when Harper Voyager sent me a finished copy of the final book in the series; Witch With No Name. The hardcover is beautiful and I adored the little butterflies topping each chapter. I was both sad and excited to begin this final novel with Rachel Morgan our beloved day-walking demon and Harrison delivered in spades!

Keep Reading

The Undead Pool by Kim Harrison

February 21st, 2014 Kimberly Review 80 Comments

21st Feb
The Undead Pool by Kim Harrison

The Undead Pool is the twelfth novel in the Hollows series by author Kim Harrison. Despite the chaos that surrounds Rachel Morgan I get giddy just stepping back into her world. Harrison continues to flesh out the characters and world while having Rachel solve impossible cases. Mini review: Trent and Rachel sitting in a tree, K-I-S-S-I-N-G. Brilliant, fast-paced, an emotional ride.

Keep Reading

Ever After by Kim Harrison

March 8th, 2013 Kimberly Review 36 Comments

8th Mar
Ever After by Kim Harrison

After reading two heartbreaking, tear evoking contemporary novels I was eager to step into the Ever After for a bit of fun, adventure and chaos. As the eleventh book in the Hollows series, Rachel Morgan, Ivy, Jenks, Trent and Al all kind of feel like family and I was excited to see what kind of mess Rachel would find herself in this time. The day-walking demon took me by surprise and this is perhaps one of my favorite books in the series to date.

Keep Reading

A Perfect Blood by Kim Harrison

February 23rd, 2012 Kimberly Review 0 Comments

23rd Feb
A Perfect Blood by Kim Harrison

Like many Hollows fans I pre-ordered A Perfect Blood and was counting down the days till its release. I was anxious to get my hands on it and stayed up Monday night just to download it promptly at 12:01. I just wanted to read a few pages; such was my anticipation.  It took me three sessions to complete this novel, as the gods and life worked against me. Now that I’ve finished, I am glad because I had a chance to savor it. Now I find myself, stuck right back where I was on Monday…waiting for the next Hollows release..sheesh.  A Perfect Blood, had a blended feel of earlier novels and newer ones as Rachel dealt with being a demon and spent much of the novel with limited powers. As always I loved my trip back to the Hollows.

Keep Reading