What to Do with a Bad Boy by Marie Harte

November 5th, 2014 Kimberly Review 48 Comments

5th Nov
What to Do with a Bad Boy by Marie Harte
What to Do with a Bad Boy
by Marie Harte
Series: The McCauley Brothers #4
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Mike McCauley had his soul mate for a precious time before she died giving birth to their son. She left him with the best boy a guy could want, so why is everyone playing matchmaker? He's sick of it . . . until he meets Delilah Webster. ย For some reason, the foul-mouthed, tattooed mechanic sets his motor running. He sees the loving woman buried within. But the closer they get, the more the pain of past wounds throws a monkey wrench into a future he's not sure he can handle..

I am a huge fan of siblings, romance and small-town series and The McCauley Brothers series worked for me on so many levels. What to Do with a Bad Boy the fourth book in this series by Marie Harte was in a word, delicious. Edgy and heartwarming I laughed, melted and cried as we finally got Mike and Delilahโ€™s story.

Besides being a drop dead gorgeous hunk, Mike McCauley is also a wonderful father to his son and looks out for his parents and brothers. Mike has been widowed for six years. His wife died giving birth to Colin. In the last book, he exchanged a heated kiss with tattooed mechanic, Delilah Webster, and the sparks about shorted out my Nook.

Everyone wants to play matchmaker and his mother is the worst offender. They have tried desperately to match Mike with single friends. Mike wants none of it. I could feel his pain and lose throughout the series and loved getting to know him better. Harte does such an excellent job of developing her characters, as she peels back their layers and endears the reader to them.

Delilah is so different from the woman Mike typically dates, and quite different from the rest of the girls but they welcome her into their circle and I cannot blame them. Del is hilarious and genuine. She tells it like it is, and runs the shop like a pro. Despite her hard-ass attitude, beneath it she is soft and all woman.

Marie Harte made me cry like a baby, I kid you not. I was so wrapped up in the characters emotions, particularly Mikes. We get plenty of side stories and get to know Delโ€™s family. Of course, there was wrestling and banter between the brothers. I love all the interaction and side stories for this family. Colin is an absolutely sweetie, and I loved his matchmaking schemes.

The romance while heated moved slowly emotionally making it feel genuine. Harte keeps the angst and drama low, with just enough to have me chasing my HEA. I adore this series. Fans of Belle Andre and Samantha Young will find What to Do With a Bad Boy delightful. Each of the novels in the McCauley Brothers series will work as a standalone, but I recommend taking the full tour.

About Marie Harte

Marie Harte is an avid reader who loves all things paranormal and futuristic. Reading romances since she was twelve, she fell in love with romance and happy endings and knew writing was her calling. Years later after the Marine Corps, Information Technology, and 60 hour work weeks, her dream has finally come true. Marie lives in Oregon with her family and is constantly reading and writing.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat...Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

48 Responses to “What to Do with a Bad Boy by Marie Harte”

  1. Christy

    Si, si, I agree! I love the inclusion of Del’s family. I thought it would’ve been funny if her brother ended up with the other chick. You know who. lol.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Oh I agree, I wish there were more with Del’s sibling and cousin

  2. Melliane

    It’s nice to see that the romance evolved little by little. Like you I love small town romances, they’re always so fun!

  3. alreem

    me too, me too a really really huge fan of siblings, romance and small-town series and when i heard about this series I went and order the whole set ,, 4 books i think,, a while back i read Gamble Brothers series by J. Lynn its really good as well ๐Ÿ™‚

    ,, Great review ,,

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Squee..enjoy. I will check out the Gamble Brothers..i am such a sucker for brothers!

  4. Silvia

    Believe it or not, I recognised the book from the blurb! I remember that was what really got me curious in the first place, and now that I’ve read your review I’m really tempted to give it a serious go… So happy you loved it, Kimberly!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes! I <3 this series. Family, brothers, small-town vibe, sexy time..yep!

