Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

December 9th, 2016 Kimberly Review 44 Comments

9th Dec
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

*Mutters* Why did I hold off reading Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas despite buying the book on release day? I had forgotten how much I had enjoyed the brilliant world and characters within the Throne of Glass series. I love how this series has evolved as different story threads have woven together. Queen of Shadows offered another addictive installment.

Keep Reading

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

September 1st, 2014 Kimberly Review 72 Comments

1st Sep
Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

I was already in love with the Throne of Glass series. From its main characters to the beautifully developed world that Sarah J. Mass created. Heir of Fire brought this story to a completely new level. Young adult meets high fantasy with wonderful new characters, an amazing world that Maas brought to readers in high definition with a panoramic review. It was one hell of a ride. Brilliantly executed, and heart wrenching Heir of Fire solidified this series among my favorites.

Keep Reading

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

August 26th, 2013 Kimberly Review 65 Comments

26th Aug
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight by Sara J. Maas is the second book in the Throne of Glass series and this, this my friends is what all second books should aspire to be! Not since Dark Triumph have I been so impressed by a second book. Mass gave us a story within a story and captured my attention from page one. Three word review: brilliant, intense, and captivating.

Keep Reading

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

August 22nd, 2013 Kimberly Review 80 Comments

22nd Aug
The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon is a dystopian with an interesting blend of fantasy, science-fiction and mythology. I was instantly catapulted into the year 2059 and wrapped up in its characters. Part one of a seven book series, whose film rights have already been sold Shannon’s debut novel hits the ground running. Three word review: stunning, mesmerizing, and imaginative.

Keep Reading

Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt

March 13th, 2013 Kimberly Review 33 Comments

13th Mar
Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt

When I saw the cover and read the synopsis for Going VintageI knew I had to read it. This is a young adult contemporary about a teenage girl who tries to live exactly as her grandmother did in 1962 during her junior year of high school. She sets up a list of goals and ditches her cell phone and computer. This was sweet, had depth, humor and a cute guy or two.

Keep Reading

Hysteria by Megan Miranda

February 5th, 2013 Kimberly Review 3 Comments

5th Feb
Hysteria by Megan Miranda

This was my first time reading Megan Miranda’s works and I must say I enjoyed Hysteria. While not flawless, it did offer up a fascinating suspense thriller that kept me entertained. She brings us up close and personal into the mental struggle Mallory faces after she murders her boyfriend. With twists and turns at every corner Miranda kept me on edge.

Keep Reading

The Uninvited by Liz Jensen

January 4th, 2013 Kimberly Review 4 Comments

4th Jan
The Uninvited by Liz Jensen

Fans of Stephen King, James Patterson and Dean Kootz will enjoy Uninvited. I literally could not put this down, despite its meandering pace; I became completely caught up in the events that occurred within it’s pages. Jensen delivers a thought provoking, creep-tastic novel that had me on the edge of my seat.

Keep Reading

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

July 22nd, 2012 Kimberly Review 23 Comments

22nd Jul
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass is the first in a young adult fantasy by Sarah J. Maas. I became completely immersed in the world this author created. I quickly consumed this brilliant, captivating tale. Filled with fleshed out characters and intrigue this is sure to make my top ten list for 2012.

Keep Reading

Burn Mark by Laura Powell

June 6th, 2012 Kimberly Review 9 Comments

6th Jun
Burn Mark by Laura Powell

Burn Mark by Laura Powell is an interesting urban fantasy set in an alternate London. Filled with witches, inquisitions, burnings, the mob, and corruption. We meet two young people from different worlds who develop the Fae on the same day and suddenly find their lives intertwined.

Keep Reading

The Vanishing Game by Kate Kae Myers

May 3rd, 2012 Kimberly Review 0 Comments

3rd May
The Vanishing Game by Kate Kae Myers

The Vanishing Game is the debut novel of Kate Kae Myers. It is a young-adult paranormal fiction that was thoroughly entertaining. Complete with an evil house, creepy characters and a slew of clues that kept me guessing. The synopsis promises an ending that will shock you and shock me it did. This was an intense, action packed, spooky thriller that kept me enthralled.

Keep Reading