Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

September 8th, 2017 kimbacaffeinate Review 54 Comments

8th Sep
Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

SPELLBOOK OF THE LOST AND FOUND by Moïra Fowley-Doyle has been one of my most anticipated audiobooks. Last year I devoured the ACCIDENTAL SEASON and fell in love with this author’s voice, magical realism, and storytelling. SPELLBOOK OF THE LOST AND FOUND did not disappoint delivering magical realism, diverse characters and lyrical prose I quickly became caught up in the girl’s adventure.

Keep Reading

What the Heart Remembers by Bette Lee Crosby

April 15th, 2016 kimbacaffeinate Review 37 Comments

15th Apr
What the Heart Remembers by Bette Lee Crosby

What the Heart Remembers by Bette Lee Crosby is the third book in her Memory House Collections. In the last book, we meet Max Martinelli, a young woman who is also touched with the ability to feel/sense the past in objects. Haunted by the memory of an unfinished romance, she journeys back to Paris looking for answers and instead finds something unexpected.

Keep Reading

The Loft by Bette Lee Crosby

February 12th, 2016 kimbacaffeinate Review 28 Comments

12th Feb
The Loft by Bette Lee Crosby

The Loft by Bette Lee Crosby is the second book in the Memory House Collection. Crosby takes us back to the Memory House with Ophelia just in time for Annie and Oliver’s wedding. Packed with emotion, a little magical realism and introducing a new character The Loft transported me to the Memory House allowing me to smell the magical potpourri and visit with favorite characters.

Keep Reading

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

September 11th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 71 Comments

11th Sep
The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle was not on my radar until I read a review from a fellow blogger. Then an opportunity to review the audio version with Colby Minifie reading presented itself and I jumped. I am so delighted that I did so as the Accident Season was beautiful, dark, mysterious, and quirky.

Keep Reading

Just Say Yes by Alyssa Goodnight

August 27th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 73 Comments

27th Aug
Just Say Yes by Alyssa Goodnight

Just Say Yes by Alyssa Goodnight is a contemporary romance with a touch of magical realism. It will appeal to foodies and offers up something different from Browncoat to pop culture references and it is sure to make you smile. Unique characters, growth, friendship, humor and a sweet, slow-building romance made Just Say Yes a winner.

Keep Reading

The Witch of Bourbon Street by Suzanne Palmieri

July 2nd, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 58 Comments

2nd Jul
The Witch of Bourbon Street by Suzanne Palmieri

The Witch of Bourbon Street by Suzanne Palmieri offers a lush, Gothic tale wrapped in mystery, and magic. This was my first Palmieri book and her descriptive writing style is beautiful. The New Orleans setting and the series of unsolved murders drew me to this novel set in 1902. I would classify it as women’s fiction with a touch of magical realism.

Keep Reading

Memory House by Bette Lee Crosby

May 25th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 26 Comments

25th May
Memory House by Bette Lee Crosby

I love snuggling up and reading Bette Lee Crosby’s novels and Memory House was no exception. This time she offers a tale steeped in magical realism and I completely lost myself in Ophelia Browne and Annie Cross’s story. I am packing my bags and heading to the Memory House Bed and Breakfast. I have a strange hankering for dandelion tea.

Keep Reading

First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen

January 20th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 69 Comments

20th Jan
First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen

I was ecstatic when I discovered that First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen was to be the second book about the Waverley Family. I discovered Garden Spells quite by accident back in 2011 pre-blog and fell in love with both the book and the author. It has remained among my favorite books and opened the door to magical realism. First Frost was everything I could have hoped for and more.

Keep Reading

The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness

February 27th, 2014 kimbacaffeinate Review 74 Comments

27th Feb
The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness

The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness is based on the Japanese folk tale, “Tsuru no Ongaeshi” and influenced by a contemporary Decemberists’ song, also inspired by the lore. Ness delivered a beautifully written tale as he weaved in magical realism. The story Ness shares is not a romance but instead it is a tale about love, loss and forgiveness itself. While I struggled with certain aspects it had equal parts that were powerful and brilliant. Mini review: beautifully written, sorrowful and yet hopeful.

Keep Reading

Page 1 of 212