  5. Red Iza

    I’ve got it, I’ve got it, hear me squee ! I should read it this week and am so glad you loved it ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. kindlemom1

    I love a book that can bring out such strong emotions Kim, I so need to try this author, I know how much you love her.

  7. Nick

    I have book 1 on my Nook just being begged to be read, Kim! I need to read it soon because these brothers sound awesome.
    The two in this one sound like an unconventional couple, but I’m curious to see how they work together!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      read it..LOL Enjoy Nick. Del and Mike’s romance was wonderful.

  8. Bea

    Low angst and drama, perfect. I like the sound of this and I’ve added it to my wish list.

  9. Michelle

    I need to read this series so badly. everytime I see you or christy posting a review about one of these brothers I kick myself a little more.

    I LOVE when an author pulls on your emotional heartstrings.

    I am so glad you loved this one so much.

    Great review Kimba!

  10. Sarah

    YOU’VE CONVINCED ME! I’m gonna go buy book one, now! I knew this one would be awesome.. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Wahoooooooooo! Yes. Cannot wait to see what you think Sarah. I had so much fun with this series

  11. Carrie

    Okay… you sold me. I went and picked up the book, but I didn’t just stop there, I bought all 4 so I can start at the beginning. Great review!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Wahoo! You cannot see it, but I am dancing like a goof ball in my kitchen Carrie! Enjoy. I cannot wait to see what you think of these lovable brothers!

  12. Lupdilup

    Can you believe I’ve never listened or read anything by this author before? Of course I already check for the audio..LOL No luck.. They don’t have any from this series yet…I hope soon tho. I love siblings stories too.
    Thanks Kimba ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Oh I hope Sourcebook adds them. Do they do audio for their books?

  13. Melissa (Books and Things)

    You had me with all the great characters and then you said cry like a baby! NO! I hate to cry! Darn it… *checks to see if there are enough tissues* I may have to try this one anyway.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I had so much fun with this series, and I am so sad it’s over I hope you read them. The feels were all good my friend.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Ooo there are a lot of tattooed men, woman not so much but Del is such a great character:)

  14. Angela Adams

    “drop dead gorgeous hunk” — yummy description. Oh, and, “what to do with a bad boy” — I love that title! Thanks for the post.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      the title is actually funny..cause Mike is a really sweet guy..

  15. Heidi

    I think I just read a review for this on Christys blog the other day. It sounds like a terrific series, and Christy seemed to love it as well.

  16. Debbie Haupt

    OOh great review Kimba and those points all work for me too. I love small towns, siblings and romance. And wow how often do you see a cool inked gal.
    Thanks for sharing

  17. Jennifer

    I have this whole series setting on my Kindle. I plan on reading them back to back. I’ve just got to make time do to it.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Squee…enjoy Jennifer. I cannot binge read a series but you are in for some fun!

  18. kim { Book Swoon }

    You know I’m tryng to read more contemporary romance, and this sounds like something I would enjoy. I recently read a Belle Andre and enjoyed it – so this gives me a good idea. The fact that Delilah is the rough and tough heroine has me so curious. Glad you enjoyed this one so much, Kimba ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kimbacaffeinate

      If you like Andre..you will love these Kim. All the books in this series made me smile, laugh, and swoon

  19. Tressa

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this one! I think Del was my favorite character from this series and maybe Mike too. I just loved the whole combination and how they’re both tough on the outside, but tender and softies in actuality. I also loved Dee’s Dad and some of the antics with Mike’s son and brother and Del’s brother. I felt the story was definitely balanced well with funny, sweet, and emotional moments. Great review!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Del was fantastic. I would love a series with Del’s family

  20. Katherine

    I’ve been thinking about this series and I love that it’s the woman whose kind of the badass with the foul mouth and the tattoos. I like when standard characters get switched up a bit. Sounds like a fun read and one that really connects.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I loved the switch up and Del was just all around genuine